Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to the site, and interested in getting set up.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the site, and interested in getting set up.

Hi Everyone,

I'm a new member to the forums and I hope I am posting in the right place. I am a TOTAL beginner, but I have really enjoyed watching aircraft on FlightRadar 24 for some time. In my part of the world, the coverage is quite poor and thought it would be really cool to help enhance the network, as well as see aircraft in my immediate vicinity.

I would really appreciate any and all advice you could give me on what specific equipment I would need to make this happen. As I said, I am a total beginner, and do not know the first thing about equipment needs to track planes, and where I might find said equipment. I do have a Mac Book Pro, so I guess that's a start! Any rough pricing information would also be helpful, as I am a teacher and need to be careful what I spend, or else I'll hear it from the wife.

I really appreciate the help here, and hopefully I can add to the coverage if I can get this up and running.

All the best,

Chris

http://www.flightradar24.com/#!/increase_coverage.php is a good starting point

There is different pricing and quality of ADSB receivers. Ranging from as low as 60Euro, up to many hundered

Some to consider:
    MicroADSB USB stick
    MiniADSB
    Mode-S Beast/Transponder Mouse
    Kinetic BaseStation + SBS Series
    PlaneGadget Radar

A quick google will send you off to pages relating to them.

Then there is free software that you can use to display locally and then upload to FR24. Or Paid apps like PlanePlotter
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

Comment

Have a read of these:

The world’s most popular flight tracker. Track planes in real-time on our flight tracker map and get up-to-date flight status & airport information.

Mike

www.radarspotting.com