Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: External power supplies for SBS3

  1. #1
    Purser DanTheMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    118

    Exclamation External power supplies for SBS3

    This is a report from Keith D who has requested that this information be shared with the wider community.

    ok
    now before i start this is not meant to be a slite on Chris at Kinetic in anyway
    as i have written to him re this and i am sure he posted in good faith

    but like many people would he has mis-interpreted the specs page for the unit he recommended
    as in this thread

    http://www.radarspotters.eu/forum/in...ic,7019.0.html

    now that states that it is a 2amp output
    well i did get sceptical about this as can be seen in that thread but was assured

    well today i went to Maplins to get one and asked what the true situation with it is
    and i didn't like the reply

    that Power supply is 1amp out of both sockets so according to Maplins if you have 2 X 1amp out that makes it a 2amp unit

    well i have never in all my years seen a claim like that and to be honest i find it dangerous and irresponsable
    as anyone could fall for that as being a 2amp out socket and its not.imagine if someone wanted 1.7Amp output
    and used that it would get very hot indeed, and the thing they attached it too wouldn't work properly either

    now there is some good news as i raised the above points with them and told them what i thoght of it all

    RESULT :-

    Guy goes to the display of USB power supplies disply and offers me this one :-

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/3.1a-usb-power-supply-629936

    now this is a totally different story for us with SBS3's but again they are printing false info on the box and on that page
    the box clearly shows :-

    3.1A Twin USB Power Supply

    well its one socket outlet is 2.1A and the second one is 1 Amp only

    so according to Maplins 1x 2.1A plus 1X 1 AMP ==== 3.1Amp Supply unit

    if you click on the specification tab on that URL you will see what i mean
    there you see the truth as against the written word on the box

    CONCLUSION

    i know have one of the "3.1A" Power supply units here

    the unit on the top which sadly is not shown on that webpage clearly has the output of the socket below
    clearly marked which is which i.e 2.1A above the socket we want 1amp above the other

    its been running for about 7 hours now and remains very cool as against my 1.1Amp Tom-Tom unit which
    was getting very warm[nearly hot] with 6 radios // basestation// 4 radios being Acars other 2radios digital streaming to my speakers
    this unit is just very slightly warmer to touch than my hand temp.

    so

    if you are off to Maplins in the near future for a power supply this one is the one you want
    and is currently cheaper than the one you don't want to the tune of 2 quid for the month of October

    You have been warned !!!!

    cheers for now

    Keith D.

    p.s if anyone wants to copy and paste this to another forum feel free i happen to think this is important to people who
    are not electronical savy.
    Dan.

    Compare all plane tracking receivers on one website.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,028
    I've not read this in detail (not being an SBS owner but a PC tech) and the link is dead, but FYI your standard PC is 500mA output on USBs. So would be supplying no more than 1A if using 2x USB cables to power a device (which is why often .750mA 2.5" hard drive enclosures need 2x cables to connect)

    USB3 is capable of 900mA however. So saying an external source needs more than 1, is more than sufficient in the case of powering PC devices.
    Last edited by Oblivian; 2012-10-10 at 23:01.

  3. #3
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,383
    Whats this post about? An advert for Maplins or Radarspotters?

    After using Google Translate, it appears Keith D's post is suggesting that the SBS-3 requires a 3A supply. I may be wrong as he does't explain himself too well.

    All I know is my SBS-3 has been running off a 1A (max 1.2A) mains adapter for 10 months and no problem. Nor have I seen anyone post on this, Kinetic's or my forum that they've had power supply problems.

    What surprises me most is that neither Keith D nor Dan have posted this on the Kinetic forum where I'd expect most SBS-3 users to visit?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  4. #4
    Purser DanTheMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    118
    Thanks for your comment Oblivian. I'll pass these on to Keith.
    Dan.

    Compare all plane tracking receivers on one website.

  5. #5
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,383
    Quote Originally Posted by DanTheMan View Post
    I'll pass these on to Keith.
    Perhaps you should post on the Kinetic forum too?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •