Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48

Thread: Online - No Data after moving my setup

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    29

    Exclamation Online - No Data after moving my setup

    Hi fellows,

    I had my setup installed on a temporary place for 20 days, just like the photo, on my desk.
    IMG_20191001_145000.jpg

    Have been tracking around 200 to 260 aircrafts daily with range up to 170nm, but with a great restriction on line of sight.
    fr24 a.jpg

    Yesterday I moved the antenna to the roof and the raspberry to the attic.
    IMG_20191001_170923.jpg
    IMG_20191001_170942.jpg

    After all, I have no data being sent.
    fr24 b.jpg
    What kind of tests can I run to solve the issue?
    Also, I´ve noticed a lot of down time as shown in the daily availability. Maybe wifi problem?

    I very newbie to raspberry and hope to get some help.

    Thanks a lot.
    SBNF
    Brazil

    My setup:
    Raspberry pi 3B+ with a iphoenix Case
    FlightAware 1090 MHz ADS-B Antenna - 66 cm / 26 in
    FlightAware Pro Stick Plus FA-PROSTICKPLUS-1 ADS-B USB Receiver with Built-in Filter
    and 10m cable

  2. #2
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    870
    That pattern often doesn't mean that the feed isn't working.

    You can try if adding these options helps:
    use-http=yes
    http-timeout=20

    Use this command to edit the options:
    sudo nano /etc/fr24feed.ini

    Add the 2 lines at the bottom:
    use-http=yes
    http-timeout=20

    Ctrl-O and enter to save, Ctrl-X to exit.
    Then do a reboot
    sudo reboot

    One user here could never quite figure out the problem and his network connection wasn't the issue.

    You might want to have some independent statistics as those you showed don't work.
    https://github.com/wiedehopf/graphs1090#graphs1090

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    29
    no luck.
    I´ll back to the roof and recheck the antenna conections.
    the graphs only show cpu memory and such. All other adsb functions won´t open.
    fr24.jpg

  4. #4
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    London(between LHR and LGW)
    Posts
    21
    Run this command and have look what is actually happening on your RasPi
    sudo journalctl -n 400 --no-pager

  5. #5
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    870
    fr24feed doesn't log to the system log, so journalctl is of limited use.

    Hmm, if you want to make the graphs work install this, you'll have a nicer local web interface as well:
    https://github.com/wiedehopf/adsb-sc...for-dump1090fa

    You might have to re-run the graphs install script as well after changing to dump1090-fa.


    I doubt very much that it's any kind of antenna issue.
    It's probably just the FR24 servers acting up.

    Let's check which version you are running:
    fr24feed --help | grep Version
    Last edited by wiedehopf; 2019-10-02 at 17:37.

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    29
    I guess about the antenna because the problem started after I moved it.

    fr24.jpg

  7. #7
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    870
    After installing dump1090-fa as shown in the previous post, you can check the log for that, it's much easier to handle than the fr24feed log.

    The log for that:
    sudo journalctl --no-pager -u dump1090-fa

    Otherwise the easiest way to check the fr24feed log is actually:
    sudo systemctl stop fr24feed
    sudo fr24feed

    It will now run on the console and you can see the log.
    If you are done, you'll need to stop it and restart the service:
    Ctrl-C to interrupt
    sudo systemctl restart fr24feed

    Obviously this isn't a permanent solution to check the logs, but it might show if the problem appears immediately.

    Might be a power supply problem if the dongle stopped working, can you try another power supply?
    Is the dongle plugged in directly? You can try another USB port.

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    29
    is there a problem if the antenna is in the same pole of the tv antenna?

  9. #9
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    870
    If you get the graphs going as suggested, it'll be much easier to see where the issue is.

    Just guessing won't help.

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    29
    got this installing as requested

    sed: não foi possível abrir o arquivo temporário /etc/default/sedB3691K: Permissão negada
    sed: não foi possível abrir o arquivo temporário /etc/default/sedBIixaK: Permissão negada

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •