Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Coax

  1. #1
    Passenger Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Coax

    As with most things in life you get what you pay for but can often get away with using cheap stuff.
    So my Q is, what is the best coax cable and why

    I was told once at while looking at antennas (oddly enough by the bloke selling them) "you would recieve just as good a signal from the coax as wasting money on an antenna"

    I just wondered what you all use to receive with, not too bothered about transmitting as I dont.
    Also connections, which are good and bad
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,052
    The bigger the better at 2Ghz.

    RG213, LMR-400, LDF4-50A. In about that order

  3. #3
    Passenger ChuckinKona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
    Posts
    47
    Aloha,

    There is some pretty good material on the subject, understandable too, on DPD Productions website in the FAQ section on Coax. http://www.dpdproductions.com/page_faq.html#coax

  4. #4
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Hiya,

    I use the dpd one and http://www.ssejim.co.uk/26-sseads1090sj.htm as reference for coax cable.

    Do remember the less signal loss, the more stiffer the cable is. i.e. have a look at cable diameter and bending radius as this will influence the ease of cable installation.

    another one is the H155 low loss coax cable that I use along with the PCB antenna with good result.
    http://www.jmz-shop.de/mode-s-beast/...?id_product=20

    all the best
    Last edited by North Borneo Radar; 2013-01-16 at 01:19.

  5. #5
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    F-KPDK1
    Posts
    5
    The larger diameter the better. Better than that, though, is shorter length. I put my equipment 100' up a tower which already had 120 VAC available, but something like this could be used to use PoE to extract power (obviously with a PoE injector at the bottom) for your equipment at the top of the tower.

    http://tyconpower.com/products/files...Spec_Sheet.pdf

  6. #6
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,383
    Do you have the receiver on the tower and if so, how is it weatherproofed?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  7. #7
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by mhammett View Post
    The larger diameter the better. Better than that, though, is shorter length. I put my equipment 100' up a tower which already had 120 VAC available, but something like this could be used to use PoE to extract power (obviously with a PoE injector at the bottom) for your equipment at the top of the tower.

    http://tyconpower.com/products/files...Spec_Sheet.pdf
    Interesting. Please can you show us pictures of how your setup is done, if possible, so that we can see how it is done? What receiver do you use?

    Note: On hindsight, maybe it's not that easy to get pictures.
    Last edited by North Borneo Radar; 2013-01-22 at 10:10.

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    F-KPDK1
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    Do you have the receiver on the tower and if so, how is it weatherproofed?
    It is in a NEMA box.

    Quote Originally Posted by North Borneo Radar View Post
    Interesting. Please can you show us pictures of how your setup is done, if possible, so that we can see how it is done? What receiver do you use?

    Note: On hindsight, maybe it's not that easy to get pictures.
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/s2p762g0vaa7xjv/ojwHF3md2x

    There is a bunch of stuff in there that doesn't have anything to do with Flightradar. As I said, I'm still just using 120 VAC on the tower, but one could use PoE if they didn't already have power at the top.

    Due to my antenna height and relatively short coax run (20'), I've seen planes over 460 km away and I've only been operational since Saturday.
    Last edited by mhammett; 2013-01-22 at 13:34.

  9. #9
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by mhammett View Post
    It is in a NEMA box.



    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/s2p762g0vaa7xjv/ojwHF3md2x

    There is a bunch of stuff in there that doesn't have anything to do with Flightradar. As I said, I'm still just using 120 VAC on the tower, but one could use PoE if they didn't already have power at the top.

    Due to my antenna height and relatively short coax run (20'), I've seen planes over 460 km away and I've only been operational since Saturday.
    cheers for that. You are lucky being able to set it up at that kind of site and having the facilities. Very useful for future ideas...

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    F-KPDK1
    Posts
    5
    Thanks. I am working on getting some sites up with some of my colleagues.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •