Page 12 of 91 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 901

Thread: Archived - Beta test MLAT software for Raspberry Pi

  1. #111
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    next to Linz airport
    Posts
    43
    i'm also using new mlat featured feeder since today.

    FR24 Feeder/Decoder Process: running.
    FR24 Stats Timestamp: 2015-07-15 01:34:24.
    FR24 Link: connected [UDP].
    FR24 Radar: T-LOWL1.
    FR24 Tracked AC: 8.
    Receiver: connected (68712 MSGS/0 SYNC).
    FR24 MLAT: ok [UDP].
    FR24 MLAT AC seen: 8.

    it seems to work

    should i change mlat-without-gps="yes" to "no" if i have gps on my pi?
    and is the gps used for time and location with the "no" flag?
    do i have to change other settings to use the gps with mlat?
    does the feeder also work as normal feeder too or only as mlat feeder?
    Last edited by LOWL1; 2015-07-15 at 01:46.

  2. #112
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    3
    It's working fine for me:

    [ ok ] FR24 Feeder/Decoder Process: running.
    [ ok ] FR24 Stats Timestamp: 2015-07-15 02:46:54.
    [ ok ] FR24 Link: connected [UDP].
    [ ok ] FR24 Radar: (removed)
    [ ok ] FR24 Tracked AC: 1.
    [ ok ] Receiver: connected (2 MSGS/0 SYNC).
    [ ok ] FR24 MLAT: ok [UDP].
    [ ok ] FR24 MLAT AC seen: 1.

    I guess that "tracked" and "seen" only mean that I... "track" and "see" aircrafts, but at least 3 more MLAT receivers are needed near me, so together, we can contribute useful data to the FR24 servers. Is that right?

  3. #113
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by LOWL1 View Post
    should i change mlat-without-gps="yes" to "no" if i have gps on my pi?
    and is the gps used for time and location with the "no" flag?
    do i have to change other settings to use the gps with mlat?
    does the feeder also work as normal feeder too or only as mlat feeder?
    You don't need to change this option, GPS will not be used anyway. In order to use GPS for MLAT it has to be aligned with Mode-S signal.
    The feeder app feeds ADS-B also as usual, not only MLAT.

    Quote Originally Posted by mchvs View Post
    at least 3 more MLAT receivers are needed near me, so together, we can contribute useful data to the FR24 servers. Is that right?
    Right, those could be either Raspberry Pis or FR24 boxes.
    Last edited by vinnyspb; 2015-07-15 at 07:45.

  4. #114
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Arhus (T-EKAH3), Denmark
    Posts
    345
    Are you tampering with the ADS-B aircraft in the RPi MLAT testing?
    It seems like a lot of aircraft are traced unprecisely now. I'm looking at aircraft on approach to CPH/EKCH and most aircraft are landing next to the runway. Also I see unfamiliar receivers credited for ADS-B aircraft.

  5. #115
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by Dundee View Post
    2015-07-14 22:23:00 | [time][i]Synchronizing time via NTP
    2015-07-14 22:23:04 | [time][i]Time synchronized correctly, offset -0.0001 seconds
    2015-07-14 22:23:05 | [feed][c]Timestamps: optional
    2015-07-14 22:23:34 | [mlat][e]Received MLAT timestamp error: -51808 seconds!

    Error is found...
    Is that my problem or program problem?
    ==============================
    2015-07-14 22:35:03 | [mlat][e]Received MLAT timestamp error: -52500 seconds!
    2015-07-14 22:48:04 | [mlat][e]Received MLAT timestamp error: -53283 seconds!
    2015-07-15 00:09:34 | [mlat][e]Received MLAT timestamp error: -58157 seconds!


    I just restart fr24feed aservice and notice the timestamp error second is increased...
    Could you please post a content of your /etc/fr24feed.ini config here?
    And also I would like to verify that you use correct dump1090 utility that is bundled with fr24feed package. Can you please execute this and post an output?
    Code:
    $ md5sum /usr/lib/fr24/dump1090

  6. #116
    Purser
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    T-VHST9
    Posts
    101
    To vinnyspb , here it is:

    fr24feed.ini
    Code:
    receiver="beast-tcp"
    fr24key="xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"
    host="192.168.x.x:30005"
    bs="yes"
    raw="yes"
    logmode="3"
    logpath="/root/fr24feed"
    gt="300"
    mlat="yes"
    mlat-without-gps="yes"
    md5sum of dump1090:
    Code:
    BF59938D917B23A447FFD885A8240C75
    T-VHST9: http://vhst9.hopto.org/
    (24/7)

  7. #117
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    8
    Have updated to 1.0.13-9. and all is well and appears to be working. What I did spot was that before I updated my co-ords were wrong. Now I know I put them in correctly as I cut and pasted them.

    Lat was fine but the long. I pasted in was -0.2xxx but fr24 signed it up as 88 putting me well east of the Greenwich meridian

    However the fact that is this perhaps a coding error somewhere that has now been corrected? just wondering if this is a 90 minus 2 = 88 somewhere (i.e. a modulus error??)

    Anyway it's sorted now.

    lcs

  8. #118
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by Dundee View Post
    Code:
    receiver="beast-tcp"
    host="192.168.x.x:30005"
    MLAT is not supported via "beast-tcp" configuration (data has to be received directly from dump1090 utility), that's most likely why you receive timestamp errors. Please change it to "dvbt" and remove "host" parameter. MD5 is correct.

  9. #119
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Arhus (T-EKAH3), Denmark
    Posts
    345
    vinnyspb, is it correct to assume that if an aircraft is traced by T-MLAT7, when it would not have been possible to trace it with FR24 issued receivers alone??

  10. #120
    First officer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Close to Kimberley, South Africa
    Posts
    268
    Quote Originally Posted by Kpin View Post
    vinnyspb, is it correct to assume that if an aircraft is traced by T-MLAT7, when it would not have been possible to trace it with FR24 issued receivers alone??
    I think it's safe to say you are right with that!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •