Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Home Brew Antenna

  1. #21
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    606
    # If you are using a PiAware sdcard image, this config file is regenerated
    # on boot based on the contents of piaware-config.txt; any changes made to this
    # file will be lost.
    Note the "If".

    Maybe you just didn't save the file when editing it? (in regards to the ppm setting)

    The settings from piaware-config in regards to dump1090-fa normally have zero effect when not using the piaware sd-card image.

  2. #22
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    Thanks.

    I couldn't find piaware-conf.txt and I'm sure I saved the file because I checked it before rebooting and it had changed back after rebooting.

    Come to think of it though, I don't think I've restarted since issuing the piaware-config command.

    What is this maximum of 22 replies nonsense on FA?

  3. #23
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    606
    If you are running two RPis maybe you mixed them up?

    The piaware-config.txt is located under /boot. But it shouldn't be present as you aren't using the piaware sd-card image.

    Anyway it's easy enough to check, change the gain via piaware-config, do a reboot and check the config file.
    If the file does not have the new gain value you selected it does nothing and if it works well maybe you do have the piaware sd-card image

    That maximum is only for new users.
    At least new users can post links over there.

  4. #24
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    IDK. Just rebooted and it wasn't set so I set it in etc/default/dump1090-fa and rebooted and it stayed set.

    props to you sir!

  5. #25

  6. #26
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    and props to you again sir abcd!

  7. #27
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    Looks like the antenna is the weak link in my setup as I received my RTLSDR kit and it helps but not as much as I had hoped.

    Being in the loft with the roof tiles, trusses and gang nail joint plates being in the way doesn't help of course.

    I tried it with gain left at -10 and it gave massive signal but fewer messages than the old one.

    Then I tried incrementally increasing the gain starting at 30 (about 20% fewer messages than old one), up to 50 in steps of 5.

    At certain gain levels I got about 50% more messages than the old one with more planes at greater distance.

    Crikey, the Dongle gets hot though.

    I've gone back to the old one for now as I'm waiting for some connectors and cables to arrive, then I'll be able to put the LNA in the loft near the ant and try it properly.

  8. #28
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    606
    I got myself a cheap Arctic brand fan to cool my RPi and receiver.
    It's not necessary but it's nice to have.

    Accidentally got the 12cm version. But i'm sure the 8 cm version will run on 5 V too.
    For a hot attic that's not a bad idea probably.

    My setup hanging out in the attic:
    49b361cec4b1c0758f5acadf47b23da82e5eb178_2_333x500.jpeg

  9. #29
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    Yeah, I saw your pic the other day - IMHO it definitely qualifies as an art installation.

    Move over Damien Hirst!

  10. #30
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    As far as the existing setup goes, I've now got both RPis running the same core software - DUMP1090-FA, Graphs1090 (thanks wiedehopf) and flightairmap. They have the same dongle and the same (as near as makes no difference) homebrew spider in the loft up under the ridge tiles. One of the antennae is right in the centre of the roof and the other is about six feet away (as far away as feasible from the humongous pole with the TV aerial on it.

    I've tweaked and tweaked everything for max performance and have on average almost the same signal strength, number of planes and messages on both receivers.

    One feeds FA and FR and the other feeds RB and ADSBX. For my own consumption, VRS is configured with a merged feed of both receivers (sometimes shows an additional ten or so planes).

    To complete the job, I've just added an MLAT feed from the two receivers to the merged feed in VRS as well, which involved inserting --results beast,listen,30105 --results ext_basestation,listen,30106 into adsbexchange-mlat_maint.sh to enable the MLAT output on the second one.

    It will be interesting to see what improvements the new gear makes once I get it installed properly.
    Last edited by technodevotee; 2019-04-28 at 06:11. Reason: typos / errors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •