Page 60 of 71 FirstFirst ... 1050585960616270 ... LastLast
Results 591 to 600 of 707

Thread: Linux feeder software for Flightradar24 (Old software)

  1. #591
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    EGPD
    Posts
    46
    "As I understand it the new feeder talks directly to the dongle or receiving hardware, and feeds to FR24 only."

    How to win friends and influence people. That's a nice attitude to have.

    Do we get clarification on if there are other ports we can connect our other feeds to - if we went down this route, it would kill all the other feeds. Are you going to kill your older feeders by switching them off? Are you going to tell anyone? Do you even care? All this is going to do is loose you a substantial amount of data (maybe that's what you want).


    "unless it has port that these other feeders connect to. "

    That question was brought to their attention months ago and got ignored. So I think we've got or answer.


    Ah well, its been fun. If we have a choice of multi-feeding or FR24 only then I'll be continuing multi-feeding without FR24. At least the other people I feed to appreciate the time, effort and money I put in to give them my data.

  2. #592
    First officer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Close to Kimberley, South Africa
    Posts
    268
    If what is suspected, is indeed true and FR24 wants to "own" the data that comes from the dongle, without the option to feed to any other app, they can ready themselves to loose quite a lot of feeders. For instance, my data is piped out to VRS, ADSBScope and PlanePlotter locally. Each of these apps have some features I find useful that is not given by any of the other apps (like range, static tracks, max distance). So if speculation is correct, then I wont even be able to look at my own data on my own screens? Guess which "problematic" package will then get deleted ....

  3. #593
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Strangely there has been no response on this, I'll continue to run the software set I have
    * Dump1090
    * FR24-Feed
    * PiAware (the feeder for the nice people at FlightAware)
    * I did dry the PlaneFinder feeder - it worked but was very heavy on CPU an pig to install so discontinued it (built using NodeJS)

    If any one wants to discard my data or requests that I cease feeding them they can!

    (by the way, are there others I can feed with the simple setup?)

  4. #594
    First officer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Close to Kimberley, South Africa
    Posts
    268
    PeterHR, there is always RadarBox24... but they might also have feeders-a-plenty in your area.

  5. #595
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    T-YBBN30
    Posts
    234
    Maybe they've made changes already, they dont apparently want my data...
    tracked over 4 minutes (yeah I forget to moved the mouse out of screenshot area lol)
    adsb1.png

    adsb2.png

    after several minutes it appears courtesy of YBBN1
    Last edited by Ressy; 2014-10-21 at 11:24.

  6. #596
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    T-YBBN30
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by HermanZA View Post
    PeterHR, there is always RadarBox24... but they might also have feeders-a-plenty in your area.
    Those guys only offer windows feeders last I spoke to them, admittedly, this was beginning of year, have they found a real coder now?

  7. #597
    First officer
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Close to Kimberley, South Africa
    Posts
    268
    LoL @ Ressy.
    No idea... but I'm sure it can change. Else push it with PlanePlotters application, if you have a Windows box available.

  8. #598
    First officer
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    T-YBBN30
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by HermanZA View Post
    LoL @ Ressy.
    No idea... but I'm sure it can change. Else push it with PlanePlotters application, if you have a Windows box available.
    heh, no winblows boxes here, I enjoy linux stability on everything from phone, tablet, laptop and desktop, as well as local servers, all the adsb stuff is on a local file/DLNA server, so its 24/7 with UPS , and has plenty of grunt to spare.

    at 29c p/kwhr in power costs in my state in Australia, if it only ran adsb, I'd invest in a 5 watt RPi, but since I'm already burning copious kw's, cant be bothered

  9. #599
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    42
    I currently run dump1090 and the old feeder on rpi. After some hours my planes stop displaying on fr24 site despite it says ONLINE on the feeder and dump1090 in interactive mode continues to display planes.
    I've tried to run the new feeder and I still got an ONLINE status but neither one of "my planes" were displayed on FR24. What's wrong with both setups?

    PS. Both old and new feeder are saying ... sending 6 planes... sending n planes... pinging server....

  10. #600
    Super Moderator Amper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Delta Bravo Victor
    Posts
    742
    Quote Originally Posted by giacomo892 View Post
    I currently run dump1090 and the old feeder on rpi. After some hours my planes stop displaying on fr24 site despite it says ONLINE on the feeder and dump1090 in interactive mode continues to display planes.
    I've tried to run the new feeder and I still got an ONLINE status but neither one of "my planes" were displayed on FR24. What's wrong with both setups?

    PS. Both old and new feeder are saying ... sending 6 planes... sending n planes... pinging server....
    Are those planes shown by any other radar?
    For official support use Contact Form

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •