Page 27 of 91 FirstFirst ... 1725262728293777 ... LastLast
Results 261 to 270 of 901

Thread: Archived - Beta test MLAT software for Raspberry Pi

  1. #261
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by malavanehsan View Post
    I Use $ sudo chmod 755 /etc/fr24feed.ini
    Then Start to Configue again But at last have problem in saving setting /etc/fr24feed.ini error
    What is the command you use when trying to reconfigure?

    Try running sudo in front of the command, like such:
    sudo fr24feed --signup

  2. #262
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Nancy, France
    Posts
    65
    Hi,

    I upgraded my Raspberry Pi installation, and encountered a few issues:
    First issue is that the old version of dump1090 (v 1.14) is launched when I reboot my Raspberry. Could you please tell me how to remove/deactivate it?
    If I kill this old version, and restart the fr24feed service, then it's running: I can connect to my Raspberry on port 8080 and see the new version of dump1090, and I am uploading to FR24 as I can see planes with my radar code. But strangely, when I check the status of fr24feed, there is an error:
    [ ok ] FR24 Feeder/Decoder Process: running.
    [ ok ] FR24 Stats Timestamp: 2015-08-15 14:32:32.
    [FAIL] FR24 Link: connecting ... failed!
    [ ok ] Receiver: connected (2215 MSGS/0 SYNC).
    [ ok ] FR24 MLAT: ok [UDP].
    [ ok ] FR24 MLAT AC seen: 42.

    What does this FR24 link correspond to? If I check again after a few minutes, this same line is now OK.

    And one last question: when I did the --signup procedure, I entered the sharing key that I had received a few months ago, and I see that my radar code didn't change: is this a problem, or it just means that the GPS coordinates introduced at that time were precise enough?

    Thanks,
    Patrick
    T-LFSN4

    Check your rank from FR24 feeder stats at https://jollain.com/FR24/stats.php

  3. #263
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    20
    So there is no way to use this with dump1090-mutalibility? i've got my system up and running with multiple dongles, with an old FR24 exe running in screen. I"m sure it is very outdated and would love to use this new SW, but it is really going to messup my piaware installation? I really like the version of dump1090 running now.

    T-VHHH55

    http://blues.servebeer.com:8080

  4. #264
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kallangur, Brisbane
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by jb_bak View Post
    So there is no way to use this with dump1090-mutalibility? i've got my system up and running with multiple dongles, with an old FR24 exe running in screen. I"m sure it is very outdated and would love to use this new SW, but it is really going to messup my piaware installation? I really like the version of dump1090 running now.

    T-VHHH55

    http://blues.servebeer.com:8080
    Not sure why you are running multiple dongles.. I am guessing one for fr24 and one for piaware? If so you will need to be sure you have it all running on different ports, not the defaults...

    When using a single dongle in a Pi the fr24feed package uses it's own copy of dump1090 located in /usr/lib/fr24 ... rename that dump1090 to something else as a backup and then symlink the version YOU want to run.. Then when you start fr24feed it will fire up whichever version of dump1090 you wish to run, but bear in mind MLAT will not work when feedign to FR24 unless you use FR24's dump1090...

    Also something worthy of note, the standard Pi is quite limited in CPU and running dump1090 + piaware + fr24feed is going to push the B+ Pi to the limit. If you want to run 2 dongles and therefore 2 copies of dump1090, you WILL need a Pi2.
    T-YBBN50 - Kallangur, QLD, Australia

  5. #265
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by bhaal View Post
    Not sure why you are running multiple dongles.. I am guessing one for fr24 and one for piaware? If so you will need to be sure you have it all running on different ports, not the defaults...

    When using a single dongle in a Pi the fr24feed package uses it's own copy of dump1090 located in /usr/lib/fr24 ... rename that dump1090 to something else as a backup and then symlink the version YOU want to run.. Then when you start fr24feed it will fire up whichever version of dump1090 you wish to run, but bear in mind MLAT will not work when feedign to FR24 unless you use FR24's dump1090...

    Also something worthy of note, the standard Pi is quite limited in CPU and running dump1090 + piaware + fr24feed is going to push the B+ Pi to the limit. If you want to run 2 dongles and therefore 2 copies of dump1090, you WILL need a Pi2.
    Thanks for the reply, multiple dongles because i have directional homemade patch biquad antennas (got a big mountain behind me, and wanted to get the best out of the directions i have line of sight). Three dongles, three versions of dump 1090 running (on an rpi2) two versions with all ports off, and nc feeding the data to the only open dump1090 port from other two. Works OK.

    Sim linking to the current version of dump1090 (dump1090-mutilibility) seems to defeat the purpose of the upgrade? No Mlat with this version right?

    So, if I decide to use the FR24 dump version, how can i do this with three dongles? Possible?

  6. #266
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kallangur, Brisbane
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by jb_bak View Post
    Thanks for the reply, multiple dongles because i have directional homemade patch biquad antennas (got a big mountain behind me, and wanted to get the best out of the directions i have line of sight). Three dongles, three versions of dump 1090 running (on an rpi2) two versions with all ports off, and nc feeding the data to the only open dump1090 port from other two. Works OK.

    Sim linking to the current version of dump1090 (dump1090-mutilibility) seems to defeat the purpose of the upgrade? No Mlat with this version right?

    So, if I decide to use the FR24 dump version, how can i do this with three dongles? Possible?
    3 versions of dump1090 or 3 copies ? ie: 1 copy for each dongle?

    If that's the case then run dump1090 from /usr/lib/fr24 ... piaware will still happily connect to whichever dump1090 you give it. A few things to be aware of: the fr24 dump1090 is not as sensitive and will not give you as much range as dump1090-mutability, if you decide not to feed MLAT data to FR24 and run the mutability version, then be sure to configure piaware not to feed MLAT data back in to dump1090-mutability otherwise it will get sent back to FR24 as ADS-B data and thats not a good idea at all, the MLAT data was not derived by FR24 and may cause some confusion within their systems...
    T-YBBN50 - Kallangur, QLD, Australia

  7. #267
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    20
    Thanks for the reply again! Yes three copies, and i'l be sure not to feed MLAT data to FR24 without their version of dump1090.

    I think i'll just sit back and wait a bit before making the MLAT jump, shouldnt be too much longer before someone merges the mutability code right?


    Quote Originally Posted by bhaal View Post
    3 versions of dump1090 or 3 copies ? ie: 1 copy for each dongle?

    If that's the case then run dump1090 from /usr/lib/fr24 ... piaware will still happily connect to whichever dump1090 you give it. A few things to be aware of: the fr24 dump1090 is not as sensitive and will not give you as much range as dump1090-mutability, if you decide not to feed MLAT data to FR24 and run the mutability version, then be sure to configure piaware not to feed MLAT data back in to dump1090-mutability otherwise it will get sent back to FR24 as ADS-B data and thats not a good idea at all, the MLAT data was not derived by FR24 and may cause some confusion within their systems...

  8. #268
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kallangur, Brisbane
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by jb_bak View Post
    Thanks for the reply again! Yes three copies, and i'l be sure not to feed MLAT data to FR24 without their version of dump1090.

    I think i'll just sit back and wait a bit before making the MLAT jump, shouldnt be too much longer before someone merges the mutability code right?
    Well no, fr24 forked dump1090 separately and have made to many changes now mutability wouldn't merge with it. Originally I think FR24 were trying to remove some inconsistency in the data they were being delivered from the dump1090 participants, so they decided to use their own quality controlled code. However I think this is now backfiring slightly, not to mention their version of dump1090 increases CPU load by about 30% as they add special timestamps to each ads-b packet received for use with MLAT positioning. I've expressed my concerns with this, and the hope is they can make the changes required so that they can use any version of dump1090, as at the moment I am not willing to run their version of dump1090, so therefore cannot participate in their fr24feed MLAT program, which is a little disappointing. Also, with the FA version of the MLAT positioning you get positions back which can be displayed in VRS or dump1090's web interface (if you aren't feeding fr24 at all)...
    T-YBBN50 - Kallangur, QLD, Australia

  9. #269
    First officer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Close to Kimberley, South Africa
    Posts
    268
    Finding that the Receiver part of the feeder tends to stop or go into an error condition.

    [ ok ] FR24 Feeder/Decoder Process: running.
    [ ok ] FR24 Stats Timestamp: 2015-08-17 12:09:26.
    [ ok ] FR24 Link: connected [UDP].
    [ ok ] FR24 Radar: T-FABU1.
    [ ok ] FR24 Tracked AC:.
    [FAIL] Receiver: down ... failed!
    [ ok ] FR24 MLAT: ok [UDP].
    [ ok ] FR24 MLAT AC seen: 0.


    Stopping it, waiting a few seconds then a start, tends to solve the issue.
    Anyone seeing the same issues?
    Any automation or watchdog that can do a stop/start every x hours?

  10. #270
    First officer
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    248
    I made a Cron Job to restart the Feeder daily
    Regards,
    T-EDDE7

    Debian 8 Server | jetvision ADS-B USB Dongle | ADS-B Collinear Antenna
    Banana Pi | Mystique SDR R820T2 | stock Antenna

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •