Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Animate aircraft

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Animate aircraft

    What does this option do? I can't see any animation whatsoever. Is it working only on some platforms?

    Xawery

  2. #2
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    Animations are not turned on yet, should go live within 72 hours

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Widnes, England
    Posts
    2

    Now I know....

    I am new to the forum but have been using FR24 for a few months now, I turned on about an hour ago and saw the aircraft moving in a different way, now I know what's going on
    Great feature.
    Born-again 'spotter.

    I have a good memory, just can't remember where I left it.

  4. #4
    Purser Ger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    EHAM / AMS
    Posts
    116
    Just opened FR24 and airplanes move around in a fluid motion and works fine with Google Chrome. What an improvement.

    Rgds, Ger

  5. #5
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    The Planes are now bobbing around on the screen

    Hi

    I have been using this fantastic site for about 2 months now. Normally when I look at the main page the aircraft icons are fairly static and then update their positions every 20 seconds or so.
    This morning for the first time they are bobbing about on the screen and actually moving in real time which is so much better.

    Has something changed with the software of the site or is it something to do with my end such as my connection speed?

    I must admit I like it with this "real time movement " effect

    Mike

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1
    I have noticed that too for the first time today.
    I like it much more this way.
    Well done for the continuous upgrades to this wonderful site.

    Joseph

  7. #7
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    19
    this is fantastic news , live updates

  8. #8
    Super Moderator speedbird1960's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Runcorn / LPL
    Posts
    1,877
    Handy feature if want to watch an Aircraft on approach as you don't have to wait for its position to update.

    I have switched 'animate aircraft' off as i find it is running my CPU at 50% and i have a dual core 7GB. processor. ( I switched off labels and CPU usage dropped by 10% )

    Mike / Speedbird

  9. #9
    Team FR24
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    182
    Animated aircraft are using quite a lot of CPU, but as speedbird wrote, it's possible to turn off the animation. Positions are now updated every 8 second, instead of every 12 second before.

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    BHX
    Posts
    3
    Would be nice to have an option to display trails for all aircraft in view as well. Is this feasible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •