Page 2 of 127 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 1263

Thread: Aussie Feeders

  1. #11
    Passenger JinbaIttai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    30
    My antenna and pre-amp are now on the mast about 10m above ground level, and I'm seeing aircraft 3 times more distant than before

    I am now picking up aircraft that are halfway between Perth and Kalgoorlie, and also 2/3rds of the distance between Perth and Geraldton, giving a decent overlap of coverage with Y-GEL1

    And I can see planes on the ground at YPPH, which I am most pleased about.
    - Matt
    T-YPPH2

  2. #12
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by JinbaIttai View Post
    My antenna and pre-amp are now on the mast about 10m above ground level, and I'm seeing aircraft 3 times more distant than before

    I am now picking up aircraft that are halfway between Perth and Kalgoorlie, and also 2/3rds of the distance between Perth and Geraldton, giving a decent overlap of coverage with Y-GEL1

    And I can see planes on the ground at YPPH, which I am most pleased about.
    Matt,
    Great work mate and looking forward to checking out the west. Hoping to get my 1090sj back up and running one day soon.

    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2013-02-10 at 04:31.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,000
    Nice. Make sure your uploader is indicating Ground Traffic [YES] so everyone else sees it too. Else it might need to have a flag changed server end

    I seem to get ground readings now and then, but either not enough to make it change to yes, or its a server side flag.. not too sure

  4. #14
    Passenger JinbaIttai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    30
    Good call - I just checked, my uploader shows GND: YES and right now fr24 shows thai 481 taxiing to the gate with my radar code
    - Matt
    T-YPPH2

  5. #15
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    21
    Hi Gregg, is the 1090sj a homebrew antenna or something that can be purchased in Australia ? I am using the mag mount antenna that came with my SBS1-er.

    Regards Sean

  6. #16
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by YPAD View Post
    Hi Gregg, is the 1090sj a homebrew antenna or something that can be purchased in Australia ? I am using the mag mount antenna that came with my SBS1-er.

    Regards Sean
    Sean,
    It was a manufactured antenna that one of the chat mods (Delcomp) brought out for me from Germany on a visit. Sorry but I dont know where or if it's available here. They may know more on the chat.

    Il'll see if i can find the link;
    http://www.ssejim.co.uk/26-sseads1090sj.htm

    news isnt good, no more pic and discontinued by the looks of it, Sorry mate

    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2013-02-10 at 13:25.

  7. #17
    Passenger JinbaIttai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    30
    Spotted: Radar F-YPPH3 (F signifying it's an FR24 deployed box) in addition to T-YPPH3 and T-YPPH2 (me)

    Getting some good coverage out here now - a big difference from only 2 months ago when there was nothing.
    - Matt
    T-YPPH2

  8. #18
    Passenger VK6UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    18
    I went online about 23 hours ago. It would have been sooner but that lightning storm convinced me being on a tin roof with an antenna wasn't a good place to be.
    My altitude isn't that great being close to the beach, but the antenna is up reasonably high and I have an excellent view of the sky all around.
    Rob, VK6UFO
    F-YPPH3
    o410E



  9. #19
    Passenger JinbaIttai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    30
    Welcome Rob!
    I was offline for a few hours tonight, I had a power outage and my UPS was unhappy and did not restart.
    - Matt
    T-YPPH2

  10. #20
    Passenger VK6UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    18
    You probably suffered from one of the many pole-top fires Perth had yesterday, Same every year... no rain for three months then when we get some, blammo.
    I'd like to plug the FR24 into the UPS but it's too far away and the network isn't on UPS either.
    Fixed my sig by the way oops
    Rob, VK6UFO
    F-YPPH3
    o410E



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •