Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42

Thread: Which is more important: Hardware, sightlines or elevation?

  1. #21
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    Don't get me wrong, this is an unusual situation in that this is a F- receiver mounted on the top of a mountain and has a stupendous range covering almost the whole of south island NZ and a long way out to sea - well over 400km - possibly receiving planes that are beyond the range of receivers much lower altitude actually on the shorelines.

    I was just wondering if some of the data from the mountaintop receiver would be ignored because of the 400km limit
    ... in which case the shore line feeders would still update the server since it is within their 400Km allowance.

    In cases like this is FR24 able to relax the 400Km limit - especially when the feeder is an F- of known quality with a GPS time source, etc.

    (What really would be interesting would be if the limit were replaced by some sort of calculation that said we last got a reading at time t1 and it was located at position p1, the reported position is p2 at time t2, is it possible for the plane to have travelled distance ABS(p2 - p1) in the time (t2 - t1) at a speed of - say 1100km/h)
    Is it 400km? Do they block data over 4000km? I get planes just over 250nm and that is just over 450km and it is displayed on FR24. I vaguely remember a figure and something but I cannot recall where and which thread it was in... buried deep somewhere. I did recall if correct Mike say the a/c will have to be shown moving on ?PP/whatever GUI before it is deemed suitable to be uploaded to the server. i.e. single blips of an a/c on PP will not be uploaded to FR24 and as you will know this normally is planes at extreme range.

    If I have the time I will try dig it out... perhaps it is at the windows FR24 feeder software thread.
    Last edited by North Borneo Radar; 2014-03-25 at 14:35.

  2. #22
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by North Borneo Radar View Post
    Is it 400km? Do they block data over 4000km? I get planes just over 250nm and that is just over 450km and it is displayed on FR24. I vaguely remember a figure and something but I cannot recall where and which thread it was in... buried deep somewhere. I did recall if correct Mike say the a/c will have to be shown moving on ?PP/whatever GUI before it is deemed suitable to be uploaded to the server. i.e. single blips of an a/c on PP will not be uploaded to FR24 and as you will know this normally is planes at extreme range.

    If I have the time I will try dig it out... perhaps it is at the windows FR24 feeder software thread.
    I do remember a 400 figure which is why I added the ???? on the original query - the thought of trying to read the whole windows feeder thread is likely to make me suicidal.

  3. #23
    Purser
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    ESGG1
    Posts
    190
    400 km would be on the low side for an F-rx these days. F-ESDF-1 rarely see less than 450-460 km (250 nm) and with some conditions up to 600 km (330 nm ). All good quality positions accepted by FR24. This from a city rooftop site just 50 m ASL.

    As mike says, increasing rx altitude does very little for your maximum range to high-flying planes once you reach these figures due to earth curvature, but it will provide better deep coverage (ground and low-level) to airports in your vicinity, say within 100km it can make a huge difference because you can see down into valleys or behind ridges that otherwise would be obscured from LOS.

    I worked with microwave radio links for many years and there are good software utilities that will help you calculate LOS range at different altitudes.

    /M

  4. #24
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    I do remember a 400 figure which is why I added the ???? on the original query - the thought of trying to read the whole windows feeder thread is likely to make me suicidal.
    Here is some info:

    My interpretation is so long the receiver is within 500km from the homebase (in coverage) data received will be uploaded to FR24.

    i.e. If Manchester Airport is my homebase and I got posted to work in Venice for a few weeks and in Venice when I use the same sharing key for the feeder software in Manchester my data won't be uploaded as I am 500km out of my homebase. There shouldn't be any limit to how far a/c data will be uploaded by your receiver, so long you are in your homebase and is showing good data (planes moving, not a single blip) the software will upload the data.

    Please see links for source:

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post20865

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post32687

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post18405

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post32602

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...eding+location
    Last edited by North Borneo Radar; 2014-03-25 at 23:43.

  5. #25
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by North Borneo Radar View Post
    Here is some info:

    My interpretation is so long the receiver is within 500km from the homebase (in coverage) data received will be uploaded to FR24.

    i.e. If Manchester Airport is my homebase and I got posted to work in Venice for a few weeks and in Venice when I use the same sharing key for the feeder software in Manchester my data won't be uploaded as I am 500km out of my homebase. There shouldn't be any limit to how far a/c data will be uploaded by your receiver, so long you are in your homebase and is showing good data (planes moving, not a single blip) the software will upload the data.

    Please see links for source:

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post20865

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post32687

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post18405

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post32602

    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...eding+location
    I read it as (Being located in Birmingham UK) my feeder will only upload data for planes as far west as Shannon and as far east as Amsterdam. If I relocate to Hamburg, then the only planes that would be uploaded are those I see that happen to be within 500km of Birmingham.

    I'll come back and edit this - I want to draw a 500km circle around the 'home airport' of the F- receiver on the mountain to see how much data in the 'line of sight' plot is possibly discarded due to the 500km from home airport rule.

  6. #26
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    -44.41742 170.09397
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    I want to draw a 500km circle around the 'home airport' of the F- receiver on the mountain to see how much data in the 'line of sight' plot is possibly discarded due to the 500km from home airport rule.
    Here's an image showing range rings with diameters of 250km and 500km centred on Glentanner Airport (GT), Mount Cook, which is ~56km due north of the actual position of my FR24.

    rings.jpg

    The ADS-B on the mountain appears to exceed the 500km limit (I've tracked to at least 551km, according to Google Earth's ruler tool) and I'm sure others too are getting very close to that limit, if not equalling or exceeding it.

  7. #27
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,008
    My max solid data is about 185nm. Max Patchy 205

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  8. #28
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    -44.41742 170.09397
    Posts
    58
    And I just tracked QF(A)28 out to 492km over the Tasman Sea on its way to Sydney, Australia from Santiago.

    (Red dot marks location of the FR24 receiver.)

    qf(a)28.jpg

  9. #29
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by BPO View Post
    And I just tracked QF(A)28 out to 492km over the Tasman Sea on its way to Sydney, Australia from Santiago.

    (Red dot marks location of the FR24 receiver.)

    qf(a)28.jpg
    Hi BPO,

    Is the antenna mounted at its final location now?

  10. #30
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    -44.41742 170.09397
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by North Borneo Radar View Post
    Is the antenna mounted at its final location now?
    No, not yet. I'm still awaiting the arrival of the new antenna masts. I'm hoping to have the final move completed by the end of next week.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •