Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 91

Thread: Help Setting Up Flightradar24 Software

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4

    Help Setting Up Flightradar24 Software

    Hey everyone,

    I have been trying so hard to setup the FR24 software for feeding, but I can't get it to work. My RTL data is working good and I'm getting lots of action. Could anyone help me in showing me how to install the FR24 software for Windows? I think it may be an issue with the libusbk.dll download. What option do I choose?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    37
    How are you feeding data to the FR24 port?

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    With a DVBT USB Stick and the RTL1090 software.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,042
    You'll need to read the guide very carefully that is on the download page..

    You either configure the FR24 software to collect pre-processed AVR data and output from RTL, or you run FR24 on its own - it has RTLsoftware built in.

  5. #5
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    @Oblivian-- Thank you so much! I had both RTL1090 and FR24 running at the same time, and that was my problem. You fixed a days worth of figuring out what to do!

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    T-KRFD1
    Posts
    43
    I am pretty confused on this one and need some clarification.

    I was feeding data a few years ago but other stuff got in the way and I am trying to get it running again.

    My setup was a dongal, RTL1090 and ABSscope.

    All that still works but I can't seem to get it to feed or prove that it is feeding.

    I downloaded the current feed software and dump 1090 but nothing seems to work as it should.

    I notice the caution in this thread about running RTL1090 and FR24 at the same time and a ref to read a guide carefully which I can't seem to find.

    Anyway, if I turn off RTL1090, the FR24 seems to be doing something now but it's not obvious what that is.

    When I click on the green triangles and try to open web status, it will not open the local host. I believe this is how I determine if it is really feeding.

    If this is actually working, how do I view the aircraft radar view? Can I still use ABSscope or is there a better way?

    Thanks,

    Jack, Marengo, Il

  7. #7
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    37
    Assuming you're using Windows
    In ADSBScope, choose other>network>network setup
    Set up raw data server feed port to whatever (it might say 7777, leave it on that)
    Close window, then choose other>network>raw data server active (last choice in list)
    Start RTL1090 as normal (I use ModeSDeco2, it's a better decoder)

    Open a command window (Window Key+R, then type "CMD" without quotes)
    CD to the directory where FR24feed.exe is such as CD c:\airplanes\FR24
    type FR24feed --reconfigure (double dash and then reconfigure, this will open FR24 in configuration mode)
    You will see some choices, choose option 4 (AVR compatible) then choose Netork connection (choice 1)
    Enter IP address which will be 127.0.0.1
    Enter port number which will be 7777
    Continue to fill in the other fields as you want them and exit, then restart program (just type FR24feed.exe without the --reconfigure part) and enter email and key and it should start working with data coming from ADSBScope instead of directly from dongle

    Too bad FR24 doesn't supply these directions for those who want to use another logging program such as ADSBScope or Virtual Radar Server

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    37
    You can also set up FR24 to control the dongle (choice 1 instead of 4) and then in the output parts of the setup below that, choose a port number for output and set up ADSBScope to use that port in its client side same as you do with RTL1090.

  9. #9
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by hikeofyourlife View Post
    You can also set up FR24 to control the dongle (choice 1 instead of 4) and then in the output parts of the setup below that, choose a port number for output and set up ADSBScope to use that port in its client side same as you do with RTL1090.
    I have a similar problem with PlanePlotter, want to share the data with my ID oder fr24feed and see local and remote data in PlanePlotter (more infos about my problem in my topic)

    What do you mean with output part ? the part for the dump1090 ?
    what do I have to insert there ?

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    T-KRFD1
    Posts
    43
    Thanks for your help but I need more help now because I learned something since posting my last.

    Seems like just running the new fr24 feed without the rtl1090 not only works out of the box but it makes some very interesting information available that does not seem to be there using the old program and rtl1090.

    So I am not sure if your response answered my needs but I probably need a step by step now that I know what I want which is:

    To run the new fr24feed and connect this to adsbscope to display the aircraft that are reaching my antenna only in addition to sending the data to FR.

    It's not clear to me what the 3 different ports do or how to assign them.

    Thanks for your help,

    Jack

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •