Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 77

Thread: Start of my RPi journey

  1. #31
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    Just get Raspbian Buster Lite running on your RPi and familiarize yourself how to use Putty to connect to it.

    Here you get the image, choose the Lite image: https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/raspbian/

    If you are starting without keyboard/screen connected, you can use step3 here https://www.raspberrypi.org/document...te-access/ssh/ to enable SSH.
    It's easiest to start using a Ethernet cable. After switching on the RPi, you'll need to check the router to find out the IP address.
    Then connect as explained here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/document...ssh/windows.md

    After having connected, you can use raspi-config to further configure the Pi: https://www.raspberrypi.org/document...aspi-config.md

    Now you should be ready to install feed software
    Thanks wiedehopf, much appreciated advice. I will get the little guy working to the point before loading the traffic feeds and during this months wait, get my 1090MHz antenna built. Feels like waiting for Christmas..

  2. #32
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    93
    I received my flightaware pro stick plus today. What fitting do I need to convert the sma? on the pro stick to connect to the RG6 coax. Looks very small, so maybe an adaptor of some sort.

  3. #33
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,851
    Last edited by abcd567; 2019-10-10 at 10:16.

  4. #34
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by abcd567 View Post
    Thanks for info. To get stuff here from Ebay-China, takes a few months. So, while more expensive, I will visit my local radio parts place tomorrow and see what I can find. I plan to build the little 4 leg spider on the SO239, then connect it to the flightaware pro stick with about 2 metres of RG6 to prove concept.

  5. #35
    Flight attendant magnum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    35 miles west of FRA
    Posts
    89
    It does not need to be such a pigtail.

    I am using such a connector and it works without issues.

    https://www.amazon.com/DHT-Electroni...0733711&sr=8-4

  6. #36
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,851
    Yes, an adaptor can be used instead of a pigtail, but the pull of heavy RG6 on the delicate connector of dongle can cause damage. By using a thin pigtail, the mechanical stress on SMA connector of dongle is reduced.

    Pigtail F-female to SMA-male.png . . Adaptor F-female to SMA-male.jpg

    Please read the comment on the image of pigtail I have posted above, and which says "Additional Benefit: Flexibility"

  7. #37
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    93
    OK, I understand the benefits of the pigtail. When the Flightaware pro stick arrived, I thought it appeared to be a tad delicate. I can imagine the RG6 has a lot of momentum unless somehow locked into the same plane as the pro stick. If I try and source materials here is OZ, I maybe restricted in choice. I will visit my local radio parts shop and see what I can find. https://www.jaycar.com.au/search/?q=...vance&show=All Maybe a few hours searching may reveal other sources.

    My thoughts were to use a SO239 as the antenna base and work down from there through the RG6 to the sma prostick. Maybe I need to rethink the antenna and build the cantenna?
    Last edited by POR911; 2019-10-10 at 23:13.

  8. #38
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,851
    Try this one first. You can built one with SO239 later:

    QUICK SPIDER, No Soldering Required, No SO239 Connector Required.

    Quick Spider.jpg

  9. #39
    Flight attendant
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    93
    Agree abc, that one will do nicely. So, does this version connect to the F female in the pigtale?

  10. #40
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,851
    Yes, the Quick Spider is built using RG6 coax, and the connector at its receiver end is twist-on F-male. It will fit nicely any F-female connector (same as you use to hookup RG6 coax to you TV or satellite box). Please see the photo below

    Stuff Required
    Quick Spider - Stuff Required.jpg
    Last edited by abcd567; 2019-10-11 at 02:27.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •