Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: RTL1090 problem on laptop

  1. #1
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211

    RTL1090 problem on laptop

    Hi,

    I have RTL1090 running on a desktop PC [WinXP Pro], with a generic RTL2832U dongle. Initially, it took a while to get it all running, but got there eventually. I now feed FR24.

    I've now got an identical dongle, and trying to set it up with RTL1090 on an old Toshiba Satellite 1800-700 laptop, also running XP Pro.

    Despite uninstalling/reinstalling the various versions of RTL1090 and zadig XP and non XP drivers, I can't get RTL1090 to get any further than "started". See pic.
    rtl1090.jpg

    I've also installed MS dotNET3.5, in case it needed that, but no difference. Also tried ADSBsharp, but although that appears to install OK, I get a similar result. No data.

    Both dongles are working fine on the desktop PC, so is it a Windows setting on the laptop?

    Any ideas, please?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211
    As an update to my post above, I'm now trying to get RTL1090 running on a different Toshiba laptop [Satellite Pro 4300], and I'm having exactly the same problem!

    The only difference on this machine is that when I click the Test button, "Searching frequencies...please wait..." is displayed, but the program has locked up, and I have to close it with Task Manager.

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    37
    Antenna? Are you plugged into the laptop directly or do you have a USB extension? Laptops throw out a lot of hash

  4. #4
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211
    The dongle is plugged directly into the USB socket.

  5. #5
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211
    I've tried again with a 0.25m USB extension lead, but still no joy.
    Last edited by 40612; 2015-06-11 at 08:57.

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    37
    Run rtl_test and see what happens there.

  7. #7
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211
    I tried that, but it locks up the program.

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6
    Are you running on mains power or battery power with the laptop?
    Check usb port is not running on power conservative mode.

  9. #9
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211
    Mains. I'll check the power options, and post back.

  10. #10
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,211
    I don't think that there are any USB power options in WinXP. I've turned off power saving anyway.

    Also tried running the laptop on battery. Still no good.

    However, a rerun of the rtl1090 "test" gave the following result...

    rtl_test.JPG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •