Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: FA Prostick Plus not working

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    11

    FA Prostick Plus not working

    Hello,
    I purchased (from Moonraker UK) a FlightAware Pro Stick Plusv1.0 to built an additional Station.
    If I connect the Prostick on my RPI-3B+ the Blue LED of the Stick is not illuminating and the Stick is not receiving anything.
    If I connect my spare DVB-T+FM+DAB Stick the RPI it decodes Flights, also the FA Prostick from my Master station works on the new RPI.
    Just in case I started from scratch and followed “How to Install dump1090-mutability_1.15~dev on RPi Last revision/update: January 19, 2019” from Step-1 including Step-7.
    The new FlightAware Pro Stick Plusv1.0 (Build 12-2018) is still not working.
    I am a absolute Beginner with the RPI, but I suspect that the delivered Stick is Faulty, or there is something in the settings that has changed.
    Is there a Wizard out there that could help to determinate if the Stick is Faulty.
    Best regards
    Hardy

  2. #2
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    617
    Try a reboot with the new stick plugged in just to make sure.


    You can also run the tests mentioned here:

    https://forum.flightradar24.com/thre...Dongle-Healthy

  3. #3
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,368
    Do you have an antenna connected to the Pro Stick?

    If you do, what model is it and what coaxial cable and connectors are you using?

    And what software are you running on the RPi?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  4. #4
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    11
    [QUOTE=wiedehopf;116411]Try a reboot with the new stick plugged in just to make sure.

    Thanks for your respond.

    Rebooting = no change on the Blue LED, it remains off but the Stick is working (decoding Data).

    Both Sticks (Old and New one) are outputting:

    $ rtl_test -t
    Found 1 device(s):
    0: Realtek, RTL2832U, SN: 00001000

    Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U
    Detached kernel driver
    Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
    Supported gain values (29): 0.0 0.9 1.4 2.7 3.7 7.7 8.7 12.5 14.4 15.7 16.6 19.7 20.7 22.9 25.4 28.0 29.7 32.8 33.8 36.4 37.2 38.6 40.2 42.1 43.4 43.9 44.5 48.0 49.6
    [R82XX] PLL not locked!
    Sampling at 2048000 S/s.
    No E4000 tuner found, aborting.
    Reattached kernel driver

    So i assume the LED of the new one is Faulty, right ?

  5. #5
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    617
    I'm not sure the ProStick Plus has an LED.

    Edit: just checked, ProStick Plus does not have an LED.
    Last edited by wiedehopf; 2019-03-13 at 19:38.

  6. #6
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,368
    What is the rating of the RPi power adapter, in volts and amps? And is it connected direct to the RPI or via USB cable?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  7. #7
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    I'm not sure the ProStick Plus has an LED.

    Edit: just checked, ProStick Plus does not have an LED.
    Well my "Old Blue ProStick Plus v1.0" with the date "2018 - 3" has a blue LED !!!
    The "New Blue ProStick Plus v1.0" with the date "2018 - 12" has no blue LED ???

    Very Strange

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    11
    Hello Anmer,
    yes there is the (Rooftop) Antenna connected.
    Antenna: GP-1090, Gain 5 dB 0.5dB
    Premp: AS-1090, 1030 - 1090MHz Gain 12dB
    Cable from Roof: ECOFLEX-15 N connectors.
    Then to a 2 Way 3dB Splitter SMA Connectors.
    Output-1 to RPI running Dump1090-Mutability and Feaders :
    RadarBox-24,_FlightRadar-24,_PlaneFinder, PlanePlotter, FlightAware
    Output-2 to RPI with new Stick for tests.

    RPIs:
    2018-10-09-raspbian-stretch-lite, update and upgrade executed.

  9. #9
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    What is the rating of the RPi power adapter, in volts and amps? And is it connected direct to the RPI or via USB cable?
    Power Adapter (original Raspery)
    5,10 Volt and 2,50 Ampere

    The ProStick is directly connected to the RPI.

  10. #10
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    11
    The "Old" ProStick 2018 - 3 consumes 320mA at 5,22V with LED
    The "New" Prostick 2018 - 12 consumes 321mA at 5.07V no LED

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •