Antenna

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Antenna

I am new to the forum and have searched for answer but havnt found it which is why I am posting.

Silly question maybe, but I have the USB-dongle with a small indoor antenna (starter pack). Can I just get an adapter for the TV-antenna and plug that in instead for better coverage?
    As I said, I am a beginner, but willing to learn.

Regards

There is a large thread for a do it yourself antenna.

Do you have an indoor antenna with a magnetic socket and a removable tip?
    If yes, you have a good chance to use it for improvement.
    In this case remove it and place a copper cable (or any other metal) of a length of 52 mm instead of the tip. Must be 52 mm from the thread to the tip, so add some more for wrapping it around the thread
    This is how mine is updated. In addition putting it on a metal box or foodcan can improve too:
    copper-antenna.jpg

See also this DIY Antenna Thread:

Alternative receivers, antennas, amplifiers, connectors, adapters and general technical matters. No Flightradar24 issues.

In addition it depends which dongle you are using. Not all are on a same level. Please share more details.
    I am using the Flightaware pro plus stick with integrated amplifier and filter.

Comment

Hi

I have the one that is suggested by Flightradar when building one by jetvision (cant post a link since I am new)

I am wondering if I use an adapter, if I can plug it in the dongle straight from the tv-antenna-wall socket

I have found an adapter, but will it work? And most of all, will it improve the coverage?

Comment

TV 400-550mhz. Adsb 1090mhz

It would be a effective as the included TV antenna whip in most cases. Which isn't optimized

Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk
        Posts not to be taken as official support representation - Just a helpful uploader who tinkers

Comment

Which adapter are you going to use?

The indoor antenna from Jetvision seem to be in the correct length.