Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Who is allowed to use and broadcast ADSB signals? And what happens if used otherwise?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who is allowed to use and broadcast ADSB signals? And what happens if used otherwise?

Hi there,

I'm checking flightradar24 once in a while but had only checked some flights .
    But now I have a question because I couldn't find an answer to it in the Internet:

Who is allowed to use and broadcast ADSB signals? I could just find aviation purposes but what about satellites (cube sats) or other vessels? And what happens if it will be used otherwise?

I checked whether you have to have a special license for it besides a ham license, or if it is just a device license where you buy the device and can use it.

I'm an aerospace student and there had been a question on our private email list of a project of mine where someone asked why we couldn't just use an adsb transmitter for a cube sat and also broadcast our current state.
    But I think this is somehow controlled by an authority but which one and what are the requirements .

Don't worry, we won't use it without knowing exactly if it's allowed!

Best regards,

Andreas

ADS-B is for airplanes, basically any pilot who has the airplane he is flying in order can use it. Vessels use a completely different system called AIS. ADS-B signals are simply not intended for tracking satellites. Besides its intended use, there's a lot of technical reasons I can think about for not working, for example, ADS-B broadcasts the position of an airplane with information of a GPS receiver and it won't work on orbit and that available ADS-B transmitters will not fit a cubesat payload even if it's the most miniature ones in market.

It's a really different beast completely to track an airplane or satellite. Search for Keplerian Elements, it's a math technique commonly used in satellite tracking, that could probably start to guide you in the right direction.