Page 11 of 28 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 280

Thread: Windows Setup/Feed Migration (virtualVM) Assistance

  1. #101
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    697
    Use this command:

    sudo systemctl restart fr24feed

    And check if it works then, because right now dump1090 is running but when it tried to start before it couldn't start because a port was occupied.

    Also let's see the output of this command

    ls -l /etc/fr24feed.ini

    Maybe the rights are incorrect and it's not using the settings and fighting with dump1090-mutability over the dongle.

  2. #102
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    Oh dear.

    For future reference, editing posts after posting them can have adverse effects.

    I approved it and removed the 2 duplicates.

    You edited it again after I did. That is exactly what link spammers do.

    So it re triggered and moderated it again.

    New users attempting to post links, common script/web code (FR24 logs included), or other key characters (attempting to tag users with @'s will trigger this - so don't!) may find their posts automatically moderated and will not show until approved. Do NOT post-boost or re-post to avoid, Edit code and links to broken/text only format to fix this, or separately request approval.
    Patience is a virtue. And I'm on quite a different timezone.

    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  3. #103
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    9
    Hi all,

    Oblivian, thanks, I recognized I might have double-posted but I can share with you, the process for a new registrar like me for posting is absolutely uncomfortable, confusing and unclear to which extend I can post without Mod approval. Including - I have to say - the link posting denial for the four first postings. That doesn't make sense in anyway if you want to refer to other postings and proof you have searched the forum as recommended by the must-reads before posting.

    wiedehopf, the command I used everytime after reboot. Meanwhile I got the system running, because when you told me the Dump is running properly I started to check the data-flow and all connected parts. From the Antenna down to the raspberry. I found the issue and although it is simple, without your help I wouldn't have checked it. It was the USB cable to connect the DVB-T stick with the Raspberry. I spend the last night with testing. While the cable works perfectly under Windows connecting the same DVB-T stick with the Windows PC it does not work at all with Rasperry. None of the connected USB devices worked on Raspberry but all worked on Windows when I connected them with the cable.
    I never heard about USB cables which only work on windows. I took another USB cable and it worked fine.

    Thanks a lot for your precious help.

    Best regards and a nice easter weekend.
    Rudi

  4. #104
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    697
    Quote Originally Posted by wetter-rimbach View Post
    While the cable works perfectly under Windows connecting the same DVB-T stick with the Windows PC it does not work at all with Rasperry. None of the connected USB devices worked on Raspberry but all worked on Windows when I connected them with the cable.
    I never heard about USB cables which only work on windows. I took another USB cable and it worked fine.

    Rudi
    Typical rtl-sdr dongles use about 300 mA and they want 5V, some are more tolerant than others.

    The RPi has some power input protection which drops about 0.1 V or thereabout. Then you have the power input cable and in your case the USB cable to the dongle.

    This leads to the dongle not correctly working.
    It's a weakness of the RPi power supply system.

    As a workaround there are power supplies produces specially for the Rpi 3 which supply 5.2V instead of just supplying 5V.

    fr24feed is so spectacularly unspecific with the status. Receiver not working can mean anything from it's not connecting to dump1090 at all to "not receiving packets" from dump1090
    Anyway it looked like it was working but in the future i will ask people to check http://pi/dump1090/ first.

    Because in the log it looks like dump1090 is working, but it's actually stuck.

    Pleasant Easter to you as well.

  5. #105
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,723
    A better solution is (at mercy of RPi harware developers) to use 12v or 15v DC for future models. With these voltages current flow will be 1/3rd, and consequently voltage drop will be 1/3rd of what it is with 5V dc system.

    After all Europe and most of world uses 220/230/340V AC instead of USA 110/117/120V AC, resulting in 1/2 current, and reducing size of wires and switchgear by 1/2, which ultimately brings down the cost to 1/2.

    Well Americans dont care for cost, they are rich people. 110V AC is OK for them
    Last edited by abcd567; 2019-04-18 at 19:34.

  6. #106
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    Quote Originally Posted by wetter-rimbach View Post

    Oblivian, thanks, I recognized I might have double-posted but I can share with you, the process for a new registrar like me for posting is absolutely uncomfortable, confusing and unclear to which extend I can post without Mod approval. Including - I have to say - the link posting denial for the four first postings. That doesn't make sense in anyway if you want to refer to other postings and proof you have searched the forum as recommended by the must-reads before posting.
    Rudi
    Sorry you feel that way despite me editing the 'read this' post every time someone brings it up to try and cater for it (4x now)

    But understand. I didn't make the rules. I don't know what rules are in place. And more importantly I don't have access to manage them.
    Noone else helps with approving posts.

    So I can't make it any better

    Despite offering better management methods to prevent link spammers.
    I've done my best to the best of the ability I have at hand to tell people not to use FULL links or @

    It's as simple as 'breaking down to text' - removing www. , http:// & https://



    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  7. #107
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    9
    Hi all,

    I know, we all follow the rules, but without feedback although you are not the right adressee, there is no chance to change.

    To be clear for the subject matter interested, I didn't use a USB hub or similar, it was a short (50cm) 1-1 USB extension cable because the DVB-T stick is too big to fit to the RPI3+ in its housing. That's all. I tried the miserable cable which caused my issue on a RPI2 and it's the same. I think it is maybe a b-quality cable maybe with a small issue on resistance on one of the connections, who knows. Important is that you helped me showing it is not a configuration issue and that I need to search somewhere else, even without saying. So you served the purpose of this board very well.

    THANKS A LOT !

  8. #108
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    697
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    I've done my best to the best of the ability I have at hand to tell people not to use FULL links or @

    It's as simple as 'breaking down to text' - removing www. , http:// & https://
    I'll try and remind new forum members in case i request console output
    Thank your for all the work approving the posts!

    My ranting a couple posts back wasn't directed at you, and no one who could change it will actually read it.
    So it's probably useless but i guess i just needed to vent!

  9. #109
    First officer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    221
    Since switching to feeding from linux I've noted an event occurring from time to time. 'Mystats' page shows me as online, but not feeding data. It happened today and availability time line actually shows me off-line for about 20 minutes. When I check the feeder log, it appears to be feeding OK, but on closer inspection it is showing: [feed] sent 0 filtered 20 AC (actual number varies). Rather than restart the feeder I reboot the system and all returns to normal. Does FR24 issue some sort of 'throttle' command and why is there the online/offline contradiction. Reason I ask for input is mainly because I don't recall any issues when running with Windows.

  10. #110
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    Prepare for an Influx of people asking for help. Server connections been switched off

    Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •