Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Noo NESDR SMArt or FlightAware Pro Stick

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    T-KOSC1 / USA
    Posts
    7

    Noo NESDR SMArt or FlightAware Pro Stick

    Noo told me that I should use the NESDR SMArt since size isn't important. I have a very old R820T or original version of T so I want something better. I was thinking about the pro stick. How much better would that be since it has an amplifier? Also, does it play nice with the Flightradar feeding software or do you have to do something to set it up correctly? Also, if I should get the Pro Stick should I also get the Band-Pass filter to go along with it? I'm not sure since I have the DPD productions indoor blade.

    Thank-You,
    Doug
    Last edited by devolic1025; 2018-02-05 at 15:47.

  2. #2
    First officer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by devolic1025 View Post
    Noo told me that I should use the NESDR SMArt since size isn't important. I have a very old R820T or original version of T so I want something better. I was thinking about the pro stick. How much better would that be since it has an amplifier? Also, does it play nice with the Flightradar feeding software or do you have to do something to set it up correctly? Also, if I should get the Pro Stick should I also get the Band-Pass filter to go along with it? I'm not sure since I have the DPD productions indoor blade.

    Thank-You,
    Doug
    In the absence of other replies Doug, I'll relate my recent experiences. I went for the Flightaware stick option because it was readily available to me. I deliberated on which version of the sticks to buy i.e. the Pro or Pro Plus and settled on the Plus. Without doubt local GSM signals were causing desensing issues and adjusting signal gain had little benefit.

    I'm thinking that I perhaps should have settled on the Pro and saved a few dollars to go on a more effective signal filter.

    Looking at various filter options, the most cost effective option I found was a 'SAW' chip based filter on Ebay. I now have the signal gain up to near max and range and message rate has improved significantly. Most likely an even better cavity type filter would improve things further, but not yet. Next issue I have to resolve is the nearby trees taking chunks out of my coverage!

    No issue with setting up those sticks with Flightradar.
    Cheers,
    Ian

  3. #3
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    T-KOSC1 / USA
    Posts
    7
    How do you adjust gain? I know thats not a question that's supposed to be asked in this thread. Just wondering if their's anything else besides the default windows feeder where I can see a lot more.

  4. #4
    First officer
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by devolic1025 View Post
    How do you adjust gain? I know thats not a question that's supposed to be asked in this thread. Just wondering if their's anything else besides the default windows feeder where I can see a lot more.
    I don't think that the gain question is outside the scope of this thread. In my case I use dump1090 in my set up and the gain figure can be set in the .bat file that initiates dump1090. It will depend on what your set up is as to how its set.

  5. #5
    First officer
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    204
    i would go with the pro stick, it uses the same chip set as most of the TV dongles so you wont have any trouble in using it.
    T-EGLF8

  6. #6
    Purser
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    155
    I've recently been able to compare the light blue and black DVB-T sticks and the Dark Blue Pro Stick Plus. The Pro Stick gets my vote ! And as the previous people have stated - just plug it in ...

    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •