Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Member question? antenna? low signal

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9

    Member question? antenna? low signal

    Im newer on this forum but a older FlightRadar visitor.
    I adquired a ads-b dongle and maked my profile to fedder the site.
    Im a F-SBJP3 , in Brazi, Paraiba, Joo Pessoa.
    I want to talk, changed email and experience, with de F-SBJP1, because his fedder is so best and i think he can transmit his experience to me.
    My homemade 1090mhz Antenna is located on top side off my eight level build but the range off my dongle isnt good, longer.

    Sorry my poor english.
    Thanks!

    Hugo Varani
    F-SBJP3

    PU7HRV

  2. #2
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    If you have a dongle like the one shown in the first post here http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...e-to-feed-FR24 - then you probably have a 'T-' code. It is very difficult to get a 'T-' receiver to show when there is a well installed 'F-' receiver in the area.

    If you have a FlightRadar24 box
    then you have an 'F' receiver, These should all have similar performance if they are installed the same way. If someone else is out performing you - then you need to look at improving your antenna location - more height / less obstructions ... put some photographs up showing us what you have and how it's installed.

  3. #3
    First officer paradiselost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dumaguete Negros Oriental PH
    Posts
    356
    Quote Originally Posted by hugovarani View Post
    Im newer on this forum but a older FlightRadar visitor.
    I adquired a ads-b dongle and maked my profile to fedder the site.
    Im a F-SBJP3 , in Brazi, Paraiba, Joo Pessoa.
    Hugo you are confused about airport flight feeder designations. F- are those feeders who FR24 provides the equipment. The T- designation before the airport code is for those who use their own equipment like dongles. From your description your correct designation is T-SBJP3.

    Quote Originally Posted by hugovarani View Post
    My homemade 1090mhz Antenna is located on top side off my eight level build but the range off my dongle isnt good, longer.
    Let's assume your homemade antenna is working but there are taller buildings or leafy trees within a radius of your eight level building. Where that is the case your antenna will not "SEE" the aircraft on the far side of the obstruction. Leaves on trees absorb the small ads-b radio waves from the aircraft.

    Antenna coax attenuates signal depending on the type of coax and its length. If you run 100 feet of common rg59 it has a 16+ DB loss. If your homemade antenna produces a 5 DB gain, all is lost in the coax. The only way to overcome this loss is use a preamp at the antenna to boost the signal.

    If you are using the RTL1090 software, get the latest version which has a graphical map which will show you what aircraft are being detected and resolved. To communicate with other knowledgeable users join their Yahoo users group.

    If you are just a part time feeder instead of a 24 hour operation of your station you will probably not see your tracked planes on the FR24 map. I couldn't find your station listed in the filters. There must be a problem with your setup. You can see on your account settings the time of your last upload if everything is configured correctly. The FR24 feeder program uploads every 5 seconds. The upload time is GMT+1.

    It's been my experience that homemade antennas don't come close to the performance of commercial antennas. I use a Bulgarian antenna and have used it as my reference.

    Good Luck!

    John

    T-RPVD1

    http://www.FR24.com/9.65,122.86/7

  4. #4
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9
    Yes! my chinese dongle is the E820T
    I dont want be superior then F-SBJP1.
    I just want it work.
    In addition, i use the FR24 feeder and the VIRTUAL RADAR SERVER to view the planes about me.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thank you!
    Is a chinese dongle R820T!
    T-SBJP3

    What kind a preamp is good to be install on my cable antenna? I will install on initial ou end off cable? Close to the antenna or close to the dongle?
    This is pic of my homemade antenna before I take up to top off my build. 20140204_202341.jpgfr24.jpg

  7. #7
    First officer paradiselost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dumaguete Negros Oriental PH
    Posts
    356
    Quote Originally Posted by hugovarani View Post
    What kind a preamp is good to be install on my cable antenna? I will install on initial ou end off cable? Close to the antenna or close to the dongle?
    This is pic of my homemade antenna before I take up to top off my build. 20140204_202341.jpgfr24.jpg
    Hugo, look at this link. http://forum.planefinder.net/threads...iy-antenna.23/

    It uses a capacitor and an inductor and power supply for use with a dongle and a colinear antenna like yours.

    Note the model number of the preamp and search for it on ebay.

    John

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thank You!
    I will be try to do this and tell us!

  9. #9
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Is that a collinear antenna or something else?

    See http://www.balarad.net/ and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkUYdCPFXXs

    The suggestion is to end the collinear with a shorted 1/4 wave stub at the top (5.5cm) - though this might cause problems if you want to add an amplifier later (probably not needed if you use a low loss coaxial cable)

    then it needs to be mounted vertically where it has a clear view to the horizon all around.

    From your pictures, the mountains will restrict that view, but you should be able to see 200-300km out to sea.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Amper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delta Bravo Victor
    Posts
    742
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    Is that a collinear antenna or something else?

    See http://www.balarad.net/ and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkUYdCPFXXs

    The suggestion is to end the collinear with a shorted 1/4 wave stub at the top (5.5cm) - though this might cause problems if you want to add an amplifier later (probably not needed if you use a low loss coaxial cable)

    then it needs to be mounted vertically where it has a clear view to the horizon all around.

    From your pictures, the mountains will restrict that view, but you should be able to see 200-300km out to sea.
    here is the picture from forum

    wbpl.jpg

    I made one with NO amplifier so there is no need for capacitor...just elements...works fine
    after connecting elements, inserted in PNT tube and sealed the ends
    Last edited by Amper; 2014-02-05 at 07:58.
    For official support use Contact Form

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •