Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
Results 81 to 88 of 88

Thread: Raspberry PI installation made too easy with extra feature.

  1. #81
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,417
    anydanow1
    Did you use sudo at start of command to open the file?

    If not, then add sudo at start of command
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/default/dump1090-fa
    If you used sudo, and still got the problem, then first give following command, and after that edit and save the file dump1090-fa
    Code:
    sudo mount -o remount,rw /
    Last edited by abcd567; Yesterday at 17:09.

  2. #82
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    23
    Interesting. Thanks.

    I'm new to Linux/Raspian/Pi, so I had just opened the file with File Manager and tried editing it with that typical Windows-like UI approach. Lesson learned that that doesn't seem to work properly on Raspian (?) and I need to use a Terminal window instead.

    So now I have the 100/150/200 rings around my black-dotted location on the PiAware Skyview screen. Done! Would be nice if there was a way to get a 50-mile ring on there too, because due to my less than optimal location most of my hit and location reporting is coming from 75 miles or less. The furthest I've gotten is about the 100-mile mark, so I need to do some antenna optimization.

    Interestingly, I got my Lat/Lon information by dragging the marker on the map on the FR24 website coordinates screen to my exact zoomed in house location. When I put that same Lat/Lon info into the file above, the black dot on the Skyview screen appears several hundred yards west of where I actually am. Not sure why that's happening (or if it even matters), but I would have thought Skyview would have positioned that Lat/Lon info exactly the same as other tools that I used to double check my location.

    Thanks again for the help...I learn something new every day with this stuff!

  3. #83
    Purser
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    115
    dump1090-fa --help says:

    --json-location-accuracy <n> Accuracy of receiver location in json metadata: 0=no location, 1=approximate, 2=exact

    So in your configuration file you can set that to 2 and the map will display your exact location.

    You don't need a terminal to edit the file, you just need to be root (like Administrator in window).
    sudo executes the command behind it as root.
    nano is the editor used.

  4. #84
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,417
    Quote Originally Posted by anydanow1 View Post
    So now I have the 100/150/200 rings around my black-dotted location on the PiAware Skyview screen. Done! Would be nice if there was a way to get a 50-mile ring on there too
    Open file config.js for editing

    Code:
    sudo nano /usr/share/dump1090-fa/html/config.js
    When the file config.js opens by above command,
    Press Ctll+w keys together to enter search mode, then type SiteCircles and press Enter Key.
    The cursor will jump to following code in the file
    In the line "SiteCirclesDistances = new Array(100,150,200);" add 50, as shown in red below
    Code:
    SiteCircles = true; // true to show circles (only shown if the center marker is shown)
    // In miles, nautical miles, or km (depending settings value 'DisplayUnits')
    SiteCirclesDistances = new Array(50,100,150,200);
    Save file (Ctrl+o) and Close it (Ctrl+x)

    Now open map in your browser, clear browser cache (Ctrl+Shift+Delete) and reload browser (Ctrl+F5)
    Last edited by abcd567; Yesterday at 18:56.

  5. #85
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    23
    Setting the accuracy and the 50-mile rings worked as you both described. Very cool. A lot of neat stuff to mess with in there!

    This weekend I'm going to take some online intro courses for Linux to understand the structure of the OS better and some of the stuff that I'm doing here, learn some of the basic commands, and the ins/outs of the OS. As discussed above, I don't like making changes without really understanding things, just for my own knowledge.

    I thought that logging into the Pi as the default Pi user would give me root privileges, which is why I was trying to use File Manager to do the edits. No?

  6. #86
    Purser
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    115
    Well the user pi is allowed to use sudo, so in that way you have root privileges when you want them.

    But the user root is still another user.

  7. #87
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    23
    This link does a good job of explaining the cascading set of questions I had coming to mind next. And I guess that link also clarifies why you were recommending to just use sudo nano when needed....

    https://m.wikihow.com/Become-Root-in-Linux

  8. #88
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,417
    @anydanow1

    Are you loging to Pi using a Monitor connected to RPi by a HDMI cable, and a keyboard plugged into USB port of RPi?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •