Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Different ADSB-S modes

  1. #1
    Passenger Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    18

    Different ADSB-S modes

    Hi

    In the map of flightradar24.com I saw now several times a/c with coordinates which seems to be feeded by a scanner.

    Example here:

    But on my scanner with dump1900.exe the coordinates are not displayed.

    See here:

    Any explanation for this?

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Best regards,
    Rod

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Amper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delta Bravo Victor
    Posts
    742
    Is that your radar code on img #1?

    From tapatalk
    For official support use Contact Form

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    T-RJTY52, T-RPLL16 Manila Philippnes
    Posts
    30
    I found T-LSZH76 closs feeding MLAT data of somewhere to FR24.
    It looks same problem of closs fed FR24 and FA

  4. #4
    Passenger Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Amper View Post
    Is that your radar code on img #1?
    No, I have an other one and not in the region of Zrich.
    Best regards,
    Rod

  5. #5
    Passenger Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by John-h View Post
    I found T-LSZH76 closs feeding MLAT data of somewhere to FR24.
    It looks same problem of closs fed FR24 and FA
    I don't really understand. So the display of the coordinates of the a/c in example 1 is MLAT and not ADSB-S mode reception?
    Best regards,
    Rod

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Amper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delta Bravo Victor
    Posts
    742
    so img #2 is your radar?
    Radar on img#1 or more radars got full info incl. a/c position. Your radar didn't. Signal level on your radar is low.
    What is the issue?
    Last edited by Amper; 2016-02-29 at 08:24.
    For official support use Contact Form

  7. #7
    Passenger Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Amper View Post
    so img #2 is your radar?
    Radar on img#1 or more radars got full info incl. a/c position. Your radar didn't. Signal level on your radar is low.
    What is the issue?
    When radar "is low" - Hex, Sqwk, Flight, Altitude are received - but coordinates, spd, hdg not? Any explanation for that?
    Best regards,
    Rod

  8. #8
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    T-KSJC28
    Posts
    335
    Could be a typical example of an MLAT leaker (i.e leaking MLAT derived data from some other source such as flightaware) but as Amper mentioned, a low signal level will often not pickup coordinates so your example in the dump1090 image is not good evidence for an MLAT leaker.
    Last edited by Sam26K; 2016-02-29 at 08:39. Reason: clarified img

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Amper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delta Bravo Victor
    Posts
    742
    Yes, info is incomplete. That's the reason why fr24 is using more then one receiver in same area and waiting for 2 or more radars with same info about same plane.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sam26K View Post
    Could be a typical example of an MLAT leaker (i.e leaking MLAT derived data from some other source such as flightaware) but as Amper mentioned, a low signal level will often not pickup coordinates so your example in the dump1090 image is not good evidence for an MLAT leaker.
    as I can see G-OPEG is ads-b equiped.

    From tapatalk
    Last edited by Amper; 2016-02-29 at 08:46.
    For official support use Contact Form

  10. #10
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    T-KSJC28
    Posts
    335
    The easiest way I know of tracking MLAT leakers in your area is to use Virtual Radar Server to connect to your dump1090 feed. It becomes quite clear who they are.

    Edit: Amper, the tail number in the previous image is G-OPEM but still the OP has not provided enough info yet. Not even a radar feeder id.
    Last edited by Sam26K; 2016-02-29 at 09:00.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •