Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: DUMP1090 on Windows: no map display in browser

  1. #1
    Flight attendant Wolli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82

    DUMP1090 on Windows: no map display in browser

    Hello all, and merry Xmas.

    I tried to visualize the planes spotted by my station using the web interface of DUMP1090 (Malcolm Robb's version). Unfortunately I don't succeed.
    As I understand this should actually be simple:
    1) running "dump1090.exe --interactive --net" in a DOS box (works perfectly )
    2) start browser and choose URL http://localhost:8080 (problem: no map and no clocks are displayed)
    Config: Notebook, Windows Vista, Dongle RTL2832U directly connected to notebook, internet is online, firewall deactivated (to ensure the firewall does not cause the problem)
    Using DUMP1090-package: https://github.com/MalcolmRobb/dump1...10.3010.14.zip
    Here a screenshot of my problem:
    ScrShot.gif

    Your help would be very much appreciated - thank you, -Wolli-
    Last edited by Wolli; 2014-12-26 at 15:50.

  2. #2
    First officer
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    204
    firstly have you installed the drivers for the dongle? These arent the ones that came with the dongle.

    http://www.flightradar24.com/dvbt-stick The fr24 guide to the tv sticks it uses rtl1090 but describes the driver installation process.

    secondly what's the exact output from dump1090 do you see data on screen? when you start it and also a screen shot of what ever isn't right would help.

    I have just quickly tried on a windows machine haven't ever done it in windows before and i get a blank map is this what you are seeing?

    i Think it may be permissions thing that dump1090 isn't able to see the internet to get the map data.



    Failing that if dump1090 is working use adsbscope and start dump1090 with the --net-beast and set adsbscope to connect to port 30005 on local host and it will work.
    Last edited by SpaxmoidJAm; 2014-12-27 at 10:13.
    T-EGLF8

  3. #3
    Flight attendant Wolli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82
    @SpaxmoidJAm: Thank you for your reply.

    Quote Originally Posted by SpaxmoidJAm View Post
    firstly have you installed the drivers for the dongle? ...
    Zadig, yes sure. No problem, dongle is running perfectly and dump1090 produces plane data output, as I wrote in my 1st posting.

    Quote Originally Posted by SpaxmoidJAm View Post
    secondly what's the exact output from dump1090 do you see data on screen? when you start it and also a screen shot of what ever isn't right would help.
    Please see the screenshot in my 1st posting. A momentum output of dump1090 can be seen in the black window in the screenshot's left lower corner (black part, DOS box). Some planes are displayed, as you can see there. The screenshot's white-colored part is the browser window with URL "http://localhost:8080": No map, no clocks, just a little bit "fixed" text in the upper right corner. And this is the problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by SpaxmoidJAm View Post
    Failing that if dump1090 is working use adsbscope and start dump1090 with the --net-beast and set adsbscope to connect to port 30005 on local host and it will work.
    I will try using "adsbscope" (which I still don't know as a newbee), although my feeling is, that the browser output should/could actually work also without "adsbscope". However: thank you again. -Wolli-
    Last edited by Wolli; 2014-12-27 at 18:12.

  4. #4
    First officer
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    204
    i was still a little blurry eyed when i started that post and didn't spot the screen shot.

    You are correct the map output should work, i too when i tried in windows had the same problem, no map (haven't resolved it yet).

    Another good program to try is Virtual radar server it does what your looking for and more.
    T-EGLF8

  5. #5
    First officer
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Wagga Wagga
    Posts
    236
    or you could just install VirtualBox and install a linux OS on it? I've never used the Windows version of Dump1090, only the Linux (which worked well) version. Virtual Radar Server is good but of late, it has ceased logging aircraft into the reports (requiring a reboot of the program, so something to watch for).

  6. #6
    First officer
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Aldershot, Hampshire. UK
    Posts
    262
    I have the same problem with win7, it used to work, but following the last update I no longer get the map,
    Ben.
    Nb VRS server will take the feed from dump1090 and map it fine.
    Last edited by F-EGLF1; 2014-12-28 at 12:06.
    FR24 F-EGLF1, Blitzortung station 878, OGN Aldersht2, PilotAware PWAldersht, PlanePlotter M7.

  7. #7
    Flight attendant Wolli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82
    Thank you all for your replies.

    I think at first I will give VRS a try. As a newbee in spotting I'm still discovering the available tools, suitable antenna and it's position, and and and... Quite exciting this all.

    Thank you again and good luck, -Wolli-

  8. #8
    First officer nzradar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand (T-NZPM21)
    Posts
    273
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolli View Post
    1) running "dump1090.exe --interactive --net" in a DOS box (works perfectly )
    2) start browser and choose URL http://localhost:8080 (problem: no map and no clocks are displayed)
    Add "--http-port 8080" to your start string without the quotes
    Michael
    Palmerston North,
    New Zealand
    ex-FR24 Feeder

  9. #9
    First officer
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Aldershot, Hampshire. UK
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by nzradar View Post
    Add "--http-port 8080" to your start string without the quotes
    Just tried that, dump1090 won't run with that added to the string, the correct syntax is "--net-http-port 8080" but even with that added the map is still not displayed (dump1090 should default to that setting anyway)
    Ben.
    FR24 F-EGLF1, Blitzortung station 878, OGN Aldersht2, PilotAware PWAldersht, PlanePlotter M7.

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    31
    Any javascript errors? It just looks like the javascript that drives the web map is broken for some reason.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •