Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: RTL-SDR Blog V3 Dongle problem

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    20

    RTL-SDR Blog V3 Dongle problem

    Hi

    I have been happily feeding FR24 data for a few months using a very cheap, generic dingle. My range is constantly about 75NM despite the using several differing aerials. In an attempt to improve my coverage I have bought and installed an RTL-SDR Blog V3 dongle; my coverage has now all but vanished.

    Often the status on my dashboard shows as "Online - No Data" and when it seems to be running without issue I only get very few hits and no increase in positions received.

    The aerial connection seems good, which I have tested by running the dongle with SDR software. It works well and looses reception as I unplug the aerial, suggesting that there is no problem.

    I guess that I don't have to make any configuration changes when moving to the RTL-SDR dongle? Any suggestions as to what my problem may be, or things I can try?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,862
    You dont have to change fr24feed / Pi24 configuration if you change from generic DVB-T dongle to rtl-sdr blog v3 dongle.

    In fact rtl-sdr blog v3 dongle is basically a generic dvb-t with some enhancements to improve performance. These enhancements do NOT affect settings of Pi24 / fr24feed.

    rtlsdr_v3_better5.jpg

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    20
    So can you make any suggestions as to what my problem may be, or what I can do to try and isolate the issue, please?

  4. #4
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,862
    Issue may be 5V DC Power Supply. Try another power supply.

    How many amperes is the rating of DC 5V adaptor? Which model of R Pi you are using?

  5. #5
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    1
    Looks similar to my recent situation. Are you also using the RTL-SDR LNA/filter? If so, you'll probably need to activate the power feed from the dongle to the LNA
    The instructions here solved it for me:
    forum_DOT_flightradar24_DOT_com/threads/11826-RTl_SDR-v3-bias-tee-power-on-off?p=104563&viewfull=1#post104563 (I cannot post links yet, so sorry about the mangled URL)

  6. #6
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,862
    Robertsona:
    ThePhoenix:

    I dont think ThePhoenix is using a LNA and needs v3 dongle's built-in biast to be swithched on, but in case he is using a LNA, here is the unmangled url:

    RTl_SDR v3 bias tee power on/off

    Please note this method applies to Pi24 image only. It does not apply if one has written Raspbian image, then installed fr24feed package by bash script. For that type of install there are different methods, one for dump1090-mutability, and another for dump1090-fa
    Last edited by abcd567; 2019-08-07 at 00:45.

  7. #7
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,862
    ThePhoenix:

    Did you try another 5V DC power supply?

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    20
    I'm still at work at the moment and will not be home for a couple of hours. But in the meantime:

    Thank you Robertsona, but as abcd567 deduced I am not using a LNA/filter. I will be trying another 5V supply when I get home. I will also be checking that i don't have a duff SMA adapter. The device is a Pi Zero.

    Just in case it informs the debugging; I have just checked my stats and it seems that today if I have c250 positions reported at a maximum range of 6nm, so it is working of a fashion.

    I'll report back this evening.

  9. #9
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    868
    Yeah, either it's insufficient power or the SMA adapter.

    What does it adapt to anyway?

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    What does it adapt to anyway?
    An F Connector

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •