Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: RadarCape Launched

  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    Maybe not, but when the mode-s beast launched there were just two motorised vehicles, you had a choice of the Mercedes (Modes S Beast) or the BMW (Airnav box).
    There were more than two, including the first and most established receiver from Kinetic Avionics, the SBS-1/3 family which, like the RadarBox, included proprietary tracking and mapping software. The Beast and Radarcape do not ship with proprietary software.

    And the newly launched Kinetic Puck is now available, with software, for under GBP £250.

  2. #12
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by FR24support View Post
    There were more than two, including the first and most established receiver from Kinetic Avionics, the SBS-1/3 family which, like the RadarBox, included proprietary tracking and mapping software. The Beast and Radarcape do not ship with proprietary software.

    And the newly launched Kinetic Puck is now available, with software, for under GBP £250.
    but (for systems using non-proprietary software) there are low cost dongle based solutions available that did not exist before...

    that said there was the micro ADSB [usb stick] receiver but that was still is a big step up in price.

  3. #13
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    You would need a lot of software from modesbeast.com to interface to the Radarcape module - the interface to beagle bone is very specific and the cape can't be used without it especially since the beagle bone acts as a software suppository for the radarcape firmware.
    Peter,
    I just noticed in this post the following;

    "beagle bone acts as a software suppository for the radarcape firmware."

    I think you mean repository mate, a suppository is something entirely different. I have those moments at times when the right word just wont show itself. Keep up the great work.

    Regards,
    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2014-01-03 at 08:11.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,028
    Flightaware also have their own box now. Expanding/backing up their delayed FAA/Sat (and estimated) with ADSB local

  5. #15
    First officer 1090 MHz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    F-CYYZ2
    Posts
    386
    Quote Originally Posted by fungus View Post
    a suppository is something entirely different.
    Oh my... now that's where we don't want to store our software!
    SUPPOSITORY.jpg

  6. #16
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by fungus View Post
    Peter,
    I just noticed in this post the following;

    "beagle bone acts as a software suppository for the radarcape firmware."

    I think you mean repository mate, a suppository is something entirely different. I have those moments at times when the right word just wont show itself. Keep up the great work.

    Regards,
    Gregg
    Teehee - surprised no one noticed sooner!

  7. #17
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    FR24 Feeder
    Posts
    1,232
    Looking forward to more information on that box.
    Plus we can use the same receiver to feed sites like FR24,etc.

    - Can I share data from FlightFeeder with other sites?
    Sure! FlightAware encourages the sharing of all available ADS-B data for maximum collaboration and sharing within the community.
    http://flightaware.com/adsb/faq#sharing
    http://flightaware.com/adsb/flightfeeder/

    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    Flightaware also have their own box now. Expanding/backing up their delayed FAA/Sat (and estimated) with ADSB local

  8. #18
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    Flightaware also have their own box now. Expanding/backing up their delayed FAA/Sat (and estimated) with ADSB local
    Does look interesting - I wonder what's inside? (it might be just a dongle and a Pi / Beaglebone or something similar)

    It does look like you might be able to network it to a Pi running the fr24 feeder.

  9. #19
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    We know what is in the rsdarcape, I meant the new flight aware box.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

  10. #20
    First officer 1090 MHz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    F-CYYZ2
    Posts
    386
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    We know what is in the rsdarcape, I meant the new flight aware box.
    I just received a flight aware box so I can now answer your question. They are using a Raspberry Pi hardwired by USB to a MODE-S-BEAST Mark II radio board.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •