Advice on a suitable scanner for a first time newbie but:

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on a suitable scanner for a first time newbie but:

Hi all, I am a total novice and literally only just joined the Forum.
    I have FlightRadar24 installed on my IPad Air and find it fascinating, but felt that it would be even more interesting if I could hear the conversations going on etc.
    I live on one of the approach/departure routes into Manchester (near Congleton in Cheshire) about 25 miles from the airport and often sit in the garden 'wondering' at the many overhead aircraft 'comings and goings' .

I would like to be able to hear both Manchester Airport and Aircraft conversations etc. but don't have a clue as to what to 'research' that would be suitable for this at my location.
    I don't mind paying a reasonable price for somthing that fulfills the requirements, with the hope it is not too complicated to set up and use.

I have spent a few hours this afternoon reading various forums and 'advice' and am more confused what to go for now than before I started, so any tips, advice, recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
    Regards
    Roy
    Last edited by ryteker; 2015-09-08, 17:24.

I think it's best if the scanner to have alpha tags for the channels you program into the scanner.
    Analog scanner will work nicely for air traffic listening.
    If any local scanner/ham stores are in your area. You can go play with the display models and see what one you like the best for you.
    Brian

www.RadarSpotters.eu
    [ Feeder Station List ][ Map ][ Latest Feeders Rank Stats ][ ImRadarFeeder.com Radar Feeders WorldWide Map ][ VRS Feeder List ] (NEW)

Comment

Thanks for your reply SoCalBrian,