Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Raspberry Pi Multiple Feeds - removal

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    3

    Raspberry Pi Multiple Feeds - removal

    Quote Originally Posted by YARM-Armidale View Post
    Thank you K5TED,

    Outstanding reply! Must say after 800 odd views of the question I was starting to wonder if I would ever get a reply at all but thank you !!

    I will certainly follow up on these items and give them a try. This is certainly the advice and suggestions I had been looking for.

    Regards,
    Nigel
    Last week, I wanted to upgrade PiAware from 3.5.0 to 3.5.1. Well... I THOUGHT I was upgrading. Actually, I accidentally did it on the wrong Pi and instead of upgrading, I installed it on the same Pi that was already running FlightAware24. And, without any modification, it started using the same SDR feed and started feeding data to FA. So I was feeding 2 servers with flight data from the same Pi without any modifications. So it is dead simple.

    However, there is a problem. Both of these bits of software use 8080 as the web interface and I have not been able to get FR24 to change although there is a setting to change it. I set it to 8090 and rebooted but no change. If I could just get one of them to change to another port, say 8090, then I could retire one Pi and use my best antenna for both feeds.

    Any ideas one how to force either FA or FR24 to change web ports would solve the entire problem. No splitters needed. No software tweeking needed except for changing the web port for either one of them.

    Sad that FA support cannot tell me how to uninstall their own software. It is easy to install but, apparently, impossible to uninstall. I removed it from the autostart file (I forget the name right now) but it apparently put it back somehow. Still running. I have asked twice and they refuse to tell me how to uninstall. They just said to look around for that information on the web or in this forum. THANKS??? I really want to get it off because it is still sending in data and doubling my input with, essentially the same data.

    Mike Morrow

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,000
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeyMoMo View Post
    Last week, I wanted to upgrade PiAware from 3.5.0 to 3.5.1. Well... I THOUGHT I was upgrading. Actually, I accidentally did it on the wrong Pi and instead of upgrading, I installed it on the same Pi that was already running FlightAware24. And, without any modification, it started using the same SDR feed and started feeding data to FA. So I was feeding 2 servers with flight data from the same Pi without any modifications. So it is dead simple.

    However, there is a problem. Both of these bits of software use 8080 as the web interface and I have not been able to get FR24 to change although there is a setting to change it. I set it to 8090 and rebooted but no change. If I could just get one of them to change to another port, say 8090, then I could retire one Pi and use my best antenna for both feeds.

    Any ideas one how to force either FA or FR24 to change web ports would solve the entire problem. No splitters needed. No software tweeking needed except for changing the web port for either one of them.

    Sad that FA support cannot tell me how to uninstall their own software. It is easy to install but, apparently, impossible to uninstall. I removed it from the autostart file (I forget the name right now) but it apparently put it back somehow. Still running. I have asked twice and they refuse to tell me how to uninstall. They just said to look around for that information on the web or in this forum. THANKS??? I really want to get it off because it is still sending in data and doubling my input with, essentially the same data.

    Mike Morrow
    Got your provider/terminology and or short names for the providers feeder software confused? (I don't believe there is a flightaware24)

    FA=Flightaware = 'Piaware'
    Or their own product Flightfeeder (no 24)

    FR24 = Flightradar24 = 'fr24feed' / 'Pi24'


    BTW, FR24 doesn't use port 8080 for any of the onboard services? The config port is :8754 and data outputs 30002/30334 or 30003.

    Unless you mean the interactive web portal from dump1090 that isn included and used to make a map, in which case if you used the scripting install correctly for either provider to install it shouldn't conflict/open both. But will detect and use the same single active/running version.

    Theres 2 parts required. Dump1090 - does the work (common between providers) + uploader/inbound processing software

    You can see what is running using the pgrep commands
    https://forum.flightradar24.com/thre...ll=1#post74851


    However, commands to remove in linux

    sudo apt-get remove --purge <packagename>

    For instance
    Feed component:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge FR24feed
    sudo apt-get remove --purge piaware

    RTL/USB reading component:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge dump1090-fa (piawares version if present - will kill the core component and a lot more will break!!)
    sudo apt-get remove --purge dump1090-mutability (if present - will kill the core component and a lot more will break!!)
    sudo apt-get remove --purge mr-dump1090 (FR24s version if present - will kill the core component and a lot more will break!!)

    But you would be far better off using the reconfigure commands.
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure dump1090-mutability
    sudo piaware-config
    Last edited by Oblivian; 2017-08-16 at 12:06.
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  3. #3
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,384
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeyMoMo View Post
    They just said to look around for that information on the web or in this forum.
    Why would FlightAware suggest you ask on this forum when it has its own?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    Why would FlightAware suggest you ask on this forum when it has its own?
    I too headscratched
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  5. #5
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    FR24 Feeder
    Posts
    1,232
    People can get confused when accessing flightaware by using other domains like FlightAware24.com and other domains.

    FlightAware24.com = FlightAware

  6. #6
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,747
    @MikeyMoMo

    Check the SSH terminal command prompt.

    (1) If it is "pi@piaware", the image/os you have written to your microSD card is a Piaware image downloaded from http://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/build

    (2) If it is "pi@raspberrypi", it is one of the following image/os you have written to your microSD card

    OR

    To enable forum members to know what you have installed, tell:
    (1) what command prompt you see in SSH console.
    (2) From which of above sites you downloaded the OS image.
    (3) Give following commands one by one, and post output of each:

    Code:
    apt-cache policy dump1090-fa
    
    apt-cache policy mr-dump1090
    
    apt-cache policy dump1090
    
    apt-cache policy dump1090-mutability
    Last edited by abcd567; 2017-08-16 at 21:24.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •