Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RTL1090 and MLAT

  1. #1
    Passenger Hoggorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    29

    Question RTL1090 and MLAT

    I understand the RTL1090 software is capable of MLAT.

    Do FR24 accept MLAT data from RTL1090? If so - how do I set it up?

  2. #2
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    I don't really know where this information comes from. We are always informing very clearly that MLAT on FR24 can only be provided from FR24 hardware.

  3. #3
    Passenger Hoggorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    We are always informing very clearly that MLAT on FR24 can only be provided from FR24 hardware.
    Yes, I understand you are very clear about this Mike... Still, there is an option for MLAT in the RTL1090 setup and I wonder if this is something FR24 could use:

    Screenshot 2014-05-26 13.55.33.png

    Also, a brief search for RTL1090 MLAT on Google provides amongst other links this one:

    http://www.radarspotters.eu/forum/in...p?topic=7587.0

    "Can the RTL2832U/R380T be used for MLAT traffic?"

    The answer is

    "Yes indeed, this dongle supports MLAT. Grab the RTL1090 software..."

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,007
    MLAT yes, FR24s version of its implementation, no

    I'ts just a timestamp added to the outgoing data for triangulation to happen. Planeplotter is the main network to make use of the function and the primary reason it has been added to most the control software.

  6. #6
    Passenger Hoggorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    29
    Yes Mike, I understand this is what you wrote nearly a year ago. However I was wondering if something had changed since then. Also, you wrote you did not know where I had my information - I showed it to you and I was actually hoping for a more mature answer than you throwing an outdated link in my face. I do not know your intentions for such a low class answer, but I can only guess it is because you get lots of what you might call "stupid questions". Anyway - I feel offended by your answer to what was for me a serious question that perhaps could increase MLAT reception for you and FR24. Instead, you should perhaps learn a little bit from Oblivian, who actually give a serious answer.

    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    MLAT yes, FR24s version of its implementation, no

    I'ts just a timestamp added to the outgoing data for triangulation to happen. Planeplotter is the main network to make use of the function and the primary reason it has been added to most the control software.
    Thank you

  7. #7
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Lugo, Spain
    Posts
    90
    I don't see any inmature answer here. Mike just said no to you and showed you a link with an extended answer. There are many many things already written on the forum, no need to repeat the same info each time someone ask for. Maybe it was written a year ago, but that info is up to date and current.

    FYI, PlanePlotter network don't use MLAT data coming from rtl1090 software as it has been demostrated to be useless. If you are using a RTL dongle as a receiver, the only reliable software MLAT capable for PP network is Dump1090.
    Northwest Spain: F-LECO1, F-LEST1

  8. #8
    First officer nzradar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand (T-NZPM21)
    Posts
    273
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoggorm View Post
    Yes, I understand you are very clear about this Mike... Still, there is an option for MLAT in the RTL1090 setup and I wonder if this is something FR24 could use:

    Screenshot 2014-05-26 13.55.33.png

    Also, a brief search for RTL1090 MLAT on Google provides amongst other links this one:

    http://www.radarspotters.eu/forum/in...p?topic=7587.0

    "Can the RTL2832U/R380T be used for MLAT traffic?"

    The answer is

    "Yes indeed, this dongle supports MLAT. Grab the RTL1090 software..."
    But not on the FR24 network. Your link and quote does not mention FR24 network. FR24 is a network of proprietary receivers that provide MLAT data and 3rd party receivers that DO NOT provide MLAT data to this network.

    Mike's link really does explain it all.
    Michael
    Palmerston North,
    New Zealand
    ex-FR24 Feeder

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •