Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: disc image decreases sd card

  1. #1
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    26

    Question disc image decreases sd card

    Hi, I have just got my Pi3. I have a 16gb sd card that I formatted and then put the image file onto it from the download. I then put the card into my pi3 and loaded the fr24 software via the sudo command in the instruction. I managed to get everything installed and set up however I couldn't get the unit online. After trying a few things, another forum suggested looking at sd card space. To my shock, my 16gb sd card had shrunk to approx 1gb This was the image size.

    I have now reformatted and installed the Noobs. I can't connect via my laptop any more. I am unable to plug a monitor into the pi3 so need to access via putty but now keep getting connection refused.

    Any help for this newbie will be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,384
    Check this out regarding SD card "size":

    http://www.instructables.com/id/How-...e-original-si/
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    5,057
    Make sure its not a cheap fake too

    Have been known to misreport actual size and die if you use them like they should be used instead
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  4. #4
    Purser
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    ESGG1
    Posts
    190
    It's perfectly normal, the image is only as big as it needs to be + some margin. Otherwise it wouldn't fit on a 4GB card, for example.

    Your connection issues has nothing to do with this. Are you using Wifi or cable?

    /M
    F-ESDF1, F-ESGG1, F-ESGP1, F-ESNK1, F-ESNV2, F-ESNV3 F-ESSL4, F-LFMN3
    P-ESGR, P-ESIA, P-ESIB, P-ESGF

  5. #5
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMac View Post
    It's perfectly normal, the image is only as big as it needs to be + some margin. Otherwise it wouldn't fit on a 4GB card, for example.

    Your connection issues has nothing to do with this. Are you using Wifi or cable?

    /M
    I am using wifi through a netgear router. Before I put Noobs on I could access the Pi via Putty.

  6. #6
    Purser
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    ESGG1
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterWelly View Post
    I am using wifi through a netgear router.
    Wifi on the Rpi is notoriously unstable in some combinations. Use an ETH cable while testing, you will se if this is a Wifi issue or not.

    Some distributions ha started to have ssh disabled as default. Bloody annoying if you forget to enable it.

    /M
    F-ESDF1, F-ESGG1, F-ESGP1, F-ESNK1, F-ESNV2, F-ESNV3 F-ESSL4, F-LFMN3
    P-ESGR, P-ESIA, P-ESIB, P-ESGF

  7. #7
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMac View Post
    Wifi on the Rpi is notoriously unstable in some combinations. Use an ETH cable while testing, you will se if this is a Wifi issue or not.

    Some distributions ha started to have ssh disabled as default. Bloody annoying if you forget to enable it.

    /M
    I am just very confused. When I did the image from FR24, it worked ok, however it changed teh SD card from 8GB to 1GB. I am happy to do that again, however i then lose the storage capaicty. What if I partition the sd card? will that allow the RP24 image to go on 1 partition and then use the other for data? Very new to the Raspberry Pi and unsure what it can and can't do.

  8. #8
    Passenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterWelly View Post
    I am just very confused. When I did the image from FR24, it worked ok, however it changed teh SD card from 16GB to 1GB. I am happy to do that again, however i then lose the storage capaicty. What if I partition the sd card? will that allow the RP24 image to go on 1 partition and then use the other for data? Very new to the Raspberry Pi and unsure what it can and can't do.
    Sorry it was a 16gb card.

  9. #9
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterWelly View Post
    I am just very confused. When I did the image from FR24, it worked ok, however it changed teh SD card from 8GB to 1GB. I am happy to do that again, however i then lose the storage capaicty.
    https://www.raspberrypi.org/document...aspi-config.md
    Use Expand Filesystem.

  10. #10
    Purser attigliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterWelly View Post
    I am just very confused. When I did the image from FR24, it worked ok, however it changed teh SD card from 8GB to 1GB. I am happy to do that again, however i then lose the storage capaicty. What if I partition the sd card? will that allow the RP24 image to go on 1 partition and then use the other for data? Very new to the Raspberry Pi and unsure what it can and can't do.
    You can expand filesystem:

    sudo raspi-config

    and then select: 1 Expand Filesystem (this will Ensures that all of the SD card storage is available to the OS)
    T-EKCH5: Raspberry Pi type B+ + FlightAware Pro Stick Plus + 1090MHz Bandpass Filter + A3-ADS-B Antenna

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •