Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: If you're feeding FR24 DONT touch this button!

  1. #1
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561

    If you're feeding FR24 DONT touch this button!

    Guys,

    I'm not sure if anyone has experienced this little gem or not or if there is anything on the forum or elsewhere (it's certainly not on the Individual Stats page itself) which makes one aware of the consequences. For anyone who uploads to FR24 please read and understand the following;

    You would all be familiar by now with the individual statistics page- under 'My Data Sharing' thence 'Show Statistics.' This page is being updated now and then and if you check the line adjacent to your coordinates there's an icon at the far end which appears like an eye. Click on it now and up pops another icon alongside it which looks like a pen (or crayon) as well as your coordinates of course. Clicking on the 'pen' will bring up a dialogue box showing your location on a map with a movable balloon. Hovering your mouse over the 'eye' brings up 'show/hide coordinates' where as hovering over the 'pen' doesn't tell you anything at all. However, all seemingly innocuous so far.

    Now if you're like me and you're fond of accuracy just beware if you are tempted to move the location balloon even just a tad that you not only update your coordinates but you may well do what I did and accidentally create a new alias for your receiver, sending the old one off into the ether and voiding it. By the way you can't select a new alias for yourself, it's selected for you automatically seemingly by some random method only FR24 understand.

    Thankfully after contacting support they are going to roll back my alias but if enough of us change our location balloon simply because it's a few houses or streets away and the inevitable happens these poor guys in support will be swamped with requests to fix it up.

    If you want to keep your existing alias intact, don't fool with this dialogue box as there are consequences which although unintentional can become quite problematic. Since we're the only one who can see this information (apart from FR24), I don't think it's worthwhile playing with and quite frankly is probably something that's a completely unnecessary feature for existing uploaders.

    Regards,
    Gregg

    By the by, for the time being I am now Radar T-YSBK50!
    Last edited by fungus; 2017-06-06 at 06:58. Reason: the usual- spelling, grammar and extra info
    YSSY2/T-YSSY4 [SBS-1 Basestation w/- SSE-1090 SJ Mk2 Antenna (Thanks Delcomp) ] [Uniden UBCD996T w/- 16 element Wideband Discone VHF/UHF Antenna, and tuned 108MHz-137MHz Airband Antenna] [Trialing a home-brew 1090MHz collinear antenna]

  2. #2
    Purser
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    155
    Thanks Gregg for this alert. FR24 Support recently told me to use it to edit my own coordinates but I hadn't done so yet. They never said anything about the consequences of doing this.

    Regards
    Peter

  3. #3
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,849
    Better change coordinates by this method

    pi@raspberrypi:~$ sudo fr24feed --signup

    Welcome to the FR24 Decoder/Feeder sign up wizard!

    Before you continue please make sure that:

    1 - Your ADS-B receiver is connected to this computer or is accessible over net work
    2 - You know your antenna's latitude/longitude up to 4 decimal points and the a ltitude in feet
    3 - You have a working email address that will be used to contact you
    4 - fr24feed service is stopped. If not, please run: sudo service fr24feed stop

    To terminate - press Ctrl+C at any point


    Step 1.1 - Enter your email address (username@domain.tld)
    $:xxxx@yyyyy.com

    Step 1.2 - If you used to feed FR24 with ADS-B data before enter your sharing ke y.
    If you don't remember your sharing key, pelase use the retrival form:
    http://feed.flightradar24.com/forgotten_key.php

    Otherwise leave this field empty and continue.
    $:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Verifying sharing key...OK

    Step 1.3 - Would you like to participate in MLAT calculations? (yes/no)$:yes

    IMPORTANT: For MLAT calculations the antenna's location should be entered very precise!

    Step 3.A - Enter antenna's latitude (DD.DDDD)
    $:

    Step 3.B - Enter antenna's longitude (DD.DDDD)
    $:

  4. #4
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by abcd567 View Post
    Better change coordinates by this method
    abcd567,

    For those of us who are existing uploaders and have certain units that, at present, aren't capable of participating in M-LAT this option isn't available to us at all, let alone for adjusting coordinates. The setup dialogue box skips any reference to our location (Step 3 doesn't exist).

    Since I've stuffed up my alias and at present have a new one and it wont really affect anything adversely (fingers crossed), I'm checking out all available options to see what effect they have.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    Peter,

    That is no surprise to me at all. They really do a fabulous job assisting us, but I'm not sure that support are even fully aware of, or up to speed with, all the idiosyncrasies of uploading or FR24 as a whole. I get the impression they are in the dark about a lot of this as much as we are.

    Regards,
    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2017-06-06 at 23:47.
    YSSY2/T-YSSY4 [SBS-1 Basestation w/- SSE-1090 SJ Mk2 Antenna (Thanks Delcomp) ] [Uniden UBCD996T w/- 16 element Wideband Discone VHF/UHF Antenna, and tuned 108MHz-137MHz Airband Antenna] [Trialing a home-brew 1090MHz collinear antenna]

  5. #5
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    As a follow up to the above post I've found another issue with this dialogue box. If you make no changes and attempt to close it by means of the cross in the top right corner it won't close it. That's using it on a Chrome browser, haven't tested others yet. One needs to reload the page to get rid of it. Getting it to accept your exact location is nigh on impossible too although this may be outside the resposibility of FR24. So for the time being at least my receiver is showing up out in the street in about the position of the gutter. Hmfff....

    Regards,
    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2017-06-07 at 02:11.
    YSSY2/T-YSSY4 [SBS-1 Basestation w/- SSE-1090 SJ Mk2 Antenna (Thanks Delcomp) ] [Uniden UBCD996T w/- 16 element Wideband Discone VHF/UHF Antenna, and tuned 108MHz-137MHz Airband Antenna] [Trialing a home-brew 1090MHz collinear antenna]

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,046
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  7. #7
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    Done it now
    Yep! Indeed!

    Gregg
    Last edited by fungus; 2017-06-07 at 12:26.
    YSSY2/T-YSSY4 [SBS-1 Basestation w/- SSE-1090 SJ Mk2 Antenna (Thanks Delcomp) ] [Uniden UBCD996T w/- 16 element Wideband Discone VHF/UHF Antenna, and tuned 108MHz-137MHz Airband Antenna] [Trialing a home-brew 1090MHz collinear antenna]

  8. #8
    Captain fungus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,561
    No more playing with adjusting my coordinates, I have my old alias back now thanks to the guys from support.

    Gregg
    YSSY2/T-YSSY4 [SBS-1 Basestation w/- SSE-1090 SJ Mk2 Antenna (Thanks Delcomp) ] [Uniden UBCD996T w/- 16 element Wideband Discone VHF/UHF Antenna, and tuned 108MHz-137MHz Airband Antenna] [Trialing a home-brew 1090MHz collinear antenna]

  9. #9
    Captain
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    SE Qld, Australia
    Posts
    510
    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    I love it but you must have too much time on your hands!

  10. #10
    Team FR24
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    221
    This was done because support gets alot requests for coordinates change. It seems like changing of alias bothers people so we will disable that part. Do note that everything is connected to Sharing Key so even if your alias changes, it doesn't affect your stats. In the next release, alias will not change by updating your coordinates.
    --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •