Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: cable prob?

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    7

    cable prob?

    just added 15m more cable rg 174 , was going to put antenna up on the roof , tested it all out at ground level and im getting well less coverage around 50km where as before the extra cable i was getting around 150km, any ideas?

  2. #2
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,384
    Wrong type of cable.

    You need low loss coax (expensive) such as Ecoflex 10 or 15.

    http://www.diodecomms.co.uk/product_...products_id=28
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  3. #3
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    ADS-B uses very high frequency (1090 mhz) so there is a quite heavy loss of signal if use a long (or bad) cable. To minimize signal loss you need to use a heavy and expensive cable (Ecoflex 10 or 15 that was mentioned earlier is very good). If you use more than 10-15 meters you should think about using a signal amplifier.

  4. #4
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    7
    this is the cable i got http://www.radioworld.co.uk/catalog/...4be451463330d1

    any idea on what sort of signal amplifier would be good?

  5. #5
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    I would not use that cable, sorry to say it, but it's really crap. An Amplifier will help you a bit, but you will loose lot's of signal with that cable anyway.
    30 db - http://www.kuhne-electronic.de/en/pr...na-1090-a.html
    12 db - http://www.airbandonline.co.uk/viradac_a12-1090.htm

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    7
    thanks mike, thanks anmer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •