Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Which is better - Flightradar24 or Radarbox24 ?

  1. #11
    I'm not sure if your DVB-T tuner is suitable, but have a look at Jetvision's RTL1090 Windows software:

    http://rtl1090.web99.de/

  2. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,965
    Not quite, the current ones people are using has a specific modulation chip in it that allows it to do a bit of decode/checking of the data it receives quick enough to produce the right sort of output.

    They are also full range frequency, so 25MHz-1700MHz or better. When other T tuners lack the chip and only go up to 800Mhz

  3. #13
    Captain Birdie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Changi Airport
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by SoCalBrian View Post
    Looks like Flightradar24 has better coverage in that area :-)
    Keep up the good work and your new FR24 receiver.

    P.S don't forget you can run/connect these software(Virtual Radar Server , adsbScope and PlanePlotter) to the FR24 box.

    I post the same heading " Which is better - RadarBox24 or Flightradar24 " in AirNav Systems Forum.

    As anticipated, the thread got locked. But, this time they dared not banned me from their forum !

    Hahahahaa ... I guess they knew they had BADLY PISSED me OFF a few months ago by banning me "for trying to create trouble".

    - and now I PULLED the BIG SWITCH OFF on them preventing them from stealing my flight data to feed their Radarbox24.com site.


    http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/i...p?topic=7510.0

    Flightradar 24 vs Radarbox 24 discussion got locked.jpg

  4. #14
    Captain Birdie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Changi Airport
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by SoCalBrian View Post
    Looks like Flightradar24 has better coverage in that area :-)
    Keep up the good work and your new FR24 receiver.

    P.S don't forget you can run/connect these software(Virtual Radar Server , adsbScope and PlanePlotter) to the FR24 box.
    Which of the 3 softwares work best on FR24 receiver ?

  5. #15
    Captain Birdie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Changi Airport
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by SoCalBrian View Post
    Via the device IP address and port 30003

    This is what Mike said last week. The information should really be added under the FR24 FAQ page or another page!

    I spent 4 hrs trying to set it up using PlanePlotter but failed. I used your suggestion of IP address and Port 30003.

    Can't find the "Radar View " in the Premium Account.

    I even connect a Mini-USB cable to my PC USB Port - still cant get PlanePlotter to work with Flightradar24 receiver.

    Is there any Step-by-Step Instructions somewhere ?
    Last edited by Birdie; 2013-02-19 at 16:18.

  6. #16
    First officer LN-MOW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Coal Mountain GA
    Posts
    276
    It's actually quite simple and described in the 'Read this first' file in the RTL1090 program folder.

    1. plug in the stick - ignore install message
    2. - Download the latest "Zadig" installation package and execute zadig.exe
    3. Run RTL1090.exe - Press start and Tuner AGC/RTL AGC
    4. Run PlanePlotter (with TCP/IP Server IP 30003 enabled)
    5. Run FR24feed - press Start.

    Worked for me! :-)

  7. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Birdie View Post
    Can't find the "Radar View " in the Premium Account.
    RadarView is an option from the Premium Account page.

    Apps.jpg

    I think the other questions are best handled by contacting Support@fr24.com.

  8. #18
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    Quote Originally Posted by Birdie View Post
    I spent 4 hrs trying to set it up using PlanePlotter but failed. I used your suggestion of IP address and Port 30003.

    Can't find the "Radar View " in the Premium Account.

    I even connect a Mini-USB cable to my PC USB Port - still cant get PlanePlotter to work with Flightradar24 receiver.

    Is there any Step-by-Step Instructions somewhere ?
    You should NOT use the Mini-USB, it may destroy the receiver! FR24 receiver may ONLY be used through network!

    This is the Airnav forum and FR24 vs RB24 thread. There are separate threads on the forum for the "FR24 receiver", "Radar view" and DVB-T sticks. Please stay on topic!

  9. #19
    Captain Birdie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Changi Airport
    Posts
    645
    Flightradar24 vs Radarbox24_ 4 24 Feb 2013.jpg

    Today's coverage. I have tighten the screws on the thief

  10. #20
    Captain Birdie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Changi Airport
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by SoCalBrian View Post
    Looks like Flightradar24 has better coverage in that area :-)
    Keep up the good work and your new FR24 receiver.
    Look at today's coverage, 28 Feb 2013.

    Flightradar24 vs Radarbox24_ 3 28 Feb 2013.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •