Page 54 of 71 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664 ... LastLast
Results 531 to 540 of 707

Thread: Linux feeder software for Flightradar24 (Old software)

  1. #531
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    A very quick word - I've tried the current RPi setup on the new RPi B+ (the one with 4 USB ports).

    The old release of Wheezy doesn't enable the USB device (that also means the network since that runs through USB). If you're itching to buy a Pi to start feeding, buy the old model - if you can wait a week or two for operating systems (besides noobs) to be released - then wait.

  2. #532
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    5 km NE of EHEH
    Posts
    52
    Got some strange effect using the Raspberry Pi software. For some reason the heading and speed are not changed on the FR24 site. The output of dump1090 is OK. For images see thread: forum.flightradar24.com/threads/6133-Raspberry-Pi-type-B-DVB-T-Dongle-to-feed-FR24/page74 post #735 and #737. Any solutions?

  3. #533
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    T-KISP3 (Office)
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    Do you give the world access to an unlocked screen on your windows PC?

    If you are using the Pi in the way described here http://forum.flightradar24.com/threa...e-to-feed-FR24 - then it does a few things that are insecure.

    we run the software as root - we could create a user level account and run the software from there (see http://www.debian-administration.org...ding_new_users )
    we have not changed the root password

    I admit I haven't bothered much with the security - I see the Pi feeder as a tool to do a specific job not as a multi-function multi-user machine, If I had another task that needs running I would get another Pi (interestingly I have Pi B+ with 4 USB ports on order, delivery tomorrow)

    it would probably be better in the first instance that we ensured that the world don't get the access on the Pi they require to run 'ps' in the first place, if they do get that level of access, they can probably read the scripts and the keyfile.
    My RasPi is accessible only to me so there is no issue of someone getting at my setup. However, it is certainly possible that someone less fortunate might have the information exposed. I am not a fan of security by obscurity having worked in IT almost 30 years so it is just a reflexive action on my part when I see holes. When I see an exposed *nix command line in "ps", it reminds me of this old rec.humor.funny posting from back in 1996 of a "ps" display (see http://www.netfunny.com/rhf/jokes/96/Dec/rn.html):
    Code:
    Should we tell morse that he does not have to specify a newsgroup
    when he fires up rn? :-)
    
      2:32pm  up 6 days, 21:32,  7 users,  load average: 0.31, 0.65, 0.34
    User     tty       login@  idle   JCPU   PCPU  what
    jda      console  11:02am  3:29   9:10   9:07  xterm -sb -bg navy -bd purple -m
    jda      ttyp0     2:24pm            1         w 
    jda      ttyp1    11:03am     1      1         -sh 
    jda      ttyp2    11:03am  2:00                -sh 
    mark     ttyp3    Mon 5pm    44   9:56     19  /usr/local/bin/less 
    jda      ttyp4    11:04am     5      1         -sh 
    morse    ttyp5    12:57pm  1:31      2      2  rn alt.sex.incest
    T-KISP3 feeder covering KFRG and KISP airports on Long Island.

  4. #534
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    A lot of the reason for putting the instructions as they are is to make it as simple as possible for someone who doesn't know Linux to get a system up and running

    If someone wants to change the password on their Pi the command is passwd - just answer the questions (probably a good idea to do this if other people can access your network)

    To create a new user do adduser username
    answer the questions

    move the feeder & dump1090 to the new user
    list crontab contents to the newuser
    change all file ownerships to be owned by the new user

    mv * /home/username
    crontab -l /home/username/cron.txt
    chown -R username:username /home/username/*

    now do crontab -e and remove all the stuff from root crontab

    logon as the new user and load the saved cron entries into crontab
    do crontab <cron.txt

    restart the feeder.

    That should do it (note though ... I've not tried this)
    ----------------------------------------------------
    30 years ago was when DNS was introduced - surely alt.sex was just one of those new fangled domain names like com. and gov.
    Last edited by peterhr; 2014-07-19 at 15:50.

  5. #535
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    5 km NE of EHEH
    Posts
    52
    @aardvark (must be Dutch...)
    The root password should be changed on first use! I agree on that one.
    I made a new 'non-root' extra user but I am wondering if that increases or decreases security. My own security wrt f***ing up things in the OS: yes. For the outside world an extra user means an extra entry to the system and thus extra vulnarability.

  6. #536
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrie45 View Post
    @aardvark (must be Dutch...)
    The root password should be changed on first use! I agree on that one.
    I made a new 'non-root' extra user but I am wondering if that increases or decreases security. My own security wrt f***ing up things in the OS: yes. For the outside world an extra user means an extra entry to the system and thus extra vulnarability.
    but if someone finds a way to do a url hack on dump1090 web page (if published), it's not running trusted ?

  7. #537
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    5 km NE of EHEH
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by peterhr View Post
    but if someone finds a way to do a url hack on dump1090 web page (if published), it's not running trusted ?
    In fact you are running a web server (T-EGBB19) that is accessible from the outside. For that more complex security precautions apply. To name one: buffer overrun attacks.

  8. #538
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    5 km NE of EHEH
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrie45 View Post
    Got some strange effect using the Raspberry Pi software. For some reason the heading and speed are not changed on the FR24 site. The output of dump1090 is OK. For images see thread: forum.flightradar24.com/threads/6133-Raspberry-Pi-type-B-DVB-T-Dongle-to-feed-FR24/page74 post #735 and #737. Any solutions?
    I found out that dump1090 does not output any TCP30003 message carrying speed and track when the plane has landed.
    See some (1-plane filtered) output here.
    -1 at the end of line means: on ground

  9. #539
    Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dudley area, UK
    Posts
    1,410
    see this page http://www.satsignal.eu/raspberry-pi/dump1090.html (includes and email address for Malcolm Rob)
    make sure you are running the latest version of dump1090 (just a few days old - always do keep the prior version, just in case)

  10. #540
    Passenger koro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    EBAW
    Posts
    30
    LOWL1,

    Any succes yet?

    I have the same configuration, and don't know how to start?


    Quote Originally Posted by LOWL1 View Post
    hello to all!

    my situation:
    SBS-3 only connectet to lan
    Raspberry Pi also connected to lan.
    no usb or serial connections

    what i want:
    feed my data from sbs-3 with my raspberry pi to fr24 without usb or serial connection.

    what i have installed to my raspberry pi:
    remserial 1.4, to create a virtual serial port to my sbs-3
    adsbox(-latest), for decoding
    fr24feed_arm-le_225s, to feed the data

    1st ssh window (192.168.170 is my sbs3, remserial1 is the virtual serial port):
    pi@raspberrypi /etc/fr24/remserial $ sudo ./remserial -r 192.168.0.170 -p 10001 -l /dev/remserial1 /dev/ptmx &
    [1] 2014
    pi@raspberrypi /etc/fr24/remserial $
    =>serial port is running

    2nd ssh window:
    pi@raspberrypi /etc/fr24/adsbox sudo ./adsbox -s /dev/remserial1 --baud 3000000 -l 48.2300 -g 14.1800
    adsbox ADS-B decoder version 20120728.
    Your lat 48.23000 lon 14.18000
    Init database.
    Using /dev/remserial1 as input serial device.
    Run SBS-1 data server on port 30003
    Run HTTP server on port 8080

    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:10
    DF:1
    DF:10
    DF:10

    =>seems to connect but no plane data. when i connect with basestation lots of planes are shown.

    3rd ssh window:
    pi@raspberrypi /etc/fr24 $ ./fr24-225s --fr24key=xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    [i]FR24Feed v225 - built on Oct 8 2012/09:38:58
    [i]Downloading configuration...OK
    [i]Parsing configuration...OK
    [c]Interval: 5s
    [c]Latitude: 48.2300
    [c]Longitude: 14.1800
    [c]GND: YES
    [c]NonADSB: YES
    [i]Source defined as Basestation
    [b]connecting to localhost:30003
    [b]connected
    [b]working
    [n]LOWL1@83.140.247.21:8099/UDP
    [n]connecting
    [n]connected
    [n]switching to UDP
    [n]working
    [n]ping
    [n]ping

    =>no data sending, because of no data from adsbox

    i killed the remserial process (2014) an made a telnet to my sbs-3 port 10001:
    telnet 192.168.0.170 10001 and strange data appeared:
    E????`/?K?إL?(0`^?;?xd?HA?h???"??:>;?;?;?????}0???<I&?~?? <I&??mg???`/?K?u??? 0?E?N??;???(?BI?
    6?ᠾo6???7?Q0??|k???W8???K?h?b????~k:
    ?E?NQ?;?;?;?dQ?
    ???`/d?<2\;?;?;???? ?K??o;??A????8???WǓ??a??K?A?W?;?;???? ?Dz??w;??f????j)L???;?;?;?????D?? 8);??c?(
    K??y<n?]K???;?;?;?=??<Q??;?;??????5#5 ?PlE?;?;?????.u??????[?E? ?$\`
    ?G?;?;?;?;?3 ?gV??;?;?;?x?? ?@
    ????.
    D?UM;?G?? ?H?
    ?/;?U'?(L?M
    ??I;?;?;?;??D? Pr?`"?;?;?I? ;?;?;??:?(L?M?PE?($@
    D?q0;?|? ?Dz?o~;??n]<dF??;? ?]9F???;??5?@fo?E????;?;?ug_Dz?߱T??@dY???2;?;????@f? E????P;?;?;?;??]<Mg??;?;??? ?L?M?;?;???
    L?eq
    ;?;?j?
    ?<Q8P??
    (L?M??;?;?;?;?;?;?;?V?(?L?e?#?w?@
    ՙE? ??;?;??u?9F?`?Qy?7?;?;??S&yA%??!;???9F?s??mI;????D ?`??7I??y???D??W?$?8??0?y?$ DX??N]@dY?;?>? ?Dz??(;?;?w????S?-?DX??;? J]F???1;?;??????8DX*;?;?;?;?;?;?;?;?;?;?;?c%?<I&???? ????;?;?;?.X ?K??X???`??;??? ?E?N?!;?t!(?K?]?2*!?8?80<dF?A?P!(E?N?;?;??b"?<dF ?7`8 ?v;?8Y#(E?Nf?;?;?;?;?;?@?%(E?N???% ?.???
    &?$??0 dF6l;?

    any idea what i have done wrong?
    please help!
    Ken
    Near EBAW

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •