Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 95

Thread: New Flightradar24 Android App

  1. #31
    First officer
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Bookmarks was the least used feature in the old app with less than 0.5% of users using it so we decided to remove it in this version. Instead we have made improvements to search that we think is a great alternative and there may be some new options coming in future updates.
    Hm, maybe my friends & I are the <0.5% of Users but we are missing it
    Regards,
    T-EDDE7

    Debian 8 Server | jetvision ADS-B USB Dongle | ADS-B Collinear Antenna
    Banana Pi | Mystique SDR R820T2 | stock Antenna

  2. #32
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    3
    Are there some special offers for Feeders. Or are Feeders able to use the app?

  3. #33
    Purser
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    T-NZWN7, F-NZWN3
    Posts
    198
    Quote Originally Posted by Flieger28 View Post
    Are there some special offers for Feeders. Or are Feeders able to use the app?
    Feeders get a business subscription. You just login to the app. It's one of your 3 simultaneous logins.

  4. #34
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    I have a problem. Custom alerts doesnt work properly for me. I set up notif (airplane a320 over my area) and i get only 1 notif per 10-15 minutes. This started happening 1 month ago, before that it worked fine. Does anybody have the same problem?

  5. #35
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    Could the Aircraft Labels have "Altitude and Speed" as a single label the same as the website?
    That way people can have the same config on both mobile and web.

    The cost of alerts is too high. My Azure subscription lets me have 10m Devices and 10m pushes per month for £150 then £7.50 per subsequent 1m pushes.
    Saying the servers are struggling with handling alerts means I look forward to huge server upgrades from all the alert profit and more appropriate alerts pricing in future.
    Last edited by Avacee; 2017-03-29 at 21:47.

  6. #36
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    Quote Originally Posted by anzhe View Post
    I have a problem. Custom alerts doesnt work properly for me. I set up notif (airplane a320 over my area) and i get only 1 notif per 10-15 minutes. This started happening 1 month ago, before that it worked fine. Does anybody have the same problem?
    If you set a too broad alert the system will cut you off for some time. A too broad alert is an alert that keep generating several alerts per minute. If you think there is something wrong with your alerts you should contact support@fr24.com so they can check your account.

  7. #37
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    Quote Originally Posted by Avacee View Post
    Could the Aircraft Labels have "Altitude and Speed" as a single label the same as the website?
    That way people can have the same config on both mobile and web.

    The cost of alerts is too high. My Azure subscription lets me have 10m Devices and 10m pushes per month for £150 then £7.50 per subsequent 1m pushes.
    Saying the servers are struggling with handling alerts means I look forward to huge server upgrades from all the alert profit and more appropriate alerts pricing in future.
    We will see if something can be done with labels, but generally a problem with mobile phones is the small screen.

    We don't just push the alerts, we need to trigger them as well, and that is the heavy part. But as mentioned earlier in this thread.

    There will be some quite big changes to alerts in a coming app update to make them easier and better, but unlimited will not be back.

  8. #38
    Team FR24 Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,111
    Quote Originally Posted by EDLW View Post
    - No bookmarks of locations any longer (which I used). If it was only used by a small amount of users and didn't make a lot of load on the servers: Why did you delete this useful feature?

    - limited custom alerts - even in gold account!

    - necessary yearly subscription - even for getting rid of the ad on top of the app. Minimum this should have been a candidate for a one time payment.

    - no possibility for reducing the amount of needed data while using the app (option "update every xx seconds" is missing now - why?).

    Sorry - the new version may look and feel nice (I feel so too) - but all in all it is a step backwards for me and kind of more illusion than reality...
    To start with, we have completely redesigned the Free app and no features have been removed or deleted from that app.

    Some features from the Pro app have been implemented in the New app and some not. We have tried to keep the New app as simple as possible and we didn't include features that were rarely used, hard to use or technically hard to support. Having tons of settings and features that people aren't using doesn't really make sense. Better make the app easy and focus on things people use. That keeps both development time and support time down. Some things may come back later in another format later. Some things have also been removed for different technical reasons and reducing data usage is something we are working on all the time, no matter if there is a setting or not. This is not the final version of the app, but the first version on our new platform that is shared with the web.

    Making changes to to a service is always very sensitive. Some users are asking for updates every day, others are upset for every change that is made. In this case we have made many requested changes and at the same time we have given users option to keep using the Pro app if they prefer it.

  9. #39
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    8
    Still waiting for a solution where custom alerts can be backed up and restored if you have to reinstall the app or factory your phone such a painful process manually entering them every time. Google already offers the framework to back up app data the app just has to be setup to allow it. Or I would even be happy with being able to export alerts to file and allow import to reload... please!! Please!!

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  10. #40
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    To start with, we have completely redesigned the Free app and no features have been removed or deleted from that app.

    Some features from the Pro app have been implemented in the New app and some not. We have tried to keep the New app as simple as possible and we didn't include features that were rarely used, hard to use or technically hard to support. Having tons of settings and features that people aren't using doesn't really make sense. Better make the app easy and focus on things people use. That keeps both development time and support time down. Some things may come back later in another format later. Some things have also been removed for different technical reasons and reducing data usage is something we are working on all the time, no matter if there is a setting or not. This is not the final version of the app, but the first version on our new platform that is shared with the web.

    Making changes to to a service is always very sensitive. Some users are asking for updates every day, others are upset for every change that is made. In this case we have made many requested changes and at the same time we have given users option to keep using the Pro app if they prefer it.
    Just to clarify that the PREMIUM version of the app will not be updated anymore?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •