Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 51

Thread: Transferred from windows to Pi - different code

  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    I think you should be focusing on ensuring you have the right receiver/device type before replacing the feeder software - it shouldn't be reading 0

    Depending on the method first setup it should have been fire and forget.
    Host/IP should have been left blank per your earlier shot. Unless you followed some instructions and it is now only partly configured for one method while installing the other (IE type Beast-TCP IP/Port localhost:30005 instead)

    Can you go back and answer the previous questions

    https://forum.flightradar24.com/thre...l=1#post123533

    First things first. Which instructions did you use to image the device. A guide here, or the very vague website ones? Some have additional steps that may have changed the way things work depending on which you follow.

    Your best method for diagnosis. Is turn on logging. Or stop the feeder. And start it while watching full output for errors.

    sudo systemctl stop fr24feed
    sudo fr24feed

    ctrl-z will cancel it once you see whats wrong. Chances are, it will be reporting error -6 because dump1090 has crashed and still running. A reboot and then re-checking the status is the best way to confirm this.

    https://forum.flightradar24.com/thre...ll=1#post74834
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  2. #12
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    699
    747skipper:

    Most likely you are having a problem with IPv6.

    Use these commands and run the install script again, hopefully it works this time.

    Code:
    sudo sysctl -w net.ipv6.conf.all.disable_ipv6=1
    sudo sysctl -w net.ipv6.conf.default.disable_ipv6=1
    Try the install script a few times if it doesn't work at first, maybe the connection is just intermittent.


    Oblivian: The install script fixes the fr24feed configuration and sets it to beast-tcp and assigns correct host and port.
    But this configuration wasn't yet changed because there were errors install dump1090-fa.

    If you want to move stuff to a new thread, maybe just put the username in the thread title
    Anyway thanks for the efforts i'll shut up now and let you do as you wish!

  3. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    747skipper:


    Oblivian: The install script fixes the fr24feed configuration and sets it to beast-tcp and assigns correct host and port.
    But this configuration wasn't yet changed because there were errors install dump1090-fa.
    !
    That may be.

    But his first image - no port is set, just DVBT.

    And the current one, DVBT and a port/IP of 30002 set

    And we know how well that works.

    So without knowing still what instructions were used to set it up. It may well have been the Mutability install ABCD did, and it's running as a service (being busted when going DVBT again)

    I know yours will likely fix that, but we still don't know if its actually a DVBT/SDR either.
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  4. #14
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    699
    Oblivian:

    He mentioned somewhere he's running an rtl2822 and tested that stick on windows to confirm it's working with the aerial.
    I assume somehow fr24feed failed to install dump1090 (he mentioned package install).

    Maybe that failure was already due to apt install or wget not working due to the name resolution problems he is having.

    Anyway i've changed my script to eliminate http:// and @ from the output, so if people post it you don't need to change as much to Rhubarb in the future.
    I was quite confused and looked for apt error with Rhubarb in the error output, the theme being very raspberry like i suspected a clone of Raspbian or something
    The pi@pi on the command line though is something i can't fix :/

  5. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Ahh yep, RTL2382 mention was buried in there too.

    To be fair I often skip most the extra stuff unless its pretty clear in short n sweet details (kinda why I requested a short checklist template to get it out front first)

    I've tried to add 'dont use @s' in as many places as I can. But still occurs.

    Ones you can't remove in the result or in-line (if they include the command run)?

    A regex match should be able to null it if a result. or a charshift 6-rightor similar
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  6. #16
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    699
    The problem is the start of the command line at the front. (pi@raspberrypi:~ $)

    I'll just clear the console, that should do it.
    But often the following command line is posted as well.
    Still less offending stuff.

    Most of the time they don't need to post the output of that script anyway as it usually works

  7. #17
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    24
    wiedehopf:
    I have since tried the manual installation and all went well (although VERY slowly at times) until the last line:

    sudo apt install -y dump1090-fa

    When it reported it could not find dump1090-fa

    Any thoughts?
    D

  8. #18
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    699
    This command needs to work first:

    sudo apt update

    It won't find dump1090-fa otherwise.

    Have you tried disabling IPv6 like i suggested?
    Code:
    sudo sysctl -w net.ipv6.conf.all.disable_ipv6=1
    sudo sysctl -w net.ipv6.conf.default.disable_ipv6=1
    Then try my script again.
    Last edited by wiedehopf; 2019-07-21 at 12:18.

  9. #19
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    24
    Oblivian:

    Reason I can't tell you what install package I used is because there are so many confusing different posts.

    Can you give me a link to a Raspberry pi suitable image for the SD card and I'll start again.

    I'm using the same stick I have uses successfully under
    Windows before I was forced to Linux.
    When in Windows it is reported as RTL2832U

    I'll start again from the top with what ever package you recommend.
    Regards
    David

  10. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Quote Originally Posted by 747skipper View Post
    Oblivian:

    Reason I can't tell you what install package I used is because there are so many confusing different posts.

    Can you give me a link to a Raspberry pi suitable image for the SD card and I'll start again.

    I'm using the same stick I have uses successfully under
    Windows before I was forced to Linux.
    When in Windows it is reported as RTL2832U

    I'll start again from the top with what ever package you recommend.
    Regards
    David
    That may be.

    But you either followed someone's instructions.

    And did lots of manual steps.

    Or applied an automated image via fr24s website. Which is about 3 steps.

    Both have very different outcomes

    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •