Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Replace DVBT stick with Flightaware Pro

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Passenger Lincolnshire Poacher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    North Lincolnshire,England
    Posts
    47

    Replace DVBT stick with Flightaware Pro

    As in the title, I'm feeding in to Flightradar 24 using a Raspberry Pi3 and an unbranded DVB-T stick, its in my garage with the aerial in the roof section, at the moment I dont want to go down the route of an outside aerial.

    So looking to improve the range I have bought a Flightaware Pro stick (I'm only going to feed Flightradar), this has a built in amplifier, I was looking to simply replace my existing stick with this one, however when it was delivered today it says I will need a filter. Has anyone tried one without a filter, or know what I could expect if I did?
    T-EGNJ48 Raspberry Pi3, Flightaware yellow stick/filter and Radar-Rama antenna
    Based in North Lincolnshire England

  2. #2
    Purser
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    ESGG1
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by Lincolnshire Poacher View Post
    however when it was delivered today it says I will need a filter.

    That is not true, it MAY need a filter, that depends fully on your local RF environment, how close you are to other transmitters etc. But it is very hard to know without having a filter to test with, to see if it is better or worse.

    /M
    F-ESDF1, F-ESGG1, F-ESGP1, F-ESNK1, F-ESNV2, F-ESNV3 F-ESSL4, F-LFMN3
    P-ESGR, P-ESIA, P-ESIB, P-ESGF

  3. #3
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,384
    From where did you buy the Pro Stick and how were you advised to use a filter?
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  4. #4
    Passenger Lincolnshire Poacher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    North Lincolnshire,England
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by Anmer View Post
    From where did you buy the Pro Stick and how were you advised to use a filter?

    I bought it from a UK ebay seller, it came with a Flightaware info card and a small information sheet that says

    Attention

    This receiver has a high performance amp that requires a 1090MHz filter or custom gain settings to work correctly.

    Please go to

    and then a web address for Flightaware.com setup.
    T-EGNJ48 Raspberry Pi3, Flightaware yellow stick/filter and Radar-Rama antenna
    Based in North Lincolnshire England

  5. #5
    Captain Anmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,384
    Thanks.

    As MrMac says, the amp isn't always necessary. I took mine off and there was no change in performance.
    Mike


    www.radarspotting.com

    Radarspotting since 2005

  6. #6
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    4
    Hi Lincolnshire Poacher,
    Just checking out your current stats (Saturday 11 Feb '17) & can see the following:

    Rank Radar Username Country GBR Overall score Uptime Max range Avg range
    501 T-EGNJ48 LincsPoacher United Kingdom 8,939 698 100 32



    I think the main problem with the range you are getting is the aerial location. As you've said above, "its in my garage with the aerial in the roof section, at the moment I dont want to go down the route of an outside aerial."
    I can't see the range improving without moving the antenna to the highest, unobstructed point possible on your roof.


    Cheers,
    Steve


    T-YBUD2 Win7, DVB-T, Homemade Co-linear Antenna.

  7. #7
    Passenger Lincolnshire Poacher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    North Lincolnshire,England
    Posts
    47
    That will have to be my next move, putting the aerial outside.
    T-EGNJ48 Raspberry Pi3, Flightaware yellow stick/filter and Radar-Rama antenna
    Based in North Lincolnshire England

  8. #8
    Passenger Lincolnshire Poacher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    North Lincolnshire,England
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve N View Post
    Hi Lincolnshire Poacher,
    Just checking out your current stats (Saturday 11 Feb '17) & can see the following:

    Rank Radar Username Country GBR Overall score Uptime Max range Avg range
    501 T-EGNJ48 LincsPoacher United Kingdom 8,939 698 100 32



    I think the main problem with the range you are getting is the aerial location. As you've said above, "its in my garage with the aerial in the roof section, at the moment I dont want to go down the route of an outside aerial."
    I can't see the range improving without moving the antenna to the highest, unobstructed point possible on your roof.


    Cheers,
    Steve


    T-YBUD2 Win7, DVB-T, Homemade Co-linear Antenna.
    I now have the Flightaware stick (yellow) and filter connected to a Radar-Rama antenna, its still in my garage although I have re positioned the antenna. The net result is a good gain, range has gone up by about 70/80nm, average range gone up by 20nm and both still rising. So the Flightaware stick and filter were well worth it.

    Looking at the range plot I have gaps where I am blocked by buildings, my next stage will be to go for a roof mount for the antenna, I'm unsure as to stay with the Radar-Rama antenna or go with the flight aware, also advice on the best cable to use would be appreciated.

    I suspect that with a roof mounted antenna I will no longer have a reduced range in some directions because of buildings and I hope to see my max range go to 220/230nm. From my location it that would cover from the other side of the channel to Glasgow and over to Ireland Belfast/Dublin and beyond.
    T-EGNJ48 Raspberry Pi3, Flightaware yellow stick/filter and Radar-Rama antenna
    Based in North Lincolnshire England

  9. #9
    Passenger NeoDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Bo'ness, Scotland
    Posts
    24
    Was it the Orange or Blue ProStick? The blue one has the filter built in. If it's the Orange one and you want the filter you can get them from Amazon for 17 quid.
    T-EGPH93 | My Live Feed | ADSB Receiver: Raspberry Pi3+, RTL-SDR v3, RTL-SDR LNA, FA Antenna | Airband Receiver: RPi3 & Diamond D777

  10. #10
    Captain abcd567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Toronto CYYZ
    Posts
    2,875
    1) Flightaware Antenna+Filter+Pro Stick+Pi
    2) Cantenna+DVB-T+Pi
    Located near a large window in an apartment, 60 ft above ground.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •