Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 53

Thread: Dump1090 and Basestation

  1. #41
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    745
    Even for port 10001 SBS has different output formats for different firmwares or versions of the device i believe.
    It may just be that MSM2 doesn't support all of them.



    Have you tried using the data forwarded by fr24feed when it connects directly to the SBS?
    That should be possible on rpi-ip:8754 via the fr24feed webinterface.

    I'm not sure on which port this data will be provided though, according to:
    https://forum.flightradar24.com/thre...dditional-Info

    the data will be on port 30002 or 30334
    RAW: 30002 (DVBT) / 30334(other hardware)

    that should be 30334 for you.

    Maybe you can try that and point MSM2 at one of those ports on the RPi?

    P.S.:
    I'd suggest ditching the SBS stuff, it's no longer developed i believe. (And limiting to one concurrent connection is stupid)
    An LNA plus rtl-sdr stick has very good reception, maybe better than an an SBS unit.
    (https://www.rtl-sdr.com/new-product-...mhz-ads-b-lna/ combined with their v3 dongle provides excellent results)

  2. #42
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,003
    Don't think the normal decoded datas ports work for sbs due need to convert.

    But Further under my ports/sbs section, sbs relay has its own.

    20072 is meant to resend the raw in, out again

    So ipofpi:27002 for other feeds.

    But so few sbs users persevere, test and report back it's all assumption

    The come, they ask, they never reply

    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  3. #43
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    Even for port 10001 SBS has different output formats for different firmwares or versions of the device i believe.
    It may just be that MSM2 doesn't support all of them.



    Have you tried using the data forwarded by fr24feed when it connects directly to the SBS?
    That should be possible on rpi-ip:8754 via the fr24feed webinterface.

    I'm not sure on which port this data will be provided though, according to:
    https://forum.flightradar24.com/thre...dditional-Info

    the data will be on port 30002 or 30334
    RAW: 30002 (DVBT) / 30334(other hardware)

    that should be 30334 for you.

    Maybe you can try that and point MSM2 at one of those ports on the RPi?

    P.S.:
    I'd suggest ditching the SBS stuff, it's no longer developed i believe. (And limiting to one concurrent connection is stupid)
    An LNA plus rtl-sdr stick has very good reception, maybe better than an an SBS unit.
    (https://www.rtl-sdr.com/new-product-...mhz-ads-b-lna/ combined with their v3 dongle provides excellent results)
    Morning

    Yes, i did try feeding my 360radar & Freedar feeding software with the output from Basestation which was being driven from the output of my pi using the instructions FR24 gave me but nothing worked. It seemed that positionless MLAT data was being stripped by the pi and although my 360radar & freedar software was working OK it had no data to upload.

    I will try some of your suggestions again later as it was a few weeks ago now I tried this and worth looking at again with your help.

    Thanks
    Neil

  4. #44
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Hi all

    Thanks for your help on this one.

    So, back to step 1. So, removed all other software/hardware from the system and connected the pi back up and running this just fine. Its the special build of their sharing software that they provide as i cant get my head round this pi stuff. I am one of those guys who wants to run an executable by clicking on it and ticking boxes to select options. Anyway, i digress...

    I have attached 2 images of the pi feeding software. This connects to port 10001 on my SBS without a problem and shares to FR24. I have attached images of the main screen and settings.
    FR24 (1).JPG
    FR24 (2a).jpg

    So, this seems to be running OK. Will leave this feeding FR24 for a while and work though some of the options that Wiedehopf has suggected and see what works (or doesnt lol).

    Update#1 - So, tried connecting MSM2 to the pi output on port 20072 (192.168.0.171:20072). It connects but again cannot recognise the datafeed. My basestation does however connect to this feed.
    Connected MSM2 to the 30334 feed (192.168.0.171:30334) and again connects but no datastream recognised.

    Neil
    Last edited by NToombes; 2019-06-15 at 12:18. Reason: Update...

  5. #45
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,003
    Quote Originally Posted by NToombes View Post
    Update#1 - So, tried connecting MSM2 to the pi output on port 20072 (192.168.0.171:20072). It connects but again cannot recognise the datafeed. My basestation does however connect to this feed.
    Connected MSM2 to the 30334 feed (192.168.0.171:30334) and again connects but no datastream recognised.

    Neil
    Forget modes2mixer? it clearly has an issue with the BS proprietary data type. When other apps can take it directly. Or the 30006 output from Basestation (app)

    ("At the same time the application is able to work with hardware Mode-S receivers as modesbeast or SBS-3 with traditional serial (COM Port) connections over USB interface.")
    Last edited by Oblivian; 2019-06-15 at 12:41.
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  6. #46
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,003
    You'll likely find there is no data from fr24 on 30003/30334 - believe that is why it has its own basestation dropdown option

    It does after all say "SBS1 compatible feed, port 10001, Kinetic Avionics RX only!"

    But referring back to original docs and my request for them to clarify the options as at the time it said both 10001 and 20072, which it's clearly 20072 as you have found. Despite the wording in the settings page being changed
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  7. #47
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    You'll likely find there is no data from fr24 on 30003/30334 - believe that is why it has its own basestation dropdown option

    It does after all say "SBS1 compatible feed, port 10001, Kinetic Avionics RX only!"

    But referring back to original docs and my request for them to clarify the options as at the time it said both 10001 and 20072, which it's clearly 20072 as you have found. Despite the wording in the settings page being changed
    Hiya

    They really have f**ked me over with this bullshit system of theirs. It worked absolutely fine before without a problem using the Windows feeding software. I am now tied between feeding FR24 or my other MLAT feeds to 360radar and Freedar to help these smaller guys out.
    I am sick of all this pi stuff to. I have no idea on what I am doing and its so confusing after 25 odd years of being a windows user. All this command line stuff went out with the arc!
    As you say, there is NO feed on 10001 from the pi, its on port 20072 and whats available on this port is not the full RAW data (presuming RAW means they have not altered anything, its a 100% replica of what my SBS boots out on 10001). if this was the case then my Basestation software would run and feed data on 30006 to my 3rd party applications. What their instructions say just isnt true.
    The FR24 pi software should just be taping off the SBS1-er output, not changing anything as after all is my data :-)

    Neil

  8. #48
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,003
    Quote Originally Posted by NToombes View Post
    Hiya

    They really have f**ked me over with this bullshit system of theirs. It worked absolutely fine before without a problem using the Windows feeding software. I am now tied between feeding FR24 or my other MLAT feeds to 360radar and Freedar to help these smaller guys out.
    I am sick of all this pi stuff to. I have no idea on what I am doing and its so confusing after 25 odd years of being a windows user. All this command line stuff went out with the arc!
    As you say, there is NO feed on 10001 from the pi, its on port 20072 and whats available on this port is not the full RAW data (presuming RAW means they have not altered anything, its a 100% replica of what my SBS boots out on 10001). if this was the case then my Basestation software would run and feed data on 30006 to my 3rd party applications. What their instructions say just isnt true.
    The FR24 pi software should just be taping off the SBS1-er output, not changing anything as after all is my data :-)

    Neil
    It is a relay on 20072. Which is why basestation works fine hanging off it. And multiple clients can connect.

    From there, all your other apps can use 30006 the same way they did before. (or the decoded data from basestation on 30003) No change, other than now having 2 connections to the SBS data type (virtually) not 1. 1 being direct, the other from the Pi.

    Commandline didn't go out with the arc. That was DOS. Linux, runs most websites and servers you use today.

    If anyone is to blame, SBS. They made their data proprietary to corner the market. They limit to 1 connection at at time. And even delayed the data output on 30006 by 5 mins so you couldn't feed others.

    And each time the FW changes. So can the data output. Everyone else trying to use the data has to adapt each time
    (FR24 had no end of issues hence the 'special' test version of the feeder specific for SBS, it was then integrated into the later versions and other bugs fixed again)

    1.2.3.145
    Nov
    2009
    SQL
    (sqb)
    Incremental upgrade.
    Removes 5 min delay on socket data.
    If Basestation works using 20072 as the source. Then the output from it on 30006 should be no different to your previous setup
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  9. #49
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    745
    The basestation format provides bad data quality for FR24, they get rid of it.
    Lots of Windows users have VRS rebroadcast setup incorrectly, so get rid of the Windows feeder to avoid many new feeds popping up that are misconfigured.
    (also rtl1090 with too aggressive fault correction)

    Allowing only the RPi feeder they greatly reduce the amount of misconfigured feeds, which is good for people using the site as the data is better quality.

    Now obviously it angers quite a few of people who have been feeding using Windows.
    If the premium functions of the website are of importance to you, just get a rtl-sdr compatible DVB-T stick and a simple whip antenna and place it in the window or attic.
    Reception will be awful but you still get your membership if the occasional plane comes by.
    (you can of course also have good reception with a proper antenna and an LNA if you want to but it's not required for the membership bonus )
    Last edited by wiedehopf; 2019-06-15 at 13:47.

  10. #50
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    It is a relay on 20072. Which is why basestation works fine hanging off it. And multiple clients can connect.

    From there, all your other apps can use 30006 the same way they did before. (or the decoded data from basestation on 30003) No change, other than now having 2 connections to the SBS data type (virtually) not 1. 1 being direct, the other from the Pi.

    Commandline didn't go out with the arc. That was DOS. Linux, runs most websites and servers you use today.

    If anyone is to blame, SBS. They made their data proprietary to corner the market. They limit to 1 connection at at time. And even delayed the data output on 30006 by 5 mins so you couldn't feed others.

    And each time the FW changes. So can the data output. Everyone else trying to use the data has to adapt each time
    (FR24 had no end of issues hence the 'special' test version of the feeder specific for SBS, it was then integrated into the later versions and other bugs fixed again)



    If Basestation works using 20072 as the source. Then the output from it on 30006 should be no different to your previous setup

    Hi Oblivian

    Sorry, just getting so frustrated here firstly why it doesn't work plus working on the pi platform that I don't have the slightest idea about just doubles the frustration.

    That's the problem, the data output from basestation on 30006 is different when basestation is fed from pi:20072 on the pi. I just get error messages on the 360radar & Freedar software saying "No Data (not even keepalives) received for 150 seconds."
    I have asked the owners of these sites to check what I am uploading and they say nothing.
    Now, if I remove the pi from the system and connect basestation directly to the sbs1-er on 10001 all works fine. Its like the 20072 output on the pi IS NOT all the data that's received by the pi from the sbs1-er. Its either stripping the position less stuff or messing with the formatting.
    I have just tried feeding my 360radar & Freedar software directly from the pi output 20072 and again no data nor keepalives received for 150 seconds.

    I do appreciate the help you guys are providing though.

    Neil

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •