Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 53

Thread: Dump1090 and Basestation

  1. #31
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    27
    This is a question to the developer sergsero:

    As a glider pilot I act as a manager for our gliding airfield from time to time. I am in search for a virtual radar showing both, all the commercial and GA traffic in one application, say on one virtual radar screen. Gliders typically use Flarm rather than ADS-B transponders so you have to deal with it. From the open glider network initiative there is a Flarm decoder existing, that outputs the glider' (or Flarm target's) positions via APRS. Unfortunately there is no way between APRS and SBS format as far as I know.

    Having built so many ADS-related protocols and even an AIS receiver as well as ADS receiver:
    Is there a chance you will create such an interface?

    IMHO best was to create another input to modesdeco or modesmixer for APRS/Flarm signals. So one could watch all the traffic on one screen.

    Thank you,
    Wolfram (Rueckwaertsflieger)

  2. #32
    First officer
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Aldershot, Hampshire. UK
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by rueckwaertsflieger View Post
    This is a question to the developer sergsero:

    As a glider pilot I act as a manager for our gliding airfield from time to time. I am in search for a virtual radar showing both, all the commercial and GA traffic in one application, say on one virtual radar screen. Gliders typically use Flarm rather than ADS-B transponders so you have to deal with it. From the open glider network initiative there is a Flarm decoder existing, that outputs the glider' (or Flarm target's) positions via APRS. Unfortunately there is no way between APRS and SBS format as far as I know.

    Having built so many ADS-related protocols and even an AIS receiver as well as ADS receiver:
    Is there a chance you will create such an interface?

    IMHO best was to create another input to modesdeco or modesmixer for APRS/Flarm signals. So one could watch all the traffic on one screen.

    Thank you,
    Wolfram (Rueckwaertsflieger)
    Wolfram
    Are you aware that an OGN reciever not only feeds the Open Glider Network but also feeds the data to FR24 so you can see both gliders and ADSB on the one screen, the only thing is that the gliders must be registered on the OGN database otherwise the data is not displayed on FR24.
    It is very easy to setup an OGN reciever using a Raspberry pi and pre built images with a web configuration can be downloaded from OGN to get you up and running in minutes .
    Ben.
    FR24 F-EGLF1, Blitzortung station 878, OGN Aldersht2, PilotAware PWAldersht, PlanePlotter M7.

  3. #33
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by F-EGLF1 View Post
    Wolfram
    Are you aware that an OGN reciever not only feeds the Open Glider Network but also feeds the data to FR24 so you can see both gliders and ADSB...
    It is very easy to setup an OGN receiver ...get you up and running in minutes .
    Ben.
    Ah yes, I see,

    Ben, you are totally right with exception of the minutes to set up a receiver. Yielding a perfect installation it takes hours, even with the perfect preperations of OGN. But there are severe restrictions with the big approach of FR24. Just to name a few:

    There has been ample discussion about property rights on personal tracking data. Thus, private pilots quite often use the "do not track flag", meaning, there will be no forwarding to FR24 or even OGN. With a local display especially without storing tracking data, everything ist fine. You might display all traffic, essential for an ground virtual radar.

    I target an application for gliding airfiled manager. Be assured, there are airfields in backcountry without decent network to the internet access. Thus, a networked solution is not valuable.

    After having tested OGN receiver with a local display I know, the local has much more frequent fixes giving you a much richer situation awareness than the big FR24 approach. And there are many more aspects.

    On bottom line: FR24 is the planespotting spectator's solution, not an airfield manager solution. I target an airfield manager virtual radar "AMVR" app, with many more features, as is weather, especially lightning overlay on map, local wind, etc.

    Thank you,
    Wolfram

  4. #34
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Hi
    OK, wonder if anyone can help me with ModeSMixer2.
    So, i can connect my Basestation directly over the network via the IP of 192.168.0.170 on port 10001 and all works fine.
    Now i wish to run several applications to share my data between several organisations i need to use ModeSmixer2.
    I have installed this OK. I have played with the command line and have --inConnect 192.168.0.170:10001 command line in there.
    So, ModeSMixer2 starts up and says Connected to 192.168.0.170:10001 etc. It doesnt say anything else. If I open the web server (yes I have done the --8888 switc option) the chat pages open but no data appears ever, nothing.
    if i also add the outserver sbs10001:10001 which i believe then should let me basestation connect to the ModeSmixer2 output on 1001 (after changing the basestation ip to 127.0.0.1. Basestation says its connected and ModeSMixer screen shows the connection but no aircraft shown. So, to me it looks like I am physically connecting but not passing any data. Any ideas?

    Neil

  5. #35
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,366
    Do you have BaseStation running at the same time as ModeSMixer2?

    If you have, it's "grabbing" the SBS data on 192.168.0.170:10001.
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  6. #36
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    Do you have BaseStation running at the same time as ModeSMixer2?

    If you have, it's "grabbing" the SBS data on 192.168.0.170:10001.
    Hiya
    Nope, understand you can only have one connection into 10001 at a time. Just proving the datastream is there on 10001 with basestation. I shut basestation down and then run ModeSMixer2 and it says connected but never detects a data stream.

    Neil

  7. #37
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,366
    Thanks. Do you specify a data format in MSM2 and if so, which one?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  8. #38
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    Thanks. Do you specify a data format in MSM2 and if so, which one?
    Evening.
    I was under the impression from the instructions that I don't need to specify a data format to read data directly from my SBS1-er.
    The command line is as follows...

    "C:\Aviation Tracking Applications\ModeSMixer2\modesmixer2.exe" --inConnect 192.168.0.170:10001 --web 8888 --location 51.2xx:-1.1xx"

    My ultimate wish to read directly the SBS1-er output into ModeSmixer2 from port 10001 and then output this identical data on port 10001 (need to add the --outServer sbs10001:10001 switch in the command line later) on my Windows PC. I can then use Base station to feel my 360Radar & Freedar feeds and also a VRS server
    Aslo, I can feed FR24 thats currently running a a Raspberry pi with their own build of sharing software. This again, on its own reads data from port 10001 of my SBS. its currently removed from the network whilst I carry out these tests.

    Neil

  9. #39
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    610
    According to the MSM2 webpage, there is no need to specify a type for data input, only output. (http://xdeco.org/?page_id=48)

    SBS has some strange shenanigans.
    If you are going to run the Basestation program anyway, why not connect to the Basestation program output with MSM2 and redistribute that?

    Getting the raw data is of course better but as i said their data output seems to be rather mysterious and made so no one else can properly use the data.

  10. #40
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    According to the MSM2 webpage, there is no need to specify a type for data input, only output. (http://xdeco.org/?page_id=48)

    SBS has some strange shenanigans.
    If you are going to run the Basestation program anyway, why not connect to the Basestation program output with MSM2 and redistribute that?

    Getting the raw data is of course better but as i said their data output seems to be rather mysterious and made so no one else can properly use the data.
    Evening

    Yes, that's how I understood it to be, MSM2 is supposedly clever enough to work out the input type.
    Well, thats exactly how I used to do it and run the FR24 feeding software for windows. As we know they stopped this and I was told by support to go use a Raspberry Pi, install their feeder biuld of the Pi operating system and connect that directly to my SBS which I have been doing for about a month now. I did suggest still feeding via Basestation but was told no as it was basestation generating many of the errors they wee seeing and to keep it out of the equation.

    Neil

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •