Page 66 of 91 FirstFirst ... 1656646566676876 ... LastLast
Results 651 to 660 of 901

Thread: Archived - Beta test MLAT software for Raspberry Pi

  1. #651
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Arhus (T-EKAH3), Denmark
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by spudd View Post
    Those of you having trouble with MLAT, it maybe worth doing as Oblivion suggested above and comparing the coordinates for feed and MLAT

    sudo service fr24feed stop
    sudo fr24feed start

    It seems that MLAT is cutting of the last 2 digits of the coordinates and rounding them up causing a 300m+ offset from your actual coordinates

    More info here
    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...7494#post77494
    Are you sure that you input the coordinates in the right format? Initially I used drg.mm.ss because my Google Earth gave it to me like that. And therefore I was more than a kilometer off. I noticed only by chance. FR24 will have no way of knowing this unless your error is so big that the ADS-B positions you give for aircraft make no sense - More than 300 km i think.

    Google map gives the right format in the URL and Google Earth can be set up to give this too.

  2. #652
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by Kpin View Post
    Are you sure that you input the coordinates in the right format? Initially I used drg.mm.ss because my Google Earth gave it to me like that. And therefore I was more than a kilometer off. I noticed only by chance. FR24 will have no way of knowing this unless your error is so big that the ADS-B positions you give for aircraft make no sense - More than 300 km i think.

    Google map gives the right format in the URL and Google Earth can be set up to give this too.
    Yes. If you run fr24feed standalone instead of the service you get a lot more information. One of the first things it gives you is
    2016-03-30 22:15:45 | [main][i]Feed Network client started
    2016-03-30 22:15:45 | [feed][i]Downloading configuration
    2016-03-30 22:15:45 | [feed][c]Interval: 5s
    2016-03-30 22:15:45 | [feed][c]Latitude: xx.xxx
    2016-03-30 22:15:45 | [feed][c]Longitude: -x.xxxx
    2016-03-30 22:15:45 | [feed][c]GND: YES

    Those coordinates are correct and the ones i supplied in setup. Further down you get

    2016-03-30 22:15:46 | [mlat][i]Starting MLAT with preconfigured position: xx.xx,-x.xx,330.0
    These are shortened coordinates from above with the last 2 digits rounded up.

    This may just be in the way that the client is reporting it though.

  3. #653
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wellington F-NZWN1, T-NZWN2, T-NZWN5
    Posts
    158
    I'm having trouble with the Dump 1090 port 8080 graphical interface on a Pi installation. The FAQ says this:

    Dump1090 Graphical Interface:
    When --net option is added, a further option can be specified --net-http-port 8080 (or other such port)
    When you then visit http://localhost:8080 (or other IP for host software) a map will be provided by Dump1090
    See Dump1090 documentation for further assistance

    But it doesn't want to work. I've tried --net-http-port 8080 and --net --net-http-port 8080, no go. What does work is --interactive --net --net-http-port 8080 but that stops the feeder uploading to FR24 and of course MLAT fails. Does anyone have the Dump 1090 gui working properly?

    Thanks

  4. #654
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,008
    Quote Originally Posted by 41south View Post
    I'm having trouble with the Dump 1090 port 8080 graphical interface on a Pi installation. The FAQ says this:

    Dump1090 Graphical Interface:
    When --net option is added, a further option can be specified --net-http-port 8080 (or other such port)
    When you then visit http://localhost:8080 (or other IP for host software) a map will be provided by Dump1090
    See Dump1090 documentation for further assistance

    But it doesn't want to work. I've tried --net-http-port 8080 and --net --net-http-port 8080, no go. What does work is --interactive --net --net-http-port 8080 but that stops the feeder uploading to FR24 and of course MLAT fails. Does anyone have the Dump 1090 gui working properly?

    Thanks
    Tiz how I run mine at home. --net and --net-http-port 8080 together. Interactive will attempt to produce text output (mainly used for monitoring in windows version with just a stick and no other SW)

    Stop the service and run without service, see if you can see the parameters being passed during startup as per normal. If you have done a piaware install however, dump1090 is possibly launching as a 3rd part on its own beforehand in background and may need to have it reconfigured there instead.
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  5. #655
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wellington F-NZWN1, T-NZWN2, T-NZWN5
    Posts
    158
    It's a FR24 install direct from the image so I'll try the manual start way and see what happens.

  6. #656
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,008
    Other alternate is if they have not included the normal 1090 in that image.. the command won't be known In which case will need to install -mutability or similar
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  7. #657
    Purser
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    129
    just restart your dump1090 and all works fine

    sudo /etc/init.d/dump1090.sh restart

    Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

  8. #658
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wellington F-NZWN1, T-NZWN2, T-NZWN5
    Posts
    158
    So I can confirm that starting dump1090 with the arguments --net --net-http-port 8080 works just fine. I'm sure I've tried that before!

  9. #659
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    T-LZSL5
    Posts
    11
    Is there a propper way to replace dump1090 for the mutability one without messing things out please?

  10. #660
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,008
    Quote Originally Posted by RoSi View Post
    Is there a propper way to replace dump1090 for the mutability one without messing things out please?
    Configure via web for receiver of AVR-TCP port 30002. (save of course)
    Sudo fr24feed service stop

    install and configure dump1090 mutability accordingly

    sudo fr24feed service start

    Check via config webpage that working OK
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •