Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: RPi + SBS-3

  1. #11
    Passenger koro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    EBAW
    Posts
    23
    Hi KriVA,

    I have the same errors when running...

    Maybe we can meet sometime at the EBWA restaurant...

    Ken

    Quote Originally Posted by KriVa View Post
    Ken:

    Affirm, I live very close to EBAW, and do speak Dutch. If you managed to get it to work without using Basestation permanently, that shows that at least it should be possible. I'll try some more tinkering tonight.
    Once again, thanks for all suggestions. I'll let you know how I get on.

    I have tried three different ports now: 10001, 30003, 30006.

    Just to make sure, what I want to do is run the SBS-3 + RPi 3 combination without having a computer running with Basestation. In essence, I only want the SBS-3 and the RPi to be active.
    When I try to connect to the SBS-3, I get this in the log (with all three different port numbers):
    Code:
    2016-04-16 21:34:23 | [reader][i]Connecting to SBS3 receiver on 192.168.1.140:30006
    2016-04-16 21:34:23 | [reader][e]Could not connect to 192.168.1.140
    2016-04-16 21:34:28 | [reader][i]Connecting to SBS3 receiver on 192.168.1.140:30006
    2016-04-16 21:34:28 | [reader][e]Could not connect to 192.168.1.140
    2016-04-16 21:34:33 | [reader][i]Connecting to SBS3 receiver on 192.168.1.140:30006
    2016-04-16 21:34:33 | [reader][e]Could not connect to 192.168.1.140
    Ken
    Near EBAW

  2. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    3,357
    The problem we have with the SBS3 is the lack of clarification in the manual.

    However I have seen it elaborated on forums that state the ports open are

    10001 - main data
    30003 - BS format
    30005 - SDR data
    30006 - unencrypted main data
    30007 - marine data

    When connecting via Ethernet you can also use the SBS-3 as a stand
    alone data server. A remote device can open a TCP socket connection
    to the SBS-3’s main port and receive data without the requirement to
    log in or run BaseStation
    .
    It also appears for earlier SBS models, that BASESTATION SUITE does the same.

    THis is what I based my example setup guides on.

    And despite many many threads from SBS users seeking help, noone has confirmed if my examples are correct. Or shared their own setup flow for others to easily understand.
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  3. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    3,357
    You also have to watch the version of software you have..

    BaseStation v168
    1. Stand alone operation of SBS-3 A new “Stand Alone Data” tab has been added to the Non-Volatile Memory settings screen. This allows you to turn on various data options for stand alone operation, without BaseStation. The reason for the settings is to control the amount of network bandwidth used.
    Note - these settings apply to subsequent operation without BaseStation. When you run BaseStation, these settings are ignored. Instead use the Settings-Data Settings screen.
    Note - Mode S messages with DF= 4, 5, 20, 21, and 11 (with PI = 0) are enabled as standard, as well as ADS-B / TIS-B / ADS-R messages.
    Enable mode S air-air replies - enables output of DF 0 and 16 messages Enable other Mode S messages - enables other Mode S messages including DF 11 with nonzero PI field Enable mode A/C replies - enables output of mode A and C data Enable Digital Audio Packets - outputs RAW digital audio data (16 bit 16 KHz mono or stereo).
    2. Mode A/C Pass-through to port 30006
    For the SBS-3, a checkbox has been added to the Data Settings tab to enable output of Mode A/C data on BaseStation?s raw data output (port 30006). Enabling this will increase network usage significantly.
    3. Stereo Audio Streaming The audio streaming output from BaseStation is now in stereo for the SBS-3.
    4. Improved network performance Changes have been made to speed up the reception of data by BaseStation over the network.
    5. Setting the name for radio stationsA “Set Name” button has been added to the pop-out tuning buttons on the SBS-3 Radio Control Panel. This allows the station name to be set which will then be stored when you save the frequency to a pre-set button.
    6. Pre-set Tuning On the SBS-3 Radio Control Panel, if a pre-set button is used to set the frequency of an SDR channel, and it is outt of range of the 8MHz bandwidth of its associated tuner, the tuner will now be adjusted to centre on the new frequency, making tuning using presets a one-step operation.
    7. Stand alone operation of the SDR radio A Radio tab has been added to the SBS-3 Non Volatile Memory settings screen. A button allows all of the SDR settings to be written to the SBS-3 NV memory so that they will be used on power up, without BaseStation.
    A second button allows the settings in the Non Volatile memory to be returned to their default state (radios will be left powered down when the SBS-3 is powered up stand- alone).
    Changes apply to use with the SBS-3 only.
    1. Re-sizeable SDR control panel The control panel can now be resized and has scroll bars. BaseStation remembers the size and position of the panel on shut down.
    2. Saving settings on shut down BaseStation now saves the current settings (such as frequency and squelch) for the tuners, SDR channels and audio mixer on shut down.
    3. Presets The preset buttons from the SBS-1eR control panel have been implemented. They appear in the pop-up frequency entry panel and operate on the SDR channel to the left of the panel.
    4. Frequency lists The frequency lists from the Internal Radio menu, toolbar button or radar screen pop-up menu can be used to set the frequency on the SDR?s. It operates on the currently highlighted SDR channel on the control panel, although the control panel does not have to be visible to use this feature. If the SDR channel goes out of range of the 8MHz bandwidth of its associated tuner, the tuner will be adjusted to centre on the new frequency, making this a one-step operation.
    5. Mute and volume up/down toolbar buttons These toolbar buttons now operate on the master gain and mute controls of both the analog and digital channels at the same time.
    6. Other A spurious edit box has been removed on the SBS-3 hardware settings screen. Some messages referring to the SBS-1 have been changed.
    So for you owners, some with issues, some without. May want to start reporting your BS versions also. As they may well have made a change between versions meaning 1 persons setup, may have to be drastically different to the next
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  4. #14
    Passenger koro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    EBAW
    Posts
    23
    I think it don't have to do with BS...
    In my previous setup (the on for who i received a mail to upgrade) it run fine...

    Could it be a Debian Jessie problem... previous was Wheezy.


    Quote Originally Posted by Oblivian View Post
    You also have to watch the version of software you have..



    So for you owners, some with issues, some without. May want to start reporting your BS versions also. As they may well have made a change between versions meaning 1 persons setup, may have to be drastically different to the next
    Ken
    Near EBAW

  5. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    T-NZCH1, PP:PH New Zealand
    Posts
    3,357
    Quote Originally Posted by koro View Post
    I think it don't have to do with BS...
    In my previous setup (the on for who i received a mail to upgrade) it run fine...

    Could it be a Debian Jessie problem... previous was Wheezy.
    Software has everything to do with it, as the function to make the SBS3 in particular work standalone with the ports required active only was added in the above version update, which needs to be activated in basestation before closing it.

    If you refer to the old working software as the one that looked like this which they have warned users to upgrade from..

    http://flightradar24static.appspot.c.../fr24feed3.png

    It is vastly different. That version used the basestation FORMAT out of 30003, so only worked with particular versions of software that did decoding for you.

    The new version requires some more configuring and particular data formats for hardware direct access and MLAT and as such does not use the 30003 format now, but is able to make use of unencrypted SBSx format, AVR and beast format.

    You'll need to ensure whatever data type it is configured for is not only open on the specified port (and not in use by something else or encrypted) but also the correct format

    of which with the SBS series, seems to vary between peoples hardware and software setup
    Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

  6. #16
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    7
    Hey Guys,

    First of all, thanks a lot for the help. Due to some real life issues (exams coming up for my job), I'll continue to feed using a DVB-T stick for a while. However, when I have time, I'll return to testing the SBS-3, in order to try and provide a definitive solution.
    Bolivian, I'll have a look at the software version, and take your advice (especially the parts in bold) into account.

  7. #17
    Passenger koro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    EBAW
    Posts
    23
    Hi Kriva,

    After a long time my problems with the SBS-3 and RPi are solved...
    Muazzam from FR24 tried with the same equipment and got the same error i had.
    He send me a new compiled file for RPi and all went OK now...

    If you would like to have it, let me know...

    Kind regards, Ken
    EBAW3
    Ken
    Near EBAW

  8. #18
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    next to Linz airport
    Posts
    41
    i had the same problem since one year, the new versions of fr24feed (1.0.18....) do not work with rpi and sbs3.
    i am using the 1.0.16-10. this version is working fine. DOWNLOAD

    ... and yes i am interested in a new compiled version 1.0.18.... that is working.

    tnx in advance
    Last edited by LOWL1; 2017-05-19 at 12:59.

  9. #19
    Passenger koro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    EBAW
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by LOWL1 View Post
    i had the same problem since one year, the new versions of fr24feed (1.0.18....) do not work with rpi and sbs3.
    i am using the 1.0.16-10. this version is working fine. DOWNLOAD

    ... and yes i am interested in a new compiled version 1.0.18.... that is working.

    tnx in advance

    The version i run has still some serious errors... after a while i get "Segmentation errors"
    I'll try next week with another SD card...
    Ken
    Near EBAW

  10. #20
    Passenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    next to Linz airport
    Posts
    41
    ok, then try the version i have linked above.
    it will work!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •