Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Airnav Radar Box Feeder

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down Airnav Radar Box Feeder

    Was using my airnavradarbox and the windows feeder but my PC Failed a while ago. I have just obtained a old windows PC to start feeding again and I notice that there is no Windows software available for this. I see this has been discontinued. Anyone Know how I can feed while using my airnavradarbox Hardware ? The only software for the airnav radarbox is Windows.

  2. #2
    First officer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by wobble View Post
    Was using my airnavradarbox and the windows feeder but my PC Failed a while ago. I have just obtained a old windows PC to start feeding again and I notice that there is no Windows software available for this. I see this has been discontinued. Anyone Know how I can feed while using my airnavradarbox Hardware ? The only software for the airnav radarbox is Windows.
    Why bother? You've obviously done without FR24 for a while, why go to the effort now?

  3. #3
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    742
    Not sure it is possible anymore because the radarbox doesn't supply the raw data it receives.

    If you want to feed the best solution is probably to get yourself a Raspberry Pi and DVB-T stick (for example rtl-sdr blog v3).
    Maybe you can reuse the antenna if you don't use it for the radarbox anymore.

  4. #4
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    What were your fr24feeder settings when it was on old pc?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,002
    Quote Originally Posted by abcd567 View Post
    What were your fr24feeder settings when it was on old pc?
    Most these guys were using the pre console version BS out 30003 feeder from memory.

    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  6. #6
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    Ok I will install AirNav software on my windows PC and use DVB-T dongle as hardware. I have successfully done this more than a year ago just for test, then uninstalled it.

    I will then change configuration of fr24feed on RPi from
    Beast, 127.0.0.1:30005
    to
    Basestation, 192.168.0.10:30003
    (192.168.0.10 is local IP of my Windows Desktop).

    Let us see if this succeeds.

    Here is screenshot of my previous AirNav software using DVB-T. The DVB-T was detected by AirNav software as "microRB".

    Last edited by abcd567; 2019-05-17 at 02:52.

  7. #7
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    (1) Plugged in DVB-T to Windows computer (had its driver zadig already installed earlier).

    (2) On Windows computer installed AirNav 6.02.003

    (3) In Windows firewall, created new "inbound rule" to create new rule to open port 30003 and "allow connection" for "private network".

    https://www.mytecbits.com/microsoft/...ows-8-firewall

    (4)Restarted windows computer.

    (5) in RPi, changed configuration of fr24feed as follows
    edited file fr24feed.ini
    sudo nano /etc/fr24feed.ini

    used this setting
    receiver="avr-tcp"
    host="192.168.0.10:30003"


    Restarted fr24feed.
    Checked status.
    Failed, not because connection to AirNav on Windows is not available, but because setting avr-tcp 30003 fails even for localhost (dump1090-fa)

    Checked data from AirNav on Windows (host 192.168.0.10, port 30003) by command netcat 192.168.0.10 30003, found available (see screenshot below)

    AirNav to RPi-1.png AirNav to RPi-2.png AirNav to RPi-3.png
    Last edited by abcd567; 2019-05-17 at 19:30.

  8. #8
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    742
    Isn't 30003 SBS, not AVR?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,002
    Yep. MSG leaders is pre-decoded 'basestion'.

    * prefix Leader is AVR

    @ prefix leader is Raw

    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  10. #10
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    Isn't 30003 SBS, not AVR?
    The screenshot below shows the output from port 30003 of AirNav Windows software. What format it shows?
    AirNav to RPi-3.png

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •