Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very Dim Newbie v What Am I Seeing

Hi all,

I am extremely new to all this FR24 stuff (actually < 24hrs) and I am pretty clueless as far as Raspberry Pi and related things are concerned. I don't even know what a 'sudo' is, so you have to assume pond life if you are kind enough to answer my question.

I bought a Raspberry Pi 3B+. I loaded NOOBS and then the Raspbian software and actually got the whole thing to work, with it being plugged into my TV via HDMI. I had seen SSH mentioned before I did any of this and, after Googling what SSH was, I enabled it on my Pi. Good so far...ish

Next I followed the instructions on the FR24 website for downloading Pi24 and 'flashing' it to the SD card using Etcher. When I put the card back into the Pi and re-booted the FR24 screen came up but it didn't see my ADSB dongle. I have the Flight Aware Pro plugged into the Raspberry Pi. Somehow (a LOT more luck than judgement) I managed to SSH into my Raspberry Pi and typed the code as instructed on the FR24 page. That worked and I filled in all the necessary data and, long story short, actually managed to get all up and running.

I've been awarded a business account and if I go into the data it shows that I've seen some aircraft and their ranges. The weather here is pretty horrible at the moment (south of Perth in Western Australia) so I'm not going to see and light aircraft etc for the next few days but I believe my set up has seen some of the traffic for Perth and yesterday evening I am told it saw an aircraft at 168nm

The reason I say all of this because I think all my stuff is working okay. The Pi, dongle etc are now in a cupboard upstairs in my house and not connected to a TV but the Pi is plugged into an ethernet port.