Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: What technique uses LKPR ?

  1. #1
    Flight attendant controller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wiesbaden, EDDF, Germany
    Posts
    67

    Question What technique uses LKPR ?

    Hy,

    Im looking at the range of some radars.

    One Station LKPR has a huge range : LKPR

    The radius must be more than 200 km !!

    What technique do you use ????

    Ralph

  2. #2
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,380
    I'm not LKPR but I've had a max range of 256 nm, or 471 km.

    ModeS is line of sight and with a good antenna, mounted high and no obstacles to block the view, 200 nm (368 km) is typical for me. Just grabbed this screenshot:

    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  3. #3
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    All radars are using the same technuique. The coverage is all about good antenna location.
    If you look at Malta radar the coverage is up to Albania/Greece in north east (about 550 km). But only about 250 km in south direction. So the visibilty is a lot better i north east direction than south direction (from the antenna).

  4. #4
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    FR24 Feeder
    Posts
    1,232
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    I'm not LKPR but I've had a max range of 256 nm, or 471 km.
    What plane tracking product receiver do you use to get that range ? Kinetic Avionics SBS-1 ?

  5. #5
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,380
    SBS-1eR. Slightly better range than my RadarBox.

    Comparisons here
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    21
    And what about cables? How long are they and where do you buy them? Do they have significant loss?

    And another thing, can somebody provide a photo of the region around the antenna, taken from where it is, the position etc?

  7. #7
    Flight attendant controller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wiesbaden, EDDF, Germany
    Posts
    67
    Hy,

    does someone of you use an amplifier ?

    Is it the money worth ?

    Ralph
    Last edited by controller; 2010-05-31 at 18:47.

  8. #8
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    FR24 Feeder
    Posts
    1,232
    I'm using this ADS-B Vertical Outdoor Model Antenna. No amplifier needed!
    http://www.dpdproductions.com/page_vhf_air.html#adsbout

    Kinetic-avionics.co.uk Forums - DPD Productions Antenna - Reviews
    http://www.kinetic-avionics.co.uk/fo...php?f=1&t=9987
    http://radarspotters.eu/forum/index....pic,454.0.html

  9. #9
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,380
    My setup can be found here - with photos etc:
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  10. #10
    First officer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by controller View Post
    Hy,
    does someone of you use an amplifier ?
    Is it the money worth ?
    Ralph
    Hi,
    yes, I'm using a GP-1090 with preamplifier with good low loss cable. (and it works nice). Even 2m of cable less shows a difference.
    As I get many msg's by reflections in the alps the result is depending on the weather. A lot of trees around.
    Last edited by Charky; 2010-06-02 at 15:51.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •