Page 14 of 24 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 231

Thread: Hong Kong Radar

  1. #131
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by microtony View Post
    I forgot to add.. I also used an amplifier... the amplifier is powered by USB
    Microtony you DIY your amplifier is it? How did you make it? If you don't mind can you show us a pic of it too? Perhaps I can try and make one...
    Last edited by North Borneo Radar; 2014-06-07 at 07:34.

  2. #132
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    17
    No I bought it for around $80 (US$10).
    I tried to find the exact thing online but to no vail
    2014-06-07 21.52.11b.jpg

  3. #133
    Captain
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Borneo aka Sabah
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by microtony View Post
    No I bought it for around $80 (US$10).
    I tried to find the exact thing online but to no vail
    2014-06-07 21.52.11b.jpg
    Ok no worries... looks like a wide band antenna. but seems to help you for 1090mhz too.

  4. #134
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    VHHH
    Posts
    11
    Sorry I was very busy in the past month and so can only catch up now.

    Sadly TV and monitors in my home don't display the Rpi via HDMI port (the Rpi is fine at other places)....I will work on this but may be later (life still very hectic)...so meanwhile the PC continues uploading

    Quote Originally Posted by North Borneo Radar View Post
    There is a few choices of software to run for ARM computers now to decode adsb data. It is:

    1) dump1090 - guide available at this link: http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...e-to-feed-FR24 Peterhr is the guru in this.
    2) decodeadsb by John Carroll - work is ongoing to upgrade the software to run on debian instead of angstrom for Beagle bone platform. Supports Odroid U3 for high traffic areas. Link: http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...ll=1#post40171
    3) modesdeco by sergsero - google and you will find where to get it.
    4) FR24's own decoder software in BETA test.

    Most popular without doubt is dump1090. Method 1 is for RTL-SDR 820T dongles. Method 2 supports mode s beast and the dongles. Method 3 I am not entirely sure, definitely dongle but I think also can run on beast.

    By the way Dundee how is decodeadsb working for you at VHHH?

  5. #135
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by royng View Post
    Sorry I was very busy in the past month and so can only catch up now.

    Sadly TV and monitors in my home don't display the Rpi via HDMI port (the Rpi is fine at other places)....I will work on this but may be later (life still very hectic)...so meanwhile the PC continues uploading
    There is an analogue port too - you just need a cord with two RCA phono plus on it to use that

    (I've not tried it to see how well it works - but it's there)

  6. #136
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    VHHH
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    There is an analogue port too - you just need a cord with two RCA phono plus on it to use that

    (I've not tried it to see how well it works - but it's there)
    Thanks for the suggestion! I am not yet giving the HDMI port up!

  7. #137
    Purser
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    MY
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by royng View Post
    Thanks for the suggestion! I am not yet giving the HDMI port up!
    Hi, did you connect the HDMI first to your tv/monitor (powered) before powering up the RPi?
    Else could you try another HDMI cable and/or another power supply? (were you using the same power supply when it works elsewhere?)
    Last edited by who; 2014-07-04 at 12:00.

  8. #138
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by who View Post
    Hi, did you connect the HDMI first to your tv/monitor (powered) before powering up the RPi?
    Else could you try another HDMI cable and/or another power supply? (were you using the same power supply when it works elsewhere?)
    I plugged eveything together, powered on the Pi then did source selection in the TV to find it (having not paid any real attention to which socket it was in)

  9. #139
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    4
    I would like to know if I want to get myself a new antenna for better coverage, I should target for the range of the TV signal or 1090mzh?

    Thanks

  10. #140
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by VHHH29 View Post
    I would like to know if I want to get myself a new antenna for better coverage, I should target for the range of the TV signal or 1090mzh?

    Thanks
    Definitely get an antenna tuned to 1090Mhz - TV antennas are just wrong for this

    Have a look at http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...1-best-antenna on how to make your own (don't be afraid to ask what you would need for where you need to put the antenna)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •