Page 15 of 19 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 185

Thread: How to Install dump1090-mutability_1.15~dev on RPi

  1. #141
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    I think the Orange Pi Zero is actually quite powerful so that would work but it doesn't work with Raspbian but needs another image i believe, still the feeder install script should still work.
    For the Orange Pi Zero there are Raspbian-Server and Debian-Server images for download at orangepi.org. How do server images differ from regular ones? I think I can do without a GUI.

    I can get an Orange Pi Zero H2+ Quad Core Open-Source 512MB Development Board Rep Raspberry for less than 15 EUR from various sellers on Ebay. But what does the term Development Board Rep Raspberry really mean?

    Why don't you just try the Raspberry Pi you currently have?
    Install a current Raspbian Stretch Lite without a graphical interface.
    I guess it was a bit to slow when I ran the feeder on it. It had wi-fi problems all the time, always loosing connection after a few hours. Maybe performance could be tuned a bit. A faster SD card might be a good idea. And maybe the latest FR24 feeder + dump1090-mutability comes with improved performance.

    Meanwhile I've got a hand full of different wi-fi sticks so I can try to find out which one works best. I think I should give my old Raspi a chance for a second life :-)
    Last edited by Space Pilot; 2019-04-14 at 00:53.

  2. #142
    First officer
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    411
    Quote Originally Posted by Space Pilot View Post
    Meanwhile I've got a hand full of different wi-fi sticks so I can try to find out which one works best. I think I should give my old Raspi a chance for a second life :-)
    It could well be that your power supply isn't good enough. The "Official Raspberry Pi 3B+ power supply" is good but also rather expensive.

    You'll need a proper power supply for the Orange pi Zero you linked as well, so that's probably at least 10 Euros in addition to the device.

    The Orange pi Zero images might have a 64bit kernel and you then need to enter these commands so they are able to use the fr24feed exectuable:
    Code:
    sudo dpkg --add-architecture armhf
    sudo apt update
    sudo apt dist-upgrade
    sudo apt install libc6:armhf libstdc++6:armhf libusb-1.0-0:armhf
    Anyway depending on the image they supply this might need some additional stuff or it might just work out of the box.
    Graphical interfaces aren't really useful anyway, all configuration is done via command line anyway.
    (And the board you mentioned does not have a display output i believe)

    You just need to get the network configuration of the sd-card right before putting it into the device and then connect via putty/ssh.

    In regards to using a WiFi dongle plus the USB SDR stick, i'm not sure if the RPi 1B+ has USB power to run both devices.
    I read something about that not working properly but don't remember to which RPi that applied.

  3. #143
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    29
    I'm aware of the Pi's power issues. First thing I do with a new Pi is bridging the green PolySwitch fuse. Or, if possible, I'll power the Pi backwards via a powered USB hub (always have a look at the board's schematic first!).

    The Orange Pi Zero has a 32 bit CPU and no, it doesn't have HDMI output.

    No idea what 'Development Board Rep' could mean?

    Thanks for the hints.
    Last edited by Space Pilot; 2019-04-14 at 11:45.

  4. #144
    First officer
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    411
    Quote Originally Posted by Space Pilot View Post
    No idea what 'Development Board Rep' could mean?
    Development Board, Replacement for Raspberry Pi

    At least that would be my guess.

    And oh yes sorry that's a Allwinner H2 armv7 SoC.
    The H3/H5 versions are more expensive


    Just yesterday i posted a script in the Windows feeder discontinued thread which automatically detects the RPi losing contact to the router and restarts dhcpcd (which restarts the wifi stuff as well).
    In case you will have WiFi problems again with your RPi 1B+
    Last edited by wiedehopf; 2019-04-14 at 11:52.

  5. #145
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    2

    Can't get access to gmap in conjunction with Pi-hole

    Hi everbody,

    Thanx for the easy to use manual how to set up my Raspi with dev 1.15. I'm sharing data with FR24 for more a year but I made a clean reinstall now. On my Raspberry there is also Pi-hole (network wide ad blocking) installed.
    If I now want to see all tracked aircrafts on IP Raspberry)/dump1090/gmap.html I only get to see an info screen of Pi-hole, saying "Pi-hole: Your black hole for Internet advertisements//Did you mean to go to the admin panel?"
    As I am a completely noob to all that network and port stuff - does anybody has a clue how to fix this? Using also Pi-Aware -> same here.

    Thanks, kr1s

    Screenshot :dump1090:gmap.jpg

    FR24 - Settings.jpg

  6. #146
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,749
    Quote Originally Posted by kr1s3112 View Post
    Hi everbody,

    Thanx for the easy to use manual how to set up my Raspi with dev 1.15. I'm sharing data with FR24 for more a year but I made a clean reinstall now. On my Raspberry there is also Pi-hole (network wide ad blocking) installed.
    If I now want to see all tracked aircrafts on IP Raspberry)/dump1090/gmap.html I only get to see an info screen of Pi-hole, saying "Pi-hole: Your black hole for Internet advertisements//Did you mean to go to the admin panel?"
    As I am a completely noob to all that network and port stuff - does anybody has a clue how to fix this? Using also Pi-Aware -> same here.

    Thanks, kr1s

    Screenshot :dump1090:gmap.jpg

    FR24 - Settings.jpg
    There will be a conflict with Pi-Hole own server and lighttpd - Dump1090 1-15 also uses this but both will not expect each other and probably over-write

    In the config window you have there, change the 8080 to 8081.
    Your URL will change to <ip>:8081/dump1090/gmap.html

    Or you may need to reconfigure lighttpd again

    sudo lighty-enable-mod dump1090
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  7. #147
    First officer
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    411
    To fix pi-hole issues do this:

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/lighttpd/external.conf
    copy/paste this:
    Code:
    server.modules += (
      "mod_alias"
    )
    Press CTRL-o and ENTER to save
    Press CTRL-x to exit

    Do a reboot:
    sudo reboot

    This should fix

  8. #148
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    2
    Well I really thank you - this helped and now it works. :thumbsup:

    Quote Originally Posted by wiedehopf View Post
    To fix pi-hole issues do this:

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/lighttpd/external.conf
    copy/paste this:
    Code:
    server.modules += (
      "mod_alias"
    )
    Press CTRL-o and ENTER to save
    Press CTRL-x to exit

    Do a reboot:
    sudo reboot

    This should fix

  9. #149
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    LIRL
    Posts
    21

    wrong indications

    Quote Originally Posted by abcd567 View Post
    How-to Add "Received Signal Strength Indicator" (RSSI) Column in Aircraft Table of dump1090-mutability ver 1.15~dev

    Posted on: October 14, 2018

    A glance on RSSI Colums will show what are strengths of signals from different planes.
    This will help in determining if Gain Setting of dongle is to be lowered or increased.


    Contributors:
    @evangelyul
    @wiedehopf
    @abcd567





    STEP-1
    Code:
    #Move into folder containing file to be edited
    cd /usr/share/dump1090-mutability/html/
    
    #First make a backup copy before attempting modifications
    #The backup will enable you to revert if something goes wrong
    sudo cp  gmap.html  gmap.html.bak
    
    #Now edit the file and make modifications
    sudo nano gmap.html

    Press Ctrl+w keys, type onclick="sortBy then Press Enter key.
    The cursor will jump to relevant block of code.
    ADD 2 lines shown below in RED (copy-paste these)

    Code:
              <thead style="background-color: #BBBBBB; cursor: pointer;">
                          <tr>
                                    <td id="icao" onclick="sortByICAO();">ICAO</td>
                                    <td id="flag" onclick="sortByCountry()"><!-- column for flag image --></t$
                                    <td id="flight" onclick="sortByFlight();">Flight</td>
                                    <td id="squawk" onclick="sortBySquawk();" style="text-align: right">Squaw$
                                    <td id="altitude" onclick="sortByAltitude();" style="text-align: right">A$
                                    <td id="speed" onclick="sortBySpeed();" style="text-align: right">Speed</$
                                    <td id="distance" onclick="sortByDistance();" style="text-align: right">D$
                                    <td id="track" onclick="sortByTrack();" style="text-align: right">Track</$
                                    <td id="msgs" onclick="sortByMsgs();" style="text-align: right">Msgs</td>
                                    <td id="seen" onclick="sortBySeen();" style="text-align: right">Age</td>
                                    <td id="rssi" onclick="sortByRSSI();" style="text-align: right">RSSI</td>
    
                           </tr>
              </thead>
              <tbody>
                            <tr id="plane_row_template" class="plane_table_row hidden">
                                      <td>ICAO</td>
                                      <td><img style="width: 20px; height=12px" src="about:blank" alt="Flag"></$
                                      <td>FLIGHT</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">SQUAWK</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">ALTITUDE</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">SPEED</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">DISTANCE</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">TRACK</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">MSGS</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">SEEN</td>
                                      <td style="text-align: right">RSSI</td>
                            </tr>
              </tbody>




    STEP-2

    2.1 - Prepration
    Code:
    #Move into folder containing file to be edited
    cd /usr/share/dump1090-mutability/html/
    
    #First make a backup copy before attempting modifications
    #The backup will enable you to revert if something goes wrong
    sudo cp  script.js  script.js.bak
    
    #Now edit the file and make modifications
    sudo nano script.js
    2.2 - Add RSSI Column
    Press Ctrl+W keys, type tableplane.tr.cells then press Enter Key
    The cursor will jump to relevant block of code.
    ADD line shown in RED (copy-paste it)

    Code:
                            // ICAO doesn't change
                            tableplane.tr.cells[2].textContent = (tableplane.flight !== null ? tableplane.flight : "");
                            tableplane.tr.cells[3].textContent = (tableplane.squawk !== null ? tableplane.squawk : "");
                            tableplane.tr.cells[4].textContent = format_altitude_brief(tableplane.altitude, tableplane.vert_rate);
                            tableplane.tr.cells[5].textContent = format_speed_brief(tableplane.speed);
                            tableplane.tr.cells[6].textContent = format_distance_brief(tableplane.sitedist);
                            tableplane.tr.cells[7].textContent = format_track_brief(tableplane.track);
                            tableplane.tr.cells[8].textContent = tableplane.messages;
                            tableplane.tr.cells[9].textContent = tableplane.seen.toFixed(0);
                            tableplane.tr.className = classes;
                            tableplane.tr.cells[10].textContent = tableplane.rssi.toFixed(1); 
    2.3 - Add sort functionality to RSSI column (clicking on the title of the RSSI column will sort it "highest to lowest"/"lowest to highest" values. Thanks to @thutson for this.

    Press Ctrl+W keys, type sortBy then press Enter Key
    The cursor will jump to relevant block of code.
    ADD line shown in RED (copy-paste it)

    Code:
    function sortByICAO()     { sortBy('icao',    compareAlpha,   function(x) { return x.icao; }); }
    function sortByFlight()   { sortBy('flight',  compareAlpha,   function(x) { return x.flight; }); }
    function sortBySquawk()   { sortBy('squawk',  compareAlpha,   function(x) { return x.squawk; }); }
    function sortByAltitude() { sortBy('altitude',compareNumeric, function(x) { return (x.altitude == "ground" ? -1e9 : x.altitude); }); }
    function sortBySpeed()    { sortBy('speed',   compareNumeric, function(x) { return x.speed; }); }
    function sortByDistance() { sortBy('sitedist',compareNumeric, function(x) { return x.sitedist; }); }
    function sortByTrack()    { sortBy('track',   compareNumeric, function(x) { return x.track; }); }
    function sortByMsgs()     { sortBy('msgs',    compareNumeric, function(x) { return x.messages; }); }
    function sortBySeen()     { sortBy('seen',    compareNumeric, function(x) { return x.seen; }); }
    function sortByCountry()  { sortBy('country', compareAlpha,   function(x) { return x.icaorange.country; }); }
    function sortByRSSI()     { sortBy('rssi',    compareNumeric, function(x) { return x.rssi; }); }
    STEP-3
    Code:
    #Move into folder containing file to be edited
    cd /usr/share/dump1090-mutability/html/
    
    #First make a backup copy before attempting modifications
    #The backup will enable you to revert if something goes wrong
    sudo cp  style.css  style.css.bak
    
    #Now edit the file and make modifications
    sudo nano style.css
    Counting from top:

    Line 6:
    change 420 to 460

    Line 7:
    This line is blank. Do nothing here.

    Line 8:
    (a) change 410 to 450
    (b) change -410 to -455

    Code:
    html, body {
        margin: 0; padding: 0; background-color: #ffffff; font-family: Tahoma, Sans-Serif;
        font-size: 10pt; overflow: auto; height: 100%;
    }
    div#map_container     { float: left; width: 100%; height: 100%; }
    div#map_canvas        { height: 100%; margin-right: 460px; }
    
    div#sidebar_container { float: left; width: 450px; margin-left: -455px; height: 100%; overflow: auto; }
    STEP-4
    Go to dump1090 Map
    IP-of-Pi/dump1090/gmap.html

    Clear Browser cache (Ctrl+Shift+Delete), the Reload Browser (Ctrl+F5)
    The RSSI Column will show on extreme-right of the Map page/Aircraft Table.
    Unfortunatlty after following the procedure the result that i got is only the column wth RSSI written inside. (like in the picture attached).
    How can i solve it?

    Thanks a lot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #150
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    4,749
    Quote Originally Posted by Aero Club Latina View Post
    Unfortunatlty after following the procedure the result that i got is only the column wth RSSI written inside. (like in the picture attached).
    How can i solve it?

    Thanks a lot.
    Double check your code. It Looks like you probably have an open > or wrong ` type. As it is writing RSSI as text like the column header, not the result.
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •