Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: different distance flightradar24 <-> flightaware

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    EDDC
    Posts
    19

    different distance flightradar24 <-> flightaware

    Hi I have a question, here on the Flightradar24 side I have now a distance 112mi. But I also feed to flightaware - distance of 5-6 Views 150-200 mi. Why the difference? Can anyone explain to me?

    stats here: de.flightaware.com/adsb/stats/user/antonov124
    flightradar24 stats:
    Uptime (as % of available time): 100%
    Aircraft seen: 823
    Positions reported: 33,421
    Maximum distance: 112nm

    Here my dump1090 max range: 262,km -> 141nm


    FR24 Link: Connected via UDP
    FR24 Radar Code: T-EDDC51
    Aircraft Tracked (ModeS & ADS-B): 35
    Aircraft Uploaded: 20
    Receiver: avr-tcp, Connected
    MLAT running: YES

    greetings Rainer
    Last edited by antonov_124; 2016-02-24 at 12:11.
    T-EDDC51
    Radarcape ( 171213.1000.02D) | 1090MHz ADS-B Filtered Preamp | LNA4ALL | ADS-B Collinear 5/8 Antenna

  2. #2
    Team FR24
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    220
    Flightradar24 shows distance in nm so I think you made a small mistake there with 112mi.

    Also some data could get filtered out during early signal processing stage, especially for dvb-t sticks. So it is possible for some data to get filtered out.
    --

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    EDDC
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Khan View Post
    Flightradar24 shows distance in nm so I think you made a small mistake there with 112mi.

    Also some data could get filtered out during early signal processing stage, especially for dvb-t sticks. So it is possible for some data to get filtered out.

    Ah ok , thx for this info
    T-EDDC51
    Radarcape ( 171213.1000.02D) | 1090MHz ADS-B Filtered Preamp | LNA4ALL | ADS-B Collinear 5/8 Antenna

  4. #4
    Team FR24
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by antonov_124 View Post
    Ah ok , thx for this info
    You're welcome
    --

  5. #5
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    EDDC
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Khan View Post
    You're welcome

    Maximum distance: 111nm
    Status: Online
    Current upload rate: 0 KB/s
    First seen online: 2015-11-11 17:03:54
    All dates and times are UTC

    111nm ;/
    T-EDDC51
    Radarcape ( 171213.1000.02D) | 1090MHz ADS-B Filtered Preamp | LNA4ALL | ADS-B Collinear 5/8 Antenna

  6. #6
    First officer
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    248
    Good Range, if you keep in mind that Dresden is the "Tal der Ahnungslosen"

    Rainer, what is your Installation ? In which height is your antenna installed ? Is it the one which is supplied with your DVB-T Stick (and which one is it?) ?

    I bought this nice antenna, http://www.ebay.de/itm/291634505173?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

    At the moment I have ~160nm (mostly direction "goldener" west(en) due to buildings).

    Gruß
    Regards,
    T-EDDE7

    Debian 8 Server | jetvision ADS-B USB Dongle | ADS-B Collinear Antenna
    Banana Pi | Mystique SDR R820T2 | stock Antenna

  7. #7
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    EDDC
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by equi View Post
    Good Range, if you keep in mind that Dresden is the "Tal der Ahnungslosen"

    Rainer, what is your Installation ? In which height is your antenna installed ? Is it the one which is supplied with your DVB-T Stick (and which one is it?) ?

    I bought this nice antenna,

    At the moment I have ~160nm (mostly direction "goldener" west(en) due to buildings).

    Gruß
    First german:
    eh werd nicht frech ^^

    1 Etage Antenne ist so ähnlich wie die in deinem link nur kürzer auf Fensterbank, links einstellen darf ich noch nicht hier ;( Dach geht leider nicht.
    PS hab mal deine Signatur geklaut ^^


    English:
    some friendly greetings to equi ^^

    my antenna is an 5/8 Slovakien adsb antenna : ebay: 291675696702
    http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php...1456341625.jpg
    the antenna is in the 1 floor above the street on the window sill
    view direction street up north and street down south.

    greetings Rainer
    Last edited by antonov_124; 2016-02-24 at 18:59. Reason: ;o)
    T-EDDC51
    Radarcape ( 171213.1000.02D) | 1090MHz ADS-B Filtered Preamp | LNA4ALL | ADS-B Collinear 5/8 Antenna

  8. #8
    First officer
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    248
    Hm, so maybe 4-5m above the street ? Maybe you won't get more, esp. here @ FR24. I noticed that "issue" too when I started feeding back in July 2014. With some old builds (the pre-deb builds) I had with the supplied DVB-T Antenna ~120-130nm, after they cutted the old builds I had to upgrade to a new one. In this build (I don't remember which version it was) my range dropped to 70 or 80nm which annoyed me :/ Do you receive EDDC ground Traffice ? Sometimes it lacks and you only see aircrafts already airborne.

    Maybe you can install the Antenna on the roof of your house (depends if its your own or if you rented it). If you can install it on the roof, I would suggest an amp for you
    Regards,
    T-EDDE7

    Debian 8 Server | jetvision ADS-B USB Dongle | ADS-B Collinear Antenna
    Banana Pi | Mystique SDR R820T2 | stock Antenna

  9. #9
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    EDDC
    Posts
    19
    No ground traffic. because the airport is situated above the valley
    an Amp? mhh mayby

    no not my house no chance to go to the roof
    my dump0190 output says 264km reichweite von daher
    ups mixed language ^^
    T-EDDC51
    Radarcape ( 171213.1000.02D) | 1090MHz ADS-B Filtered Preamp | LNA4ALL | ADS-B Collinear 5/8 Antenna

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Amper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delta Bravo Victor
    Posts
    742
    Quote Originally Posted by Khan View Post

    Also some data could get filtered out during early signal processing stage, especially for dvb-t sticks. So it is possible for some data to get filtered out.
    Incomplete data is rejected by FR24 as Khan said. Your antenna is not in good position and i think that is why you get that range on FR24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •