Making an inexpensive 1090MHz ADS-B collinear antenna

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making an inexpensive 1090MHz ADS-B collinear antenna

I hope this isnt a duplicate post as I've searched to see if it is posted elsewhere to no avail and I've no real knowledge of antenna theory, nor can I vouch for this antenna but I found it on the net recently and thought it may be of use to some one. The guy in the vid makes it look very simple.

I do have a small amount of the RG6 cable being used in the vid (he could do with a good kleenex tissue for his nose too so I hope the antenna performs better than his snoz) and I'm thinking I may try to make one of these antennas just to see if I can. I'll do a follow up on this in the following weeks;

Making an inexpensive collinear antenna suitable for 1090MHz ADS-B decoding with RTL-SDR dongles and RTL1090 or ADSB# as well as dedicated virtual radar syst...

The following may also help anyone wishing to make this 'home brew' antenna;

Perhaps some one with a little more knowledge than I have may wish to comment on the vid before I (or anyone else) wastes any time attempting to make or use it.

Regards,
    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2013-09-28, 10:30.
    YSSY2/T-YSSY4 [SBS-1 Basestation w/- SSE-1090 SJ Mk2 Antenna (Thanks Delcomp) ] [Uniden UBCD996T w/- 16 element Wideband Discone VHF/UHF Antenna, and tuned 108MHz-137MHz Airband Antenna] [Trialing a home-brew 1090MHz collinear antenna]

It's what I'm using for my radar

Rather than putting a resistor at the top, I'd put a 68mm spike (1/4 wave) - then since the antenna is open circuit you can use one of these in line amplifiers http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Satellite...a54c1fc&_uhb=1 ... and a power inserter like one of these http://www.amazon.com/PCT-Inserter-M.../dp/B005Y12UH6

They require about 15v dc up the wire and pass the voltage up the line ... if there was a resistor at the top it would make it toasty.

Comment