Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Home Brew Antenna

  1. #11
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    Thanks wiedehopf but I'm not sure I'm going to go that route after all - especially if it means disabling MLAT.

    Rather, I've just ordered an rtl-sdr blog LNA and V3 dongle on the basis that they can't do any harm. I may also get a proper antenna in the future.

    As a test, I connected my spare RPI to another ground plane antenna I built and put up in the loft and the two are getting almost identical reception.

    I configured piaware on the second one so I've been reading up on the FA forum and noticed you are active on these as well. I do have a few queries - mainly about Dump1090-FA actually - so I'll probably be asking noob questions about that on there as well

    Ultimately, I'd like to have one of them feeding both sites but wanted to test them separately for a while to make sure everything is stable first.

  2. #12
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    Quote Originally Posted by technodevotee View Post
    Ultimately, I'd like to have one of them feeding both sites....
    How to Feed Data to Multiple Sites - A Brief Guide

  3. #13
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    742
    Quote Originally Posted by technodevotee View Post
    Ultimately, I'd like to have one of them feeding both sites but wanted to test them separately for a while to make sure everything is stable first.
    If you want to you can also feed with MLAT from both RPi with receiver, then use combine1090 only to be a combined local display including FA MLAT results from both receivers.
    That's actually how i would recommend to use it but many people want one feed site and that requires disabling MLAT.

    Both FR24 and FA support feeding from multiple RPis under one user, of course the stats are not combined but the stats aren't really a measure of how useful a feeder is anyway.
    Last edited by wiedehopf; 2019-04-13 at 17:13.

  4. #14
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    Yep, read that thanks abcd.

    It's how I got my Pi working.

    Thanks wiedehopf, that was another option I considered .
    Last edited by technodevotee; 2019-04-13 at 17:17.

  5. #15
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    @aldoir
    Feb 2017
    You have to run 2 instances of dump-1090, specifying --index 0 and --index 1 for each device.
    To run both instances you’ll have to tweak the daemon startup scripts, but it’s a fairly simple task

    @obj
    Feb 2017
    With 3.3.0 you should be able to run a second piaware using the -cachedir and -configfile options to keep the two isolated from each other (you will need to make a second systemd service file for the second instance), then you can configure the second one with receiver-type other and point it at a different port for the second dongle and mlat should be OK on both.

    (All untested/experimental - let me know how you get on if you do go that way)

    SOURCE:
    Dual Flightaware Pro sticks on 1 Raspberry pi 3 both on 1090

  6. #16
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    @abcd567
    Feb 2019

    Is it possible to also run two INDEPENDENT instance of Piaware Data Feeder on same Pi?

    @obj
    Feb2019
    Yes, though not out of the box. You can start two copies of piaware each with different -configfile and -cachedir command-line options, and then configure the two config files to point to different data sources. You’ll need to put together your own systemd service files to do that.
    SOURCE:
    One Pi, Two Dongles, Two Maps, Two Receivers

    Scroll down to last few posts

  7. #17
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    What I actually meant was; ultimately to run one antenna (using my new rtl-sdr LNA when it arrives), one stick (my new rtl-sdr V3 when it arrives) with dump1090(insert most appropriate version name here), piaware and FR24feed as described in the article you kindly linked to a few posts back.

  8. #18
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,748
    Quote Originally Posted by technodevotee View Post
    What I actually meant was; ultimately to run one antenna (using my new rtl-sdr LNA when it arrives), one stick (my new rtl-sdr V3 when it arrives) with dump1090(insert most appropriate version name here), piaware and FR24feed as described in the article you kindly linked to a few posts back.
    Oh, I misunderstood that you want to run TWO antennas, connected to TWO sticks, both feeding to FR24 + Flightaware as TWO stations, but both sticks plugged into only ONE RPi instead of two RPis.

  9. #19
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    Well, I probably wasn't specific enough.


    Anyway, when I was up my loft fitting my second antenna (more-or-less the same as no. 1 in the post you linked to), I looked at the spider I've been using since late 2015 and discovered that the top wire was 140mm long!

    Needless to say, after I'd shortened it all my stats improved significantly.

  10. #20
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    22
    wiedehopf, ran out of replies on FA and didn't want to be appearing to blank you so thought I'd try you on here.

    That setting is only for the piaware sd-card image. Are you using that?
    No but I saw that it said not to edit the file because it would be recreated on boot. I tried it anyway when setting my PPM correction figure and it did indeed get wiped out, so I used piaware-config rtlsdr-ppm 63 and it seems to have worked so far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •