Page 121 of 122 FirstFirst ... 2171111119120121122 LastLast
Results 1,201 to 1,210 of 1219

Thread: Raspberry Pi type B + DVB-T Dongle to feed FR24

  1. #1201
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,001
    Quote Originally Posted by delcomp View Post
    I would think,. That entering which Ports for what,..

    Would be a big help to new reader of the Forum.

    As this is a big question that is often asked on Chat,.

    And not having a PI Stick,. I cannot help them
    If they are running a DVBT stick. It's irrelevant.

    The port setting only comes in to play with some advanced options, or when it detects FlightFeeder or Dump1090 already running. In which case it helps during setup.

    Just tell people. If you choose DVBT. Port doesn't matter
    If they have something different setup for whatever reason. Point them here
    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...-FAQs-and-Info

    There is already a port section there for common apps
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  2. #1202
    Super Moderator delcomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Marl, Germany 1Km NNW of EDLM-( T-EDLM1 [F_EDLE1] )
    Posts
    593
    Rgr ,.. Tks Craig...
    (F-EDLE1)delcomp-DEL-David Tks(My friend Mike, all three of them)

    URL: http://banner.flightdiary.net/EDLM
    1090SJ(Ae) /(6m. Ecoflex10) / SBS 3 /-FR24 Box/ Power-line Connection (Ethernet)

  3. #1203
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2
    So, I'm running up against some issues attempting to get my RTL2832 dongle up and running with my Raspberry Pi 3.

    Starting from a brand new Pi, brand new SD card, installed Raspian, built all the packages for dump1090, everything appeared to work just fine.

    Went to run dump1090 and received this:

    pi@raspberrypi:~/dump1090 $ ./dump1090 --interactive
    Found 1 device(s):
    0: Realtek, RTL2838UHIDIR, SN: 00000001 (currently selected)
    usb_claim_interface error -6
    Error opening the RTLSDR device: Device or resource busy

    Then, playing around I discovered if I unplug the dongle, plug it back in, and immediately run the "./dump1090 --interactive", dump1090 will fire right up and I'll start getting data!

    Read somewhere that issues can occur when not using a powered USB Hub, so figured that maybe the dongle isn't getting enough power or something.
    -Went out and got a powered hub, problem persisted.

    Checked my blacklist files, and the typical culprits are in there.

    Then, I tried a second RTL dongle that I had laying around and had converted to a BNC connector for another project, and had the same issue...so I'm confident that it's not the dongle.

    So, needless to say I'm at a loss. It doesn't help that my linux knowledge is about a 3/10.

    Planning on mounting this setup outside near my antenna, and really need something that I don't have to physically mess with too much.

    Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

  4. #1204
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,001
    Quote Originally Posted by neppo1345 View Post
    So, I'm running up against some issues attempting to get my RTL2832 dongle up and running with my Raspberry Pi 3.

    Starting from a brand new Pi, brand new SD card, installed Raspian, built all the packages for dump1090, everything appeared to work just fine.

    Went to run dump1090 and received this:

    pi@raspberrypi:~/dump1090 $ ./dump1090 --interactive
    Found 1 device(s):
    0: Realtek, RTL2838UHIDIR, SN: 00000001 (currently selected)
    usb_claim_interface error -6
    Error opening the RTLSDR device: Device or resource busy

    Then, playing around I discovered if I unplug the dongle, plug it back in, and immediately run the "./dump1090 --interactive", dump1090 will fire right up and I'll start getting data!

    Read somewhere that issues can occur when not using a powered USB Hub, so figured that maybe the dongle isn't getting enough power or something.
    -Went out and got a powered hub, problem persisted.

    Checked my blacklist files, and the typical culprits are in there.

    Then, I tried a second RTL dongle that I had laying around and had converted to a BNC connector for another project, and had the same issue...so I'm confident that it's not the dongle.

    So, needless to say I'm at a loss. It doesn't help that my linux knowledge is about a 3/10.

    Planning on mounting this setup outside near my antenna, and really need something that I don't have to physically mess with too much.

    Any advice will be greatly appreciated!
    If you installed the feeder package and chose DVBT, its already stolen the device. You also can't use --interactive as it doesn't allow connection as the output is sent to screen instead.

    I'd suggest taking a bit of a read..
    http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...-FAQs-and-Info
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  5. #1205
    Purser
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    129
    what version of raspbian do you have? i had the same problem for long time ago, but since i upgrade rpi to new pixel the problem was solved.

    Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

  6. #1206
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Oblivian, your post tipped me in the right direction. I was able to figure it out; everything is up and running!

    During the install I had installed an instance of dump1090-FA (I thought I had uninstalled it once I realized that it was Flight Aware specific...alas I had not). It was running in the background and stealing the dongle.

    I've had it up and running in its enclosure for a day now (to keep an eye on temps in the sealed enclosure). Hopefully this week I'll get the antenna built, get the feed up and running to Flight Radar, then get everything mounted up on the roof.

  7. #1207
    Passenger thehague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Randstad
    Posts
    17
    I'm using the Pi24 image, and when I'm running 'fr24feed' I get the following error:

    Please fix the device permissions, e.g. by installing the udev rules file rtl-sdr.rules
    Error opening the RTLSDR device: Permission denied


    Tried adding:
    SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bda", ATTRS{idProduct}=="2838", MODE:="0666"
    to /etc/udev/rules.d/rtl-sdr.rules.

    And:
    blacklist dvb_usb_rtl28xxu
    blacklist e4000
    blacklist rtl2832
    blacklist rtl2838
    blacklist RTL2838UHIDIR
    to /etc/modprobe.d/rtl-sdr-blacklist.conf

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by thehague; 2017-08-24 at 22:55.

  8. #1208
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,001
    Quote Originally Posted by thehague View Post
    I'm using the Pi24 image, and when I'm running 'fr24feed' I get the following error:

    Please fix the device permissions, e.g. by installing the udev rules file rtl-sdr.rules
    Error opening the RTLSDR device: Permission denied


    Tried adding:
    SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bda", ATTRS{idProduct}=="2838", MODE:="0666"
    to /etc/udev/rules.d/rtl-sdr.rules.

    And:
    lacklist dvb_usb_rtl28xxu
    blacklist e4000
    blacklist rtl2832
    blacklist rtl2838
    blacklist RTL2838UHIDIR
    to /etc/modprobe.d/rtl-sdr-blacklist.conf

    Any ideas?
    Never had to add the vendor specifics to the file. Only the un-blacklist.

    Including SUDO infront of each command? else its normal user and wont have high access
    sudo fr24feed start
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  9. #1209
    Passenger thehague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Randstad
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    Never had to add the vendor specifics to the file. Only the un-blacklist.

    Including SUDO infront of each command? else its normal user and wont have high access
    sudo fr24feed start
    Yup, tried it with sudo.

  10. #1210
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    @thehague:

    Code:
    #open file rtl-sdr-blacklist.conf for editing
    sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/rtl-sdr-blacklist.conf
    
    #add the following 2 lines to above file:
    blacklist dvb_usb_rtl2832u
    blacklist dvb_usb
    
    #save file, exit and reboot
    sudo reboot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •