Page 3 of 44 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 435

Thread: MLAT is now live on Flightradar24

  1. #21
    First officer
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    There are currently no plans for MLAT in Australia as ADSB will become mandatory in December.
    Only for aircraft that fly above FL290.

    Here is the CASA statement...

    Dec 2013: All operations at and above FL290
    Feb 2014: Aircraft operated under the IFR first registered in Australia after 6 Feb 2014.
    Feb 2016: In large parts of Western Australia (Airspace classes A, B, C and E).
    (This is co-incident with the mandatory requirement to fit GNSS to all IFR aircraft for
    navigation in Australian airspace.)
    Feb 2017: All IFR operations at all flight levels
    So aircraft that fly under FL290 don't have to have ADS-B installed by December, correct?

  2. #22
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,110
    Quote Originally Posted by OliverGigacz View Post
    Only for aircraft that fly above FL290.

    So aircraft that fly under FL290 don't have to have ADS-B installed by December, correct?
    Today we build our MLAT network in populated areas like Europe or USA where we can install receivers regularly spread out in all directions. In Australia the population is concentrated to the coast and building a good MLAT network is much harder. I guess we would have quite hard to spread the receivers to build a good network and get coverage below FL200, so we would get a network for maybe FL200-FL290 in some limited areas only.

    I don't say we will not try MLAT in Australia in some areas, but with the current conditions building a MLAT network in Australia would have a very limited use and coverage.

  3. #23
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    There are 4 options.

    1) Aircraft type (currenty used)
    2) "Blocked"
    3) Our internal flight ID, for example "352937341"
    4) Completely removed
    Why don't you use the callsign/flightnumber as it is done for most planes (even most spotted by MLAT)? I actually see a C25A with MLAT without flightnumber and ICAO-ID 000000 but I see the same plane (I asume it is the same because of the height and a matching squawk) on my own receiver including ICAO-ID and callsign.

  4. #24
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,110
    Quote Originally Posted by jossi View Post
    Why don't you use the callsign/flightnumber as it is done for most planes (even most spotted by MLAT)? I actually see a C25A with MLAT without flightnumber and ICAO-ID 000000 but I see the same plane (I asume it is the same because of the height and a matching squawk) on my own receiver including ICAO-ID and callsign.
    Please read first post http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...-Flightradar24

  5. #25
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    I'd just like add a voice of thanks and appreciation for this addition to a fantastic website FR24. To have the chance to pick up such MLAT flights is much appreciated and only adds to our hobby. Thanks to all those who help provide MLAT coverage.

  6. #26
    Purser
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Chelmsford, UK
    Posts
    102
    I'm almost certain this only applies to MLAT A/C ? I've noticed some display as jet silhouettes whereas in fact they are King Airs, which I presume would be better shown as Piston (albeit turboprop) silhouettes ?

    John

  7. #27
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    After an initial beta testing of MLAT for premium users, we are now satisfied with how it works and we have launched it for all our users on www.flightradar24.com and in our apps. You can read more about ADS-B, MLAT and FAA on our how it works-page


    If you have any questions about MLAT on Flightradar24 please post in this thread.
    So, to be sure that I am reading this and your follow on posts correctly, you will be doing MLAT Only in the UK.Europe for now and then only with the FR supplied equipment?

  8. #28
    Super Moderator delcomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Marl, Germany 1Km NNW of EDLM-( T-EDLM1 [F_EDLE1] )
    Posts
    590
    MAN-DUS.jpeg

    Nice Mike,. First time Ive seen a Flybe cross the North Sea.
    And was on screen till about 20nM East of Amsterdam.
    Congrats to the UK MLAT. Looks like Holland will have to start doing something
    now. to connect the UK to Europe.
    (F-EDLE1)delcomp-DEL-David Tks(My friend Mike, all three of them)

    URL: http://banner.flightdiary.net/EDLM
    1090SJ(Ae) /(6m. Ecoflex10) / SBS 3 /-FR24 Box/ Power-line Connection (Ethernet)

  9. #29
    Passenger freddielaker2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Blackpool
    Posts
    11
    superb added info, Thanks whoever came up with it.....

  10. #30
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    66
    Nothing to add the discussion.
    But many thanks for MLAT, really improved my good ole Flygradar.nu!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •